Pinned and ready……

The “Lake Home I Spy” quilt is pinned and ready to quilt…yay!  Getting the layers together went beautifully..and quickly, now that I have figured that it is so much easier to work on my large kitchen dining table. Just takes some longer to figure things out.  A fold-up cardboard, gridded, cutting mat makes keeping things lined up quite easy. I use low-tack painter’s masking tape to secure it to the table, then place the backing down (again, securing with tape after squaring), batting and top. All is easily straightened and on-grain/pattern without crawling around on my hands & knees!!!!! Too old for that!! The backing is Moda’s “Northwoods Crossing” by Holly Taylor.  Got it on ‘super sale’ at Merry’s Stitchins in Jesup, IA.  Is so perfect for the woodsy theme! I think that the back will be turning out as interesting for the grand kids as the top will be!

Little “windows” into the wild life that is in the Northern sections of Minnesota & Wisconsin.

Now, I’m off to quilt………….

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Pinned and ready……

  1. Karen says:

    if I can fit something on my table I do it that way too – after awhile getting on the hands and knees on the floor is a bit much!
    Karen

  2. Marsha says:

    Love it! How big are those ‘windows” on the fabric you used for the back? I’ve not seen it before and I might like some but only if the windows are smaller than 3×5″.

    • treadlemusic says:

      Close, they measure 2 & 1/2 x 5 & 1/4 (int.) and 3 & 1/2 x 6 & 1/4 to the outer “frame”. Sorry;-( It is beautiful fabric and was on sale for under $4 / yd!! I really like Moda fabric for the quality consistency I’ve found.

  3. Jeanne says:

    This is going to be so neat! Have you ever tried basting a quilt like Sharon Schamber. There are 2 videos on youtube – Hand Basting a Quilt p.1 and Hand Basting a Quilt p.2. I use her technique with the boards but I use safety pins and I use a board to roll up the batting too. I’ve used this method for a number of years now and love it.

  4. witchylin says:

    The backing fabric is gorgeous Doreen. Just perfect for the top. Moda are lovely fabrics and this is one I will remember for the future. It will be fabulous once quilted. I plan to have a look at Sharon’s youtube as well.

  5. Love that square with the vintage camper. Beautiful fabric, art, really, What a find.

    • treadlemusic says:

      I will be sorry to see all these fun fabrics be used up, but I am getting real close to “gone”. Guess that’s really a good thing, though! I was so thrilled when I found that camper fabric!

  6. I love I-spy quilts 🙂 Your design is interesting too!! Have a great weekend 😀 Avis x

  7. ruthiequilts says:

    Perfect backing fabric! I can’t wait to see it quilted!

    • treadlemusic says:

      Thought I had decided on some type of feather motif but, as I was basting with wash-away-thread, I looked again at one of the pieces of fabric in it and thought I might try an abstract floral that will mimic that. Until I start it, I really won’t know, I guess!!!!

  8. ivoryspring says:

    Ooooo – can’t wait to see the finished quilt.

  9. Qwüffel says:

    nice and colorful, makes me wanna go camping 🙂
    have a nice day

Leave a Reply

