Pin basting………

For years, I thought that if I needed to get the 3 layers (backing, batting and top) of my quilt basted together it would either require a church basement with large tables and a couple of friends to help, or, several hours of back-breaking, knee bruising, crawling around on the floor. Not so! Sharon Schamber has come up with a technique that makes this necessary task  less painful and it insures a much more accurate, on-grain finish/ready to quilt package. Rather than go in to hyper-detail, I will refer you to these tutorials: here and here. Although her samples are very small, I have used this method on several quilts, from lap size to double bed size. The “Wave” quilt is 79”x 88″(approximately). DH cut some 1”x 4”s the length I needed (I don’t do quilts much larger than this one) and this has been such a great way to keep the process manageable. IMG_2806

The photo shows the top ready to be rolled on to the board. I have already done the backing and set it aside.  When this step is finished, I begin to line up the three layers. The batting is “floated” in between the backing and top as each section is pinned.IMG_2807This shows how I can keep watch to make sure the top is going on the board straight/on-grain.IMG_2808Layering the batting lightly in place requires a light touch so as not to stretch/distort it.IMG_2809The first section is lined up and ready to begin the pinning process.IMG_2812It doesn’t take too long to complete but does give me a chance to spend time looking over the piece, thinking of the quilting design I might use.IMG_2813And, the end….finish with the securing/pinning, remove the tape, trim away any excess and on to the really “fun” stitching………

I used the Fairfield brand of batting in 80/20 cotton/poly. I had gotten several of these queen batts at Hancock Fabrics and Crafts a while ago and had been trying to use them up. I have not been happy with their quality.IMG_2815 The texture has been noticeably inconsistent in all of them and this one was no different.IMG_2816 As this quilt was for our bed and meant for more of a summer weight it will work just fine but I will avoid any future purchases and put others on ‘notice’ of such a condition with this brand. I much prefer Hobbs brand and have been greatly satisfied with the quality/weight of their 80/20 over the years.

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Pin basting………

  1. When I read this post, I was thinking of my paternal grandmother who would set up a quilting frame in her living room and then invite the ladies or family members over to help her tie the quilt. Some of my siblings have memories of crawling under quilts as needles were being poked down and pulled back up. My grandma loved to quilt. Whenever I visited as an adult, she would lead me to the back spare bedroom to examine the quilt tops she had layered atop the spare bed. Missing my grandma right now. One of her polyester quilts from 30 some years ago is on my bed right now. Thanks for bringing back these warm memories via your post today.

    • treadlemusic says:

      I really think that thoughts like yours are the “draw” to quilting, along with the sheer artistry. I’m so glad that lovely thought/memories were brought to you by these few words (hmmm, seems like I remember a dear friend writing about the power of words not that long ago! The power for good out-weighs all else!!!). Hugs, D

  2. ruthiequilts says:

    Thanks for the links Doreen! I’ll have to try this method! Basting bigger stuff is not my favorite thing! I think I could manage this!

    • treadlemusic says:

      The quilt “sandwich” is accomplished without the usual Tylenol fix! As I said in the post, keeping it on-grain can be tricky especially if you’re doing this by yourself, but not with this method! Glad it encouraged you! Hugs, Doreen

  3. Jeanne says:

    I’ve used Sharon Schamber’s method for a number of years and I love it! Before I used the floor but my old knees and bad back really hated me! Then a friend told me about this method and I never looked back! I also roll my batting for larger quilts – it is just easier to handle. Glad you are enjoying this method too! ~Jeanne

    • treadlemusic says:

      I remember when I first came across this method and you said you had been using it for a while! It certainly does beat the floor! And it can be achieved by just 1 person. There are so many “pluses” about it!!!

  4. witchylin says:

    I have seen that idea once before but not read from anyone who had tried it. Glad you find it so helpful. I need to get hubby on to cutting me some 1x4s so I can try it for myself. I usually end up on the living room floor, on my knees and walking over the quilt top as I try to get it straight. Thank you for posting your pictures and the links.

    • Jeanne says:

      I use 1 by 2s. They also work well. Just be sure they are sanded well or cover with Glad Press and Seal. Mine are now sanded and stained. Work wonderfully.

    • treadlemusic says:

      If you have any questions, when you go ahead with this, just let me know and I can go into more detail about my experience with this method so far. The length of my long boards is 8 feet. I don’t make quilts that would require something longer. I, also, have boards that are 40″ long for smaller projects. Glad this could be of help! Hugs……

  5. candy says:

    I’ll have to check this out. I usually tape it to the utility room floor and crawl around on my knees. I know one day I’m going to have to have some serious help getting back up! 🙂

    • treadlemusic says:

      I hear ya on that one. The “time factor” will always be there in the sandwiching phase (whether loading it on a frame or other) but, I have found this method to be a great way to really look over all the components to make sure seams, seam-allowances, stray threads, etc are all taken care of. And, as I said in the post, it’s a great opportunity to mull over possible quilting patterns! So much easier on the body, to say the least!!!!! Hugs……

  6. Penny says:

    I trried this method once after watching those videos and buying the boards but the fabric kept slipping. The 1 x 2 in metric ended up 1 3/4 x 3/4. Maybe wider boards would work better. Sharon didn’t tape but I think I will give it another go after buying some painters tape.

    • treadlemusic says:

      Penney…..Sharon’s sample is small enough not to need any tape to aid in the initial couple of turns onto the boards but for anything larger either another set, or two, of hands are needed or painters’ tape…..that’s a fact! I start with a strip of tape at center, then go to the ends, then midway between (dividing in to quarters) and so on being careful to keep the fabric edge taped “on-grain”/straight on to the board. The wider board (actual 3& 1/2 approx.) gives plenty of flat surface to tape to. The boards have really solved quite a few issues in this process for me. If you have any questions, feel free to contact me. Hugs…..Doreen

  7. mtetar says:

    The quilt is beautiful. Thanks for sharing on brands. Mtetar

    • treadlemusic says:

      I so rarely do that as I really dislike such negative evaluations but $$$ is so hard to come by and this experience is not just a one-time event. Over the past couple of years, or so, I have purchased that brand of batting and each time have had the same experience. No, I have not written to the company. I have been buying all my needed batting through Connecting Threads (on-line). It is Hobbs brand is wonderfully consistent in its great quality. Thank you for your kind words. Now, back to stitching that quilt. The center is done, on to the dark, narrow border. Hugs, D

Leave a Reply

