The last(?) barrage of winter………

When the landscape outside my windows looks like this:

from my kitchen……

IMG_2966

from my living room……..

IMG_2967

from my pantry……

IMG_2968

and, from my sewing room…….

IMG_2969

Some baking is in order! So inside (my windows!) looks like this…….

IMG_2973

Three lovely loaves of Minnesota wild rice and craisin sourdough bread. Supper tonight……warm toasty panini made with smoked turkey and  Swiss cheese on slices of these beauties! Major yum! Have you given supper any thoughts?????

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to The last(?) barrage of winter………

  1. Jo Major Ciolino says:

    Why yes, I’m thinking about coming to your house for dinner! Those are just gorgeous. I envy you the snowstorm – we’re due to get it on Thursday but I think it will be rain by then.

    • treadlemusic says:

      Oh, dear, Jo, I think the flights are cancelled…..will have to do a “rain” check!!!! But there are 3 loaves………Prayers for safety your direction….hugs, Doreen

  2. Gloria Dotzler says:

    We can have a choice between a pot of chili or veggie beef with barley soup. Storms just make me wanna cook. Our views look the same here in Winona and has kept hubby busy blowing snow.

  3. mtetar says:

    The last pic suits the rest of the pics. Great Winter Wonderland Post Card Pics. Can you share the recipe even though the weather here isn’t as bad on the East Coast? Thanks in advance. Be Blessed D, http://projectsbyMtetar.wordpress.com

  4. Karen says:

    can you post a recipe for that bread the combination of wild rice and cranberries sounds great. The snow sure is pretty but yes we all want spring don’t we (unless we are a skier I suppose)

  5. Deb says:

    Looks like a wonderful meal for a snowy day! Cold weather always puts me in a soup & sandwiches mood…

  6. Pat says:

    Why yes, I had thought about supper, but yours sounds better! That bread and a bowl of soup would make a fine meal too! There’s something about fresh baked bread on a cold wet day …

  7. I join the list of your fans wanting that recipe. The bread looks, and sounds, super.

    We got about 10 inches of snow in Faribault.

    BTW, the son’s bus from Fargo was cancelled, so without a way to get to Mpls, he had to cancel his flight to Boston. He wanted to rent a car, but fortunately rental companies won’t rent to a 19-year-old. No way did I want him driving 300 miles on Interstate 94 on roads classified as “difficult driving” by Minnesota 511. I was not surprised Jefferson Lines cancelled this evening’s bus. Thank you for your prayers. He would have been flying into a mess anyway, so this is for the best.

    • treadlemusic says:

      I do think he would have found himself “stranded” at the airport somewhere, as flights seem to be cancelled everywhere! There have been some unreal accidents on I90/I94, too!! Getting a bit brighter here….yay!!!

  8. Beth Ann says:

    Oh my—I am on my way…my meager planned meal of pasta with sauce loaded with meat and veggies makes me sigh when I look at your bread. Yummmmm. And the snow is beckoning me. The hubby and I have a 4:30 date with snow shovels to attack what the snowplows just threw back up on our walks….

    • treadlemusic says:

      The plow hasn’t been by here since early this morning. Although we live on a county road, when the schools are out and there’s no school bus, the plows don’t keep the rural roads very clear (4-wheel/all-wheel drive cars are a must!!).
      That’s one of the things I am liking about retirement…..I can start baking projects and I have the time to finish them without setting a “delay start” program! You are most welcome here but the roads are definitely not agreeable!!!! Ugh!

  9. Oh for smellablog! Hahaha that would be even better then smellavision. Nothing like the aroma of baking bread.

  10. Jeanne says:

    Oh, that bread looks good! I’ve been quilting on this snowy, snowy day. Just stopped to work on supper – we are having Boboti, a South African dish that we both love. The wild rice/craisin bread would go great with it! Too bad we aren’t closer.

  11. ruthiequilts says:

    What a gorgeous “Everything”! The smell of baking bread while snow is falling… Like I said, it almost makes me want to bake! (But I’ll persevere!) LOL!

  12. Sartenada says:

    I love those photos out of Your windows. The view is great.

    • treadlemusic says:

      It truly is a wonderful view and one that I/we have been enjoying for over 38 years, since our move from the very large metropolitan area of St. Paul/Minneapolis, MN!!!!!

Leave a Reply

