Another QOV……..

Ever since I purchased Ms. Sweetie (HQ Sweet Sixteen) I have been helping with the final quilting on the QOV (Quilts of Valor)  my larger quilt group donates in S.E. MN. This particular quilt is a smaller one and abounds with HST (half square triangles). The outer, plaid border is a ‘homespun’ type fabric which is a looser weave. The quilt stitches that I am doing will flow from the center to the edges in the hope that it will draw the fabric in and stabilize it a bit. We’ll see. Some feathers in the large red star,  a variety of motifs in the white stars, and an all over swirl will complete the quilt. Photos to follow. To “sandwich” the quilt, I follow Sharon Schamber’s technique of using 1”x4” boards to wrap the backing and top on and “float” the batting in between. The results are a perfectly “on-grain” sandwich which is a joy to quilt. The first of several videos on this can be found here.

002

006

003004005

Happy Quilting Day!!!!……….

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to Another QOV……..

  1. Karen says:

    I will have to look and see how it is done – looks like you have a nice big kitchen table to work on!

    • treadlemusic says:

      I do. It was my grandma’s (Dad’s mom). It’s 60″ with a 17″ leaf that slides out from each end. I put a cardboard sewer’s cutting board (that has a grid on it) down first and secure it with low tac painter’s tape. Works great to keep all straight as I roll the fabric on to the boards.

  2. madamepurl says:

    Looks awesome! So going to try her method next time I’m basting. Going to hit the hardware store for some boards.

    • treadlemusic says:

      It’s so much better than crawling on the floor and the basting spray is not very good either (‘goops’ up the needle after a while…..at least it does for me). I use basting safety pins and not the thread basting as Sharon shows but the sandwich is more than secure enough for either a DSM or the Sweet 16. Now that I’ve done a few, it goes really a lot quicker!!!!! I use 1″x 4″ boards that are about 80″ long.
      So glad you stopped by!!!!

      • Rose says:

        Thanks so much! I was going to ask how long of boards I should get. I was planning on stopping by the hardware tonight. I agree about the spray. Plus it’s cold here right now, I don’t want to go outside and I don’t want to spray that gunk in my room. It seems like something that needs good ventilation. I saw that on the pins and think that’s what I’m going to try as well. I have a long cutting table and also some folding tables that may work out well for this.

        • treadlemusic says:

          Sounds like you have the major components needed for this. The first couple times you do it you will feel a bit awkward (I did) but now it goes so quickly and smoothly, as does the quilting afterwards…..AND I have not pleats/puckers in the stitching and it’s on grain and easy to trim/square up when finished!!! Yippee!!!! Let me know if you have questions…….

  3. This has to be one of my favorite QOV designs of all you’ve shown us. I just love the bursts of stars.

  4. Jen says:

    Looks pretty terrific. Are there specific patterns that you need to use for QOV? Or just measurement requirements? Can’t wait to see the finished project.

    • treadlemusic says:

      Generally the dimensions should be a min. of 55″x 65″ but not larger than 65″x75″ (approx). Using the patriotic color scheme is the preferred (whether for gals or guys). There is a national QOV website with all the particulars and some suggested patterns. A lot of quilt mags feature such appropriate patterns. Thanks you for your sweet words, Hugs, Doreen

  5. Pat says:

    This looks like it will be a fun quilt to work on. I’ve seen the videos for this basting routine but lack of a suitably large table or any horizontal surface keeps me basting on the floor. Looking forward to seeing the progress on this one.

  6. annie! says:

    Oh how wonderful. Thank you for making for Quilts of Valor.

  7. I love this starry explosion. The fabrics are beautiful too! Looks like a fantastic cosy place to sew Doreen 🙂 Avis x

  8. mtetar says:

    Patience!!! Thank you for today’s lesson, and all other lessons you’ve shared. Your quilting is truly of patience, craftsmanship, and passion. This quilt reminds me of watching fireworks on the 4th (July). The Stars are flashing/bursting out. Great Job, and you’re an Inspiration. Beautiful, and comfortable workplace. Be Blessed, http://projectsbyMtetar.wordpress.com

  9. Linda says:

    I have to try this SOON! I have 2 finished quilt tops that need to be quilted, and I am not able to get on the floor…..well, I could get on the floor, but it would take paramedics and a forklift to get me back up again! I heard about this technique, but haven’t watched the video yet. Think I’ll try it this weekend.

    I really like that QOV. Looking at all the love that goes in quilts like that makes my heart feel warmer. 😎

    xo Linda

    • treadlemusic says:

      When we started making these, the piecing was very simple but as time has gone on the patterns….and the quilting…..have gotten more complex. We remind ourselves of what the recipient (and their families) have sacrificed. Hugs and blessings, Doreen

  10. Beautiful quilt! Have to watch that video sometime.
    Love the quilting too. That’s a great cause QOV :-).

    Happy quilting,
    Malini

  11. Gail K. says:

    Hi Doreen, this quilt is so striking and your quilting, which I saw on another post, really makes it special. Would you know if this is a published pattern? I’ve looked at the photo & started making a little chart of the design but following someone’s directions would be so much easier! Thanks for sharing your work & being an inspiration…looking forward to reading more of your posts.
    Warm regards, Gail K.

Leave a Reply

