“Coral, Waves and Sand”……….

Such a lovely thought! It is Sunday morning. ‘Weather’ is moving up from Iowa….a mix of ice pellets, sleet and rain…..so a good day to bypass the driving, stay at home and……..sew!!!!! Yup, welcome to my world! The Wave quilt was finished on Friday (you can read about that process here…and here). Although the uber wide borders were a perfect ‘blank canvas’ for some feather fun, I couldn’t quite wrap my mind around doing feathers on a quilt with a title such as the above!! By the way, a shout out to Avis, at Oh Sew Tempting, for her thoughts on a name for this one. Definitely fits, don’t you think?? So, because there aren’t any ducks in this piecing which would allow for the feather motif to enter the stitchings, I opted for wave-like swirls, mostly an edge to edge treatment. The quilt is washed and dried. The shrinkage was very minimal—2” in length and width. I do not prewash any of my fabrics so the cozy crinklyness is really maxed out after the wash. Also, there was no color run (testified to by the Shout Color Catchers that came out as white as when the wash process began!  Because of the fact that the basting gave me a perfect on-grain layering, the result was a wonderfully squared up quilt needing only an easy trimming of excess batting/backing. I did the final binding stitching by hand this time knowing that it would not be getting super harsh treatment in the future.  Anyhow, you stopped by to see the finish, so, without further ado, let the photos begin…….IMG_2817IMG_2818IMG_2819IMG_2820IMG_2821IMG_2824IMG_2825IMG_2823IMG_2822IMG_2827You can click on any photo to get a larger view. I haven’t decided if pillow shams or a quilted/pieced strip that would cover the pillows is how I want to finish this. There are very few of the “tumbler” shaped pieces left to work with. On to the day. And always remember that “This is the day that the Lord has made, let us rejoice and be glad in it”! Blessings………..

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to “Coral, Waves and Sand”……….

  1. Karen says:

    the waves look great – I too just love the crinkly look – I use the shout catchers too. Too bad you are getting ice today. We had rain off and on yesterday and again early this AM looks like it is past us now, maybe I can do more yard work this afternoon – I am trying to get the yard cleaned up from the winter stuff, little dead branches that fell from the trees ect.

  2. Oh Doreen!!! That is so kind of you to name your quilt as I suggested. Now I can see the lovely close up colours, I can see it definitely fits 😀 I also love the way you have echoed the theme of the sea by using the swirly waves quilting pattern. It’s another great finish!! Thanks also for the link, very kind 🙂 Avis xx

  3. Two observations here: I’m surprised that you don’t pre-wash fabrics. Second, do you “sign” all of your quilts? Great idea.

    Finally, but certainly not least, “This IS the day the Lord hath made,” even if the weather is not particularly to our liking.

    • treadlemusic says:

      Labeling is a “must” for all quilts!! And I do include more info on the ones given as gifts: occasion, intended recipient(s), quilt name, date, my name. I don’t label the more functional, smaller items such as table runners (as these get washed/used quite hard!). Wall hangings, lap and bed quilts don’t see the really “hard” wear (even though a bed quilt might, it does require documentation). Thanks for your great/insightful comments and questions—-keeps me “on my toes”!
      Pouring rain/34F……interesting weather of late, hmmmm? Stay warm and dry—–and watch out for those smoking cars!!!!!!! Hugs……

    • treadlemusic says:

      DH reminded me that I didn’t address your first question. When I first started quilting and fabrics were a lot less color-fast, I did pre wash. Now, fabrics, on the whole, are a lot more stable (both color and shrinkage) and the Shout Color Catcher product have removed most of the previously experienced hazards. There are many, myself included, want some shrinkage/softening after the stitching is completed. It gives the quilt that “old”/used appearance that is loved so much.

  4. mtetar says:

    Waves it is, and of course great craftsmanship. The colors are beautiful together. Thanks for sharing. Be Blessed, Mtetar

  5. Pat says:

    I just love how soft and comfy this looks. Great finish – the quilted swirls are a perfect touch.

  6. Debbierose says:

    Gorgeous, the waves are adorable

Leave a Reply

