Seeing Stars????

The first of 4 QOV is quilted. The gal who pieced it, or a volunteer, will sew the binding in place. The quilt had its “issues” in that all those little HST had a bias ‘play’ to them which made for a lot of puckering. The quilting motifs were needed to flatten/even out the quilt top. It was successful and even without any nasty pleating!!! The photos show both the front and the back (for those “curious minds” who want to know!)……… (Click on the photo to enlarge)

007

008009010

011012013

 

014016

 

015

Have a great rest of the weekend!!!!……..

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Seeing Stars????

  1. Wow! Your quilting is gorgeous! It’s lovely to see the back and all of your lovely quilting shapes 🙂 You can put your feet up now. Avis x

  2. Pat says:

    I’m in awe! Quilted in less than a day! That would take me several days at a Minimum! It’s fabulous and you’ve added so much dimension to the already yummy prints.

  3. mtetar says:

    D, I may sound somewhat like you talking about the back of this quilt. The back is a masterpiece by itself. It is amazing! I say a job well done. Be Blessed, http://projectsbyMtetar.wordpress.com

  4. This turned out just great, as I expected it would when you worked your magic, says this “curious mind who wants to know.” Ah, how well you know me.

  5. Jen says:

    Holy COW D…That is incredible. The quilting is spectacular. I am in love with those feathers in the big star. beautiful.

    • treadlemusic says:

      My goodness, Jen…..I think you like (a little) the feathering! I am trying to be careful on that motif…..feathers seem to be everywhere and I would hate to overdo a good thing! However, it did work here! Thanks a bunch!!! Hugs………

  6. Gloria Dotzler says:

    Well, I would say you have had a good day. I do like the contrasting colors on the back.

    • treadlemusic says:

      That turned out pretty well. It’s so much easier/better if the top thread and bobbin are the same color. That way if the tension is ever so slightly off one way or the other the wrong color won’t form tiny ‘dots’ (usually on the wrong side). My machine was acting very nice so it probably wouldn’t have been a big deal! Thanks for the visit and stay warm!!!!! Hugs, Doreen

  7. Jeanne says:

    This looks wonderful! You really did a great job – you’d never know of any bias problems now! ~Jeanne

  8. JoAnn says:

    Beautiful

  9. KrisR says:

    What a lovely job, Doreen!

  10. Deb says:

    Absolutely Gorgeous!

    • treadlemusic says:

      Thanks so much!!! Another gal in the quilt group gave me another top, out of that same pattern, to quilt yesterday at quilt meeting. Have different ideas for that one but it’s such a great “knock-out” pattern that it’s fun to do another. Neither gal will do another! The piecing drove them crazy!! Kinda like a “color wash” quilt top!! Lots of HST and squares…..all different and needing exact placement to form the stars. Happy you stopped by!

  11. Love those detail photos! I normally love an exact pattern in quilts…but I really like the random stars…so gorgeous!

    • treadlemusic says:

      That pattern packs a huge “punch”. I hope I can quilt the 2nd one as well as I did on the first!!!! I am still intrigued by this pattern! It is a great “stash buster” for sure!!

  12. Rose says:

    You did an AWESOME job! I love the back too. I love heavy quilting to put those issues to rest. Can’t wait to see the next ones. Picked up my wood today to give that method a go.

  13. ivoryspring says:

    VERY NICE!!!!!! You deserve a huge bow for that. 🙂
    I am slowly venturing into straight line quilting just for something different than my usual curls and feathers. 🙂 I look forward to seeing your straight line quilted quilts.

    HUGS!

  14. Sartenada says:

    Well done. What a lovely quilt. I love it.

Leave a Reply

