A quick “finish”……..

In my last post I mentioned a somewhat unexpected gift would be needed quickly. Last Wednesday DH and I decided to trek to New Hampton, IA, today to see a gal whose home we stayed in for many years while attending a motorcycle event.  In preparation for this, we headed to La Crosse, WI, and Hancock Fabrics/Crafts for some “chicken” fabric that would find its way into the tablerunner/gift I had in my mind to make. Lois’ kitchen has a variety of such feathered creatures decorating the area.  No luck with chickens but did come up with a cute little funky bird fabric (M’liss Rae Hawley  for Hancock Fabrics).IMG_2696 As cute as this fabric is, it turned out to be difficult to work with. At $8.99/yd, you would think the quality would be mostly acceptable but not so much. In addition to the fact that it was printed way-ay-ay off grain (really isn’t that major in a quilted project) it was so flimsy I had to starch the heck out of it before cutting/sewing! The other fabrics were, of course, pulled from my mountainous stash……including the center printed floral block.IMG_2697 It turned out so cute that I think my table is in need of a similar little quilt. I SID (stitch in the ditch) in all the seams, around the printed circle and flowers/leaves/stems. Then the fun really began with the FMQ!  The feathers were the most fun!!! Simple parallel(?) stitching lines (I haven’t gotten my “Line Tamer” ruler….yet!!!) and meandering around the funky birds complete the ‘internal’ quilting and the borders were done with a stylized flower/leaf motif that I’ve used quit a bit lately.IMG_2693 The backing is a Kona solid in a medium gray. Fun, quick and a stash buster…..all the right ingredients!! A touch of Spring/Summer in January…..the perfect gift for a gal who is moderately “house bound” in the winter. Love those “funky birdies”!!!!!IMG_2694 Now, off to wrap it appropriately and add the loaf of breakfast bread I baked yesterday! Til next time………

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to A quick “finish”……..

  1. candy says:

    Love this! You have one lucky friend! We’ve had no snow this year but it’s been so grey and this is do cheerful to see! Looks like you’re lovin’ your new. Aching!

    • treadlemusic says:

      Am having so much fun with the SS! After completing this I thought back to before that machine, when quilting on the Juki 2010TL was the rule. Again I will say, it’s not that I wouldn’t/couldn’t do that quilting on the DSM but it is so much easier/less effort with Ms Sweetie! Thanks for your visit! Hugs, D

  2. CJ Tinkle says:

    This is wonderful! Your friend will love it… I especially love the flower circle!

  3. Lee, JoAnn says:

    This is so cute.

  4. Karen says:

    cute – have a nice visit

    • treadlemusic says:

      We had a wonderful visit. Had an afternoon of a trip down her memory lane…..losing her mom at age 3, dad’s remarriage to his “hired girl”, husband’s death when her 7 children were elementary school/pre-school ages. Amazing! Never took 1 penny in state aid!

  5. Jeanne says:

    This is adorable and it does look springlike! Have a great time! ~Jeanne

  6. What a cheery work of art. Your friend, I am certain, will adore this. You have such a good, good heart. I cannot say that enough about you, Doreen.

    • treadlemusic says:

      Thank you….indeed, she loved it. She used to do embroidery but she’s not able to do that now. She is 83 and in her own home but has some health issues. Just got home and jammies are feeling good…hehe!

  7. I love the bright, cheerful colours you have chosen Doreen. Your friend will be so happy to use it every day 🙂 I think I might have to make some runners for me. It might make me clear some of my surfaces of debris!! Avis x

    • treadlemusic says:

      Table runners do have that effect! I have noticed I am more aware of “stuff” on our kitchen table when there is a runner on it rather than just a tablecloth. January is the “challenge” month here. It has no holidays, it’s the coldest, still quite dark (early and late) and a “let down” after Christmas/New Year’s festivities. February moves us toward Spring, moments of warmer days, Valentine’s Day, etc, etc. This is the Midwest approach to making it through these winter months!!! LOL!

  8. ruthiequilts says:

    I’m sorry the birds were so hard to work with… The runner came out great! I love the way you quilted it!!!

    • treadlemusic says:

      I should have noticed that lack of “body” in the piece when I picked it out but, on the bolt, it wasn’t noticeable. The off-grain printing, usually, isn’t that much of a problem but this time I wanted to cut it so the little birds “danced” across the ends of the runner. Because of the way the clerk cut it I lost so much of the pattern I may have enough for only 1 more runner. I’ll see as I really want to do another! The quilting was marvelous fun (that’s another reason I want to do another using another of the flower prints).

  9. KrisR says:

    How fresh and adorable is that? And how fun to be able to share your talents with an old friend. You’re a good egg, Doreen! 🙂

  10. I love the quilt patterns you chose.

  11. Gina says:

    What a beautiful job! I never had patience for quilting. I barely have the patience for hemming pants! Which accounts for why I still have jeans from two years ago still sitting with the tags on them. Tee hee. 🙂

    • treadlemusic says:

      That is so funny!! When I was first married I did NOT press clothes…and this back in ‘the day’ when cotton was not permanent press. DH has a dress/sport shirt (new) that I washed and never got around to ironing…..for months/years. Finally just threw it out (the collar was of the giant “elephant ear” style!!!!!)! We still laugh about that today. Funny how some things just “don’t compute” with each of us! LOL! Thanks for your visit….and my giggle for the day…hugs, Doreen

  12. Gina says:

    What a beautiful table runner! I admire your patience for quilting. It takes a ton of effort just to get me to hem pants. Like the jeans I bought two years ago that still have the tags on them. Tee hee!

  13. Sartenada says:

    Lovely items (patterns) and colors make a man to feel good mood.

  14. Beautiful stitching.

  15. Stunning, Doreen. I have a penchant for blues and orange combined. Your table runner lets these colors sing. Love your choice of feathers around the circular floral medallion.

    • treadlemusic says:

      Hello to you!! The circle of feathers was the highlight of this project….they went so well–and quickly! Was sorry to complete the circle. Have a QOV to quilt today then may do another tablerunner of similar fabrics for myself!

Leave a Reply

