If there is one thing that all quilters love, it’s……….

Color!!!!! Then, I should be ecstatic with the current weather “picture”…….

 snow projections

Thread-‘check’. Fabric-‘check’. Scissors-‘check’. Sewing machine(s)-‘check’. Rotary cutter/mat-‘check’. Coffee/munchies-‘check’. I’M READY!!!!!!

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to If there is one thing that all quilters love, it’s……….

  1. Sounds like you’re all set!! Enjoy(?) being snowed in.

    • treadlemusic says:

      You “nailed” it!! ….. As long as the electricity doesn’t suffer some type of problem!! My “project bin” run-eth over!LOL! So glad you ‘popped’ by, Meredithe! Blessings, Doreen

  2. Beth Ann says:

    Looks like us!!! We are waiting round 2 which is supposed to come tonight and then more tomorrow. I got a path from the driveway to the front door cleared but not attempting the sidewalks by the road till it is done. Ridiculous. And in my case it is the perfect weather for card making and reading so I am wishing I had not read my library books so quickly….

    • treadlemusic says:

      You, in the Western regions, have the ‘jump’ on this one for sure! We haven’t even gotten a flake as of right now! It’s going to sneak up on us while we sleep!!!!!! LOL! Stay safe! Blessings, Doreen

  3. JoAnn says:

    Hope I have a snow day. I am ready to sew.

  4. Karen says:

    have fun creating something pretty! stay warm

  5. Just got in from an hour of shoveling snow, but left the last several feet of the driveway for the husband to blow open. He told me I didn’t need to shovel, but I caved in to keeping up with the neighbors. We got several inches.

    I’m still wondering if the son will get from Fargo to Minneapolis Tuesday evening via bus. The snow should be done, but now I hear 30 mph winds are supposed to kick in, which means trouble along Interstate 94 b/n N.D. and Minneapolis.

    I love how you can view this whole storm situation with a quilter’s eye.

  6. mtetar says:

    Just like a beautiful fabric will give you the energy to make you ready for a project, so is this Weather Map. You have what you need, therefore looking forward to another amazing project. Be Blessed, http://projectsbyMtetar.wordpress.com

  7. The wind and snow have been blowing through since last night…60 mph gusts about took the trees down. Lots of mini blizzards today but not much on the ground as it keeps blowing your way. Hope it has dissipated by the time it makes its your way. Sounds like you are ready…. Happy Sewing

    • treadlemusic says:

      No snow….yet! Sometimes I think that the meteorologists just have to justify their jobs with scare tactics!!! We’ll see about this time! I hope there wasn’t any serious damage your way (that wind sounds bad!). Here…..so many projects, so little time!!!

  8. Looks like it might get “nasty”there. Take care.

    • treadlemusic says:

      It certainly could but the forecasts have been so off. We’ve had 1 storm and got 5″ a while back. We shall see. It will be a fuzzy slipper day in the sewing room….all is ready!!! DH has all the snow moving stuff gassed and ready…shovel is at the back door. We are careful, though!

  9. KrisR says:

    Oh, how i don’t miss those forecasts! Although – as long as you’re tucked in at home with plenty to do it can be enjoyable.

    • treadlemusic says:

      Yes, everything is cancelled and watching the snowflakes fall is the activity of choice today! This is only the second big snowfall of this winter……a bit unusual!

  10. Linda says:

    I don’t suppose I could get anyone to work up any sympathy for me because they say we might get a little rain Thursday and Friday, could I?!?!?! lol. If I was holed up with you, Doreen, and I brought my fabric stash, we could probably cover the whole state of Minnesota with quilts. I definitely have a problem with fabric……8-\ As long as my dining/sewing room doesn’t start looking like something out of Hoarders, then I don’t feel too bad.

    Take care of yourself!

    xo Linda

    • treadlemusic says:

      I think about that “Hoarders'” thing…..sometimes! Then I remember that, just as a painter needs a great variety of paints, so a quilter needs selection in their fabrics!!!!! LOL!

  11. witchylin says:

    The chart would make a fabulous quilt. You could always put some snowflakes as appliques on it and a few frost symbols in machine quilting. 😉 the colours are my favourites too, so I can just ‘see’ that quilt finished.

    • treadlemusic says:

      Ahhhhhhhhh….you are the imaginative one! I think I might have to explore that one! My stash contains nothing in those colors, though, so a shopping trip would need to be done!!!! Hmmmmm?

      • Linda says:

        I’ll be over right after the roads are cleared and we can go shopping for some stash in those colors…..8-)

        • treadlemusic says:

          Sounds like a plan! The roads are still treacherous around here. With very warm (upper 30’s to 40) temps coming, there has been minimal snow plowing by the county trucks. Ugh!

  12. Somewhere on the internet?? there is an idea to number strips of fabric for each daily temperature. So 40 degrees C would be a red strip and zero degrees would be blue etc. At the same time each day for a month, you take the temperature and sew on the appropriate temperature strip. The resulting quilts look like bar codes but they are all unique depending on where in the world you live. I reckon you could probably have a lovely blue quilt this month 🙂 Avis x

Leave a Reply

