Preserving the past……..

Last week the larger quilt group I belong to held a morning workshop that I used as an opportunity to use some more of my grandmother’s fabrics. The ‘50s fabrics had been sewn together to make a small top. I took the squares apart, resized them and sewed them together in the necessary arrangement for the pattern. You can refer to the post here to see the full directions/pattern. Despite the fact that the outside edges (before adding a border) were all bias, there was no distortion/stretching. I would definitely make this one again……in a bed size! This little cutie finished a little bit over 44”x 53”. A nice table covering size. IMG_2944

The green setting triangles, border and backing fabrics were from my stash….yay!! The thread was a Connecting Threads cotton and the backing was a floral left over from a wedding I did many years ago where the bridesmaids wore simple cotton dresses (it was a garden wedding). The quilting in the center pieced portion and the border is an echo paisley and the green triangles is feathers. All FMQ (free motion quilting).

IMG_2945  IMG_2946

IMG_2947   IMG_2948

I make my labels on the computer and they seem to hold up well, once heat set. This quilt has been through the washer and dryer. It was a very good project and the pattern allowed me to use any size blocks so it is a very good “stash buster”.

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Preserving the past……..

  1. What a great way to use your grandmother’s fabric. I’m wondering how you would compare the fabrics of yesteryear to today in patterns, colors and durability.

    • treadlemusic says:

      Patterns/prints seem to be good today/diverse. The colors/durability today seems much better, although I really don’t have a “long-term” comparison. The shrinkage is definitely controlled with today’s fabrics and the color-fastness is much better. Hugs…..

  2. mtetar says:

    Hi D! As always nothing but the best from you. Very nice fabrics from THR good old days. Job well done, and thanks for sharing. http://projectsbyMtetar.wordpress.com

  3. Karen says:

    I like stash busters!

  4. It looks gorgeous, and what a lovely way to remember your grandmother. She would be thrilled, I’m sure!

  5. ruthiequilts says:

    This came out great! I really love how you feather quilted your setting corners… It’s funny, but I just made one set on point this weekend… Great minds, eh?!

  6. Beth Ann says:

    Coming over from Gretchen’s recommendation from A FIne Day for an Epiphany! I loved this post—I am not a quilter but have a huge appreciation for them and for those who make them!!! Maybe some day!! Going to browse around a bit on your blog!!! I live in Iowa(just half hour from the MN border) and have been trying to connect with bloggers that are close to me!!!

    • treadlemusic says:

      This “bloggy thing” is a ton of fun! I/we are 30 miles West of La Crosse,WI on a small rural piece. So thrilled that you stopped for a visit! Hope you enjoy your ‘browse’ and, please, do come again!! Blessings, Doreen

  7. I have seen proof that quilters – if they’re REAL quilters – always have stashes of fabric. My mom and sister both do and my husband’s aunt has taken over an entire room…in fact, their youngest HAD no bedroom because the fabric took up what ought to have been her bedroom!

  8. lisa says:

    I am in total awe of you quilters! It is nice to see this amazing art form continued. Hope you can stop by the enchanted oven for a visit.
    xo,
    Lisa

    • treadlemusic says:

      Hello, Lisa! So glad you enjoyed your visit! Just ‘popped’ over to your place……so neat! Cooking/baking go “hand in hand” with quilting, don’t they???? Blessings, Doreen

Leave a Reply

