Wild Rice/Craisin Sourdough Artisan Bread……

Now, that’s a mouthful!! By “popular” request, here is the recipe for these lovelies:

IMG_2974

To begin (2 to 5 days in advance), the starter needs to be made (if not already prepared). It is the same idea as the “Herman” Friendship Bread of years ago!

Starter:

2 c. flour (All Purpose or bread)                                                  

2 c. warm water

2 tsp. granulated sugar (opt. but it “jump starts” the process)

1 pkg  active dry yeast (2 & 1/4 tsp)

Mix all together in a glass or glazed ceramic 2 qt (at least) container….not metal or plastic! Cover loosely with a cloth and allow to set on the counter at room temp. until a “yeasty”, slightly sour smell is detected. This may bubble up/foam up and overflow the container if the container is too small.

Further info can be found here.

Bread:

3/4 c. starter

3/4 c. warm water

1 Tbl. sugar

1 Tbl. butter

3 & 1/2 c. bread flour

1/4 c. powdered milk or non-dairy creamer

1 & 1/2 tsp. salt

2 tsp. yeast (yes, I add the additional yeast)

1 & 1/2 c. cooked wild rice

1/2 to 2/3 c. craisins

Place all in a breadmaker machine and set for “dough” setting. When cycle complete, shape into 2 to 3 rounds and allow to rise until doubled (approx. 1 hour) on a lightly greased baking stone or sheet. (This recipe can be made the traditional method, also.) Sprinkle tops of rounds with flour, lightly, and slash with a sharp knife to allow for “oven spring”.  Bake 350 F for 30 min. or  until nicely browned. I use convection baking, 350 F for 25 min.

After taking the appropriate amount of starter for the recipe, I replenish/stir in to the starter crock/container an additional 1/2 c. water and 1 c. flour.  I use my starter often enough that it isn’t refrigerated but left on the kitchen counter (unless I/we are away for a time).

If you have any questions, want more ideas/recipes, let me know….I have many more!!!

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Wild Rice/Craisin Sourdough Artisan Bread……

  1. mtetar says:

    Thank you!!! I’m sure to try it. Be Blessed, D. Mtetar

  2. Pat says:

    Yum! Thank you! I haven’t been able to make a decent starter since I lived in Alaska and inherited a bit of a reputed 90 year old starter. That was excellent but didn’t survive cross-country moves. We’ll give this one a try.

    • treadlemusic says:

      My starter has been around (our place) a long time! I use it for everything (waffles are unbelievable!!!!!). Even have DH hooked and we haven’t purchased bread in over a year! Let me know what you think (or if any questions!).

  3. Karen says:

    thanks, I don’t have a starter right now but I can whip one up 🙂 I used to have a started all the time and then I found myself making too much bread, waffles, pancakes ect and Mike finally said he was having trouble with his diet because I was making too much good food LOL, so I slacked off for awhile but I haven’t had any for awhile so I will start one batch of starter for now and see what happens. It sounds great!

  4. gledyard says:

    They look simply delicious. Anxious to try them.

  5. witchylin says:

    That sounds really lovely. My bread maker doesn’t have a dough setting so I will have to make it the old fashioned way. US and UK cups are different sizes, however my lovely penfriend of 30 years, sent me a set of US cup measures and spoons so I can at least get the right amounts now. I love to make bread. Only trouble is we end up with too much with OH being away all week I can’t eat it all myself and the freezer gets pretty full. I will certainly make the starter and when my new kitchen is in one of the first things I will make will be one of your breads. This sounds a very silly question but what are craisins? Are they a cross between cranberries and raisins?

    • treadlemusic says:

      Sorry, ’bout that Lin! Craisins are dried cranberries. They are on the tart side (as opposed to raisins which are so sweet). I have gotten away from using raisins as that “zing” of tartness seems to “set off” other flavors so well……similar to adding lemon/lime zest to a recipe. Craisins would be found with other dried fruits: apricots, raisins, cherries, etc. I hope that helps. We end up with more bread than we should be eating so I give away many loaves.

  6. Another question…..when you say “yeast” is that fresh yeast or the fast acting dried powder version? They look delicious! Avis x

  7. ruthiequilts says:

    If only I cooked anymore… This looks amazing!!! I may pick up some yeast!

  8. Pingback: Baking and Organizing

    • treadlemusic says:

      Wow!! That bread turned out great!! Sometimes I have used the “Uncle Ben’s” brand wild rice blend and the results are very good….maybe a titch less intense wild rice flavor. Dried cranberries/craisins is something we use a lot (Sam’s Club bags are the most reasonable).
      Your fabric organization with the cardboards is coming along well and the rest looks accessible, at least. Mine is organized but in totes which makes it a bit of a ‘pain’ to get at!!

  9. CJ Tinkle says:

    Doreen, this sounds wonderful, and I will have to try it when we get back home. I have 2 questions though. Is the wild rice actually wild rice (the grain) or one of the wild rice blends? And why do you add yeast if using sourdough?

    • treadlemusic says:

      Yes, it is totally wild rice….easy and reasonable to get here in MN in the Fall/around Thanksgiving. I have several packages in the freezer at all times…we love it! Use it in place of pasta for recipes such as Beef Stroganoff. I used the yeast to shorten the whole process (especially in the cooler times of the year). In the summer/warmer days I don’t.

      • CJ Tinkle says:

        Awesome I love wild rice (the grain) and use it quite often in my soups, but never thought to try it in bread! I’m afraid I grew up with Uncle Ben’s “wild rice” and so I always have to ask, is it “real” wild rice? LOL

        I can see now why you add the yeast. I generally have to let my sourdough mix set overnight in order for it to have a full oven spring with no yeast added. Thanks Doreen! I can’t wait to try this.

Leave a Reply

