Already broken…….

That is,  my resolve to back off the fabric purchases in favor of diminishing my ever burgeoning stash! I really thought this was going to have somewhat of a positive outcome but I weakened……’caved’……melted……bought!!!!! The thing is, yes, I visited my LQS (local quilt shop) last Saturday with the goal of picking up some fabric for QOV (quilts of valor)….and that is exactly what I did!IMG_2768 I knew there would be some reimbursement from the quilt group that I belong to ‘cuz what I didn’t use in a QOV would find its way in to the group’s stash that is available for everyone to use in such donated projects. But, that was like the little crack in the damn that grew. Last Monday was quilt meeting day. I knew there would be fabric there for purchase but I felt I was up to the challenge, after all, hadn’t I just satisfied the “I must buy” urge???? Arriving early, I was greeted by all this……………..IMG_2744 And this…………IMG_2745 I mean, what’s a gal to do???!!!!! The fabrics were from a quilt shop that had closed and the gal had opened another (and stocked it with its own inventory) in a neighboring town. These bolts had found their way in to the basement of her home….which is now sold and must be packed and moved!! The fabric must go!!!! (and not to the new house!!!!!) Okay, so I was doing her a favor(!?) and helping her out so she wouldn’t have to take so much back!! That’s my story and I’m stickin’ to it!!!!! Am lovin’ these fabricsIMG_2769

IMG_2771
(Isn’t this gorgeous??????)

and have no specific ideas in mind…..but they are ‘neutrals’…..they will fit in so many different color arrangements…..really!!!! But, then, I saw this little bundle of 1 yard cuts…..”score” ……..my colors! And I have a partial bolt of dragonfly print fabric at home in this color-way!!! Yippee!! (I think?)IMG_2774No shopping for me for a long time…..I promise! (fingers crossed behind back and smiling). Sigh…..Well, an artist needs paints and a chef needs ingredients….and….and…….

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Already broken…….

  1. Lee, JoAnn says:

    I am so jealous of all the fabric she brought to Spring Grove and I missed it. Sad:)

  2. candy says:

    Ahhh….like a moth to the flame!! Love the Oriental fabrics.

  3. Karen says:

    You go girl !!

    Hey — it was “on sale”! ha ha ha… Just LOVE the French General finds – my favorite! Can’t wait to see what you whip up.

    PS. I was bragging you up to some locals yesterday – about the “sweet” things you with your Sweet Sixteen… Thanks for continuing to inspire!

  4. Karen says:

    it is very hard to not help someone out in the hours of need and seeing as she has sold her house you were really doing her a huge favor by helping her get the basement cleared out of her fabric – a good deed truly 🙂

  5. You must have felt like a kid in a candy store. What fun. How could you even choose? And I don’t believe your promise. Not at all.

  6. There is no way you could have resisted such a bargain! lucky girl 🙂 Avis x

  7. Jeanne says:

    First, I love Olive Juice Quilts – I visit it every time I’m in the area and they always have something I ‘need’. I love your choices. That guild meeting had to be heavenly! No one could resist and you are right; you were helping the lady out! Wish I had been there! I would have enjoyed helping too! ~Jeanne

  8. I really like the cranes. How could you possible resist such a bargan?

  9. Deb says:

    Wow – what a collection and what a deal! I don’t think bargain fabric really counts for no-buy!

  10. KrisR says:

    They are all so yummy! I especially love the neutral ones with the birds/cranes.

  11. mtetar says:

    Very nice post, and the fabrics collection are sooooo beautiful. Mtetar

  12. ruthiequilts says:

    How can you not buy fabric when it’s on sale? You did the gal a real service, not to mention all the QOV’s you’ll be able to make! A girl’s got to do, what a girl’s got to do!

  13. I would have caved too!!

  14. Hello! I’ve really enjoyed looking through your blog, so I’ve nominated you for a Liebster Award. See my block for more details! http://basildonkitchens.wordpress.com/2013/01/25/liebster-award/

    Connie 🙂

  15. claire93 says:

    oh my, those cranes are gorgeous

    • treadlemusic says:

      Fabric like that is such art! I think I have a pattern that will allow me to feature the piece yet be an interesting pattern. I just have to get on it and absolutely not add it to my stash!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

