It’s what’s next……..

In April, (yes, I said April!) I will be doing a workshop for the larger of the 2 quilt groups I belong to. It’s titled “Disappearing 4-Patch with a Twist” and I will be using an idea gathered from here.  Instead of using 4 different prints, as suggested, I will be simplifying it by using just 2. Hopefully, the participants will use colors that satisfy those needed for QOV. I hope to get the blocks on my design wall into a quilt before this week is finished. Using just the 2 colors is working pretty well, don’t you think??IMG_2883IMG_2884

I’m not sure why the color is a bit off in the first photo. The second is a bit more accurate.

There will be 8 more blocks made (I think) and then a border using the fabric on the bolt. The blocks finish at 17”, which is quite a nice size for this pattern and for a QOV/lap quilt. It is definitely a “slice and dice” technique that commands my full attention. You end up with 2 blocks (colors opposite one another) when the cutting/sewing is done. It’s really quite an interesting method once I got the ‘hang’ of it (did my share of “un-sewing” at the start!!). It feels good to get ahead on this future event!!!

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to It’s what’s next……..

  1. Great pattern 🙂 I like “slice and dice” designs too! The little centre pinwheels are a lovely bonus 😀 Avis x

    • treadlemusic says:

      The little pinwheel is what attracted me to this pattern. I had done quite a few of the disappearing 4 patch squares for the “Sandy” quilts that were put together. I was intrigued by this variation. So glad you stopped by. This quilt should have good ‘head way’ by week’s end. Hugs…..

  2. mtetar says:

    D, this is absolutely beautiful, and I agree with Avis who also does beautiful quilting. Thanks for sharing the site, and I’ll be studying this and looking forward to the finished project. http://projectsbyMtetar.wordpress.com

  3. The two colors are great. Can’t wait to see it finished.

  4. Deb says:

    This looks wonderful! Love that jeans fabric…

  5. ruthiequilts says:

    I love this! Perfect for a QOV!!!

    • treadlemusic says:

      Yes, so right. I thought I would get tired of doing the same thing in the same color so many times but it is just complex enough to keep me thinking each time I slice/dice! The old brain cells are getting a work-out!!!!

  6. Jeanne says:

    I love the pattern and your two colors look great! I think I need to try this. Thanks for the idea – I’ve not seen it before.

    • treadlemusic says:

      The tute I linked to is excellent and, once you do a couple of pairs, it becomes so much easier. I did 6 of the larger size (I started with 8″ squares joined into the 4-patch units) and the same number using charms (5″). The more scrappy look had too much going on so reducing it to 2 colors was so much better. I think you would enjoy this one!!!

  7. Blue jeans and American flags, what a great pairing on a fabric design and for a QOV quilt.

  8. Harriett says:

    Love it! I like yours with the two colors.

  9. Allison says:

    that is a really great fabric you have for the boarder! I like how limiting the fabrics in the blocks to only two high contrast fabrics shows the pattern off so well

  10. jennifer thornton says:

    Love the color of this quilt!! It will look real good when you get it all finished!

    • treadlemusic says:

      Hope to get a bit done today….maybe even “sandwiched”. The snowstorm is taking a momentary break. Appears to be only 3 or 4″….a great day to sew (what day isn’t???? LOL!). Thanks for the visit!! Blessings, Doreen

  11. Thebutterflyquilter says:

    I love two color quilts. The design is really pretty. I think this design would work great with a ton of choices!

    • treadlemusic says:

      Oh! I do, too! The border is on, the backing is pressed and ready. Just need to cut the batting and sandwich it….project for tomorrow….and quilt it—yay! I really like this quilt and hope the service/military person that receives it will like it, too. I am so happy you stopped by!! Hugs, Doreen

Leave a Reply

