Yes, I have been busy……..

After last week’s buying frenzy, I thought I had better settle back and remember the goal I had set for myself to focus on using my stash….gotta watch that “impulse buying” thing that comes over me!!! I actually made 5 of these runners in the last couple weeks. The first was done the beginning of the month and can be found here. Doing the feathers in a circle was a self-challenge  I was quite pleased with. The flower circle(s) are cut from a panel I purchased last summer while on a quick shop hop to Prairie du Chien, WI. You can find it here. The next runner (no photo) was sent to a friend in the UK. Here are the final 3 that finished up that flower panel. I will have to say,  my ability to do feather rings has greatly improved and is so much easier than before!IMG_2788IMG_2789IMG_2790 And next…..IMG_2791IMG_2792IMG_2793 And finally…IMG_2794IMG_2795IMG_2796 2 of these have designated destinations and the last one is going to “hang around” for a while. The “chicken tracks” stitching in the border is my fave. Reminds me of the “Chicken Dance” done (by some of us!) at weddings and such!

Note: this post has been done in Windows Live Writer and is, somewhat, of a ‘test post’ in this program. It is certainly proving to be a lot more “friendly” than using WP. Just sayin’……….

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

37 Responses to Yes, I have been busy……..

  1. Karen says:

    pretty runners! yes I need to watch that impulse buying also

  2. Pat says:

    Wow! I absolutely love those burnt orange and red borders on these runners! Great use of your focus fabric!

    • treadlemusic says:

      Pat, Those are my fave colors (I am a “Fall”!) and they seemed to be good ones to be working on right now…..such dreary, cold winter weather. I really love lawn mowing!!!! LOL!

  3. mtetar says:

    They’re all sooooo beautifully made, and what a Blessed Friend to receive such lively gift. http://projectsbyMtetar.wordpress.com

    • treadlemusic says:

      The first gift was to an older (88 y.o.) gal we rented a room from for years when atttending a motorcycle rally in her town, We got to be such dear friends and now return just to visit with her. The other gal (U.K.) is one we met in Pennsylvania (another cycle gathering) and have kept in touch with she and her hubby. Such fun!! Am so very thankful I am able to send such their way. Thanks for dropping by, Mtetar! Hugs, D

  4. The artist in you just works her way right into your color choices, designs and stitching, doesn’t she? These table runners are stunning. I especially like the dominant florals you chose and that bird fabric is pure sweetness. And that comes from someone who really does not care for birds all that much.

    The watermark looks great, not obtrusive like I thought it might be.

    • treadlemusic says:

      It (Live Writer) seems to be a good one. Have a post scheduled for tomorrow at 6. We’ll see how that goes up. The watermark font/size/text is chosen for each upload/insert but is simple and quick (2 necessary attributes!!!). The runners were really fun to put together……..and from my “stash”–yippee!!!! LOL!

  5. Jeanne says:

    The runners all looks great! And your feathers are awesome! Great job! I think I’ve found the antidote for impulse buying – cleaning one’s sewing room and touching every piece of one’s stash! ~Jeanne

    • treadlemusic says:

      Seriously, that is a very good idea. It will remind me of all the fabric blessings are in the many totes I have!!! Hope your weather isn’t too bad! The storm seems to have missed us…..barely an inch and no rain this time around!! Local quilt group tonight….yay! Hugs, Doreen

  6. I love your table runners. The quilting is awsome.

    • treadlemusic says:

      They were such a “low pressure” project so relaxing and enjoying the whole thing was easy….which usually has really great results. Definitely a “head/mind” thing. I have to work at translating that to full sized quilts!!!! LOL! Blessings, Doreen

  7. Karen says:

    Doreen I LOVE them – the colors and quilting and overall design is perfect! I’m in awe at the little chicken tracks quilting you did — so creative. Mostly though — high five on these circular feathers. You’re inspiring me to start down a new path… Thank you, thank you! Hugs… Karen

    • treadlemusic says:

      I NEVER dreamed they would be coming from my machine, though!! LOL! The phrase “practice, practice, practice” (repeat, repeat, repeat) is my mantra. Doing these smaller (part ‘panel’) projects helps tremendously. With a preprinted motif I am free to concentrate on the stitching (if that makes any sense!). This type/scale of feathering is quite easily done on my DSM—-might even be a tad easier on the smaller machine. You definitely can do it!!!!!! Hugs, Doreen

  8. KrisR says:

    Love your feathers!

  9. witchylin says:

    WOW!! you have really cracked the quilting designs Doreen. They all look fabulous.I did smile at the chicken footprints. They are inspirational. Love the perfect circles too. Looking at your finished articles makes me want to get going again right now. I am having a new kitchen first week in April so having to go through every cupboard and draw and sort out things. Plus I use my big farmhouse kitchen table for quilting. Right now it is covered in dishes and mugs. I will just have to get my quilting fix from reading my quilting friends blogs. Not quite the same but does help with the withdrawal symptoms. 😉 Once again fabulous job Doreen.

    • treadlemusic says:

      A new kitchen….sigh! DH has been wanting to replace the cupboards here, too. I am ‘balking’ cuz I know what is in all the existing spaces—-overwhelming to contemplate!!!! You will just HAVE to e-mail me a photo when the task is complete!!! “Vicarious” quilting is easier on the pocket book!!!! Hold this thought…..”This, too, shall pass!” Blessings, Doreen

  10. Gorgeous quilting patterns Doreen! I especially like the way you echoed the birds feet in the border. Brillliant! Avis x

  11. Rose says:

    Great quilting! Love the runners and I especially love the quilting!

  12. ruthiequilts says:

    Your feathered circles are lovely! I love the tablerunners! They are fabulous! So great! Someday I have got to get more quilting done!

  13. I love the colors in those runners. Absolutely lovely quilting!

    • treadlemusic says:

      Thank you so much!!!! When that little piece was purchased, it was last summer, setting on a small “sale” table at the door of the quilt shop I was visiting…..all I can say is it just ‘called’ to me! Note: I DO hear ‘fabric voices’ a lot….maybe too much (my stash overfloweth!)…sigh! I so love that you stopped by….hugs, Doreen

  14. These are really pretty. I like your feathers especially. (And what do you mean “some of us”–who HASN’T done the chicken dance?!) : )

  15. jmorrical says:

    Your runners are stunning! I love the colors and the way you quilted them.

  16. Your feathers turned out great, but I really love the design in the next level (the one in the yellow border). Would love to know what that is or, if you just made it up, to see bigger pictures of it.

    • treadlemusic says:

      You have really sharp eyes!! The yellow “frame”, actually, is not quilted but the “flower”-like lines you see is the print (surrounding the dark brown/flower panel). The yellow ‘strip’ in the smaller photo (above that) has a paisley quilt pattern stitched over it (same fabric but I did more of an all-over “paisley” pattern on that runner). If you ‘click’ on each photo it will enlarge/isolate it for you. Hope this helps!!

Leave a Reply

