And the next season is………

Nope, not “Wearin’ of the Green”….nope, not Lent/Easter…….nope, not even Spring! It’s Prom Season! Yup, that season when limos are seen with occupants who may, or may not, drive themselves, on their way to restaurants that their moms/dads wouldn’t go to, dressed in clothing whose price tags may rival those found on wedding attire! Even our little town is not totally exempt from such excesses(?).  Although, in many cases, I am very thankful that these young ones are not driving themselves and are able to attend all-night ‘After Prom’ lock-in/gatherings! Now, why do I mention this??? Because of this:

IMG_2957

Yup, this is what was on my “design wall” a few moments ago…my first alteration of the 2013 season. Very cute! And, now, sporting a new hem. Out the door tomorrow!!

Next, another QOV (Quilt of Valor) finish (one that I wrote about here). Washed and crinkly and ready for a future delivery…yay! Also, ready for the April workshop on this block (Disappearing 4-patch With a Twist).

IMG_2949IMG_2950IMG_2953

IMG_2953IMG_2952

Cleaned up the sewing room and on to this:

IMG_2954

Need to get in a couple of hours of piano practice as I have been asked to provide music for a reception tomorrow for this event: The International Festival of Owls in Houston, MN. Yup, I did say ‘international’! It definitely is a big deal and attracts participants from all over the globe! Karla rescued ‘Alice’, a Great Horned Owl, 14 years ago and has been caring for her ever since. Alice travels to many of the area schools educating children on owls and other raptors. You can read more here.  This is the 11th annual owl event and the largest of its kind. Those registered attend a reception tomorrow to kick-off the weekend festivities and that is where I come in. “Ambiance” will be my middle name for the afternoon!!

Owl Festival preview

On to the music preparation………..

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to And the next season is………

  1. mtetar says:

    I’m sure your music is going to be as good as the Twist to your Patch Quilt. It is beautiful! Be Blessed, Mtetar

  2. That prom dress is gorgeous. So, hypothetically, if a bride would ever need a dress altered and the bride’s mom was a bloggy friend of yours, you might be available to alter. Do you ever run across any vintage bridal dresses because, hypothetically, the bride might be looking to wear vintage. (Can you read b/n the lines?)

    Also, I’m curious as to what musical selections you will be playing for the owl reception.

    • treadlemusic says:

      You may pass along to all hypothetical MOBs (Mother of the Bride) that my previous business was creating/altering bridal gowns/formal wear!! Details could be discussed at a future point in time. Vintage dresses can be hard to find….check estate sales, specialty stores, etc. But if an “off the rack” dress can be found that is close (and I mean vaguely) to the desired gown, or a picture can be produced to illustrate what is in mind said dress could be easily(?) modified!!! Feel free to call anytime!!! LOL!

  3. mtetar says:

    What an Amazing Jeans Effect you added to the Twist. That’s really a TWIST! Mtetar

  4. Jeanne says:

    You are so busy that you are making me tired!!! The dress is gorgeous and I love the QOV quilt. ~Jeanne

    • treadlemusic says:

      The prom dress was an easy hem…thankfully. I am pleased with the QOV. Tomorrow is an slower day…..the piano ‘thing’ isn’t until 1:30 pm so will have time to work on organizing my next quilting ‘assignments’. 3 QOV tops from the guild to sandwich and quilt and a wallhanging made by a friend for her grand daughter’s wedding gift (coming up in a month). Several other things zooming in my head at the moment, too!!! So great to have you stop by! Hugs….Doreen

  5. Deb says:

    Wow, you are a woman of many talents! Love how your QOV quilt turned out.

    • treadlemusic says:

      When I began those blocks they drove me crazy and I thought I would just finish this and avoid any future such blocks but I really like it (now that my brain has absorbed the process!) and will make another in the future. Thanks for the encouraging words!! Blessings, Doreen

  6. witchylin says:

    The QOV is so traditional and modern at the same time. The choice of fabrics is inspirational.
    I do like the Prom dress. Proms over in the UK are in June/July. I altered a few but one was outstanding. Once it was finished and worn the young girl looked stunning.
    Hope your music for the owl afternoon goes well. As Deb says, you are so talented.

    • treadlemusic says:

      So thrilled to see your comment! Been missin’ ya!!! That quilt started out as quite a challenge to my brain cells but went better as the number of blocks mounted up! Off to the keyboard to practice a bit…..hugs……

  7. ivoryspring says:

    Doreen, I just know you are a kindred spirit because you keep yourself busier than I do!!! I love to see all that you do, and all that you are involved in —- all for His glory!

    Love you!

  8. You have a wide range of interests. The girl who is getting that dress will be beautiful. And that is a great thing.

    • treadlemusic says:

      Yes it is. She was thrilled she could find something she could “fall in love with”. The “pin-fitting” was done by the girl’s grandmother, so I haven’t even met her. Doing the alteration was more than what the grandmother wanted to tackle! She must be a little gal as the dress is a size ‘0’ (is that even possible!????!!!!

  9. stipplequilt says:

    You have really been busy and the prom dress is beautiful! Thanks for sharing.
    Freemotion by the River Linky Party Tuesday

  10. Congrats on the QOV finish. It is lovely! So much talent….

    • treadlemusic says:

      Thank you so much for the very kind words. These QOV are such an encouragement/blessing to the military families for the sacrifices they have/are endured. Hugs, Doreen

  11. Angela Moore says:

    I cannot imagine hemming a prom dress like that. Great job. Love the piano too, need to get in some practice also

    • treadlemusic says:

      Doing “background/’mood'” music takes a bit of the pressure off. I’ve been so busy quilting that I didn’t spend but a day and a half (or so) running through the songs I do for such events. I usually do 2 to 3 hours with no/very slight break so it really is an athletic event!!! LOL!
      Working on such attire was the business I had for 7 years (made/altered bridal gowns and formal wear) and before that I worked at a bridal shop doing bridal gown alterations. I really love sewing on those types of fabrics. My favorite gowns to make/create were made from silk….a most awesome fabric to work with. Hugs, Doreen

  12. Angela Moore says:

    thanks, glad to meet you. I do some alterations for quilty change. However I do have a seamstress for those things I just can’t get into quick enough!!!

    • treadlemusic says:

      The alterations I do are few, since I had a career change 12 yrs. ago and closed my sewing business. I don’t make “from scratch” any more and the alterations are seasonal (prom, etc). That’s ok, though. I am so totally hooked on the piecing/quilting that has been put on the “back burner” for quite a few years!! So glad our paths crossed!! Blessings, Doreen

Leave a Reply

