Stash pile/WIP/UFOs getting smaller………

Continuing on my quest to use up/re-purpose/finish up, etc, I added some serious borders to this UFO (UnFinished Object)  pieced top that has been quietly waiting for several years. The pattern I used is one I found here. I had made this out of decent sized “scraps” and thought it would be a good lap sized quilt. Fast forward (2010 to today)…..I have wanted a summer quilt for our bed to replace a chenille spread/garage sale find that has seen better days. A border would be needed to bring it from its 55”x64” to a more respectable double bed size. A trek to my LQS  (Krazy Kwiltz in Mabel, MN) produced the needed fabric and so this top became a reality: IMG_2801

IMG_2803IMG_2804Initially, the thought I had was to make the outer borders 6” to 8” but they became 12” when I went to actually cut. We’ll see how this goes……some planning will have to take place regarding the quilting for this area. The center……maybe some type of all-over flowing stitching (feather? paisley?). The dark, narrow green border will have only  SID (stitch in the ditch) to anchor it. The dimensions are now around 79”x88”…..perfect! Hope to have this sandwiched and quilted by the end of the week. Remember….you ‘heard’ it here first!!!!

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Stash pile/WIP/UFOs getting smaller………

  1. UFO, love that acronym as you apply it to quilting. And I especially like this quilt since it includes my favorite color, green.

  2. I have seen pictures of wide borders with the top part quilted with feathers and a bottom portion with straight lines. Quite elegant looking. Have also seen it divided into triangles with alternating geometric designs in the triangles.

  3. mtetar says:

    B E A U T Y!!! I had the slightest idea of it being a UFO, it’s soooooo beautiful. ht://projectsbyMtetar.wordpress.com

  4. Pat says:

    What a beautiful serene quilt top! I agree with you and QG, the half feathers with piano keys will look great on your wide border. My hat’s off to you if you can quilt something this large in a week. It would take me more like 2-3 weeks, at least.

    • treadlemusic says:

      Although I am working fill-in at the pharmacy tomorrow and have a meeting on Wed. afternoon, I really have nothing else on the agenda. Without children on premises, our ‘nest’ is pretty quiet during the week. That’s not to say that ‘life’ may not intervene!!! The “sandwiching” takes a bit of time and can be tedious. The backing fabric is pretty much ready. I really love these colors, too……”spring-y”, too, and perfect for out bed. Thanks for the visit! Hugs, Doreen

  5. witchylin says:

    I was thinking too what a peaceful quilt it is. Lovely for a bed quilt in the summer. I do like the wide border and think the suggested quilting will look amazing.

  6. Nann says:

    The horizontal setting reminds me of a beach/landscape. Very soothing.

  7. Looks great and I have many quilts that just come together with several cutting errors or changes and the are great. I love your center pattern!

  8. Very nice Doreen. I have a name for that one……..Coral, Sea and Sand……sorry, I just got carried away on those waves 🙂 I love it 😀 Avis x

  9. ruthiequilts says:

    What a nice quilt top! It’s perfect for a summer quilt!

  10. It feels good to FINISH doesn’t it?!

Leave a Reply

