While the blizzard raged………

Last Monday, I attended the larger of the 2 quilt groups I belong to. The meeting is held in a town about 18 miles from my home with some interesting/challenging roads in between!……But it’s a quilters’ gathering so staying home really wasn’t something I had considered (even though some schools were running 2 hours late!). The morning is usually spent in a workshop lead by one of the gals. This time we had the task of making the pillow cases the QOV are presented in. A very easy method found here. It didn’t take long to finish up 19 of them (Faye had done a lot of the work of putting together the cut fabric pieces in kits) so we had plenty of time to visit. After a quick lunch and short business meeting, sharing time began. Considering we had so very few in attendance, the accomplishments were many…………

002003

009010

011019

These first photos are quilts made in the February workshop and the pattern was called “Twist and Shout”. You may find the pattern here and the quilt I made here. I guess one may judge the success of a workshop by the number of quilts made, hmmmmm? And there were more finishes……..

007This was done as a BOM (Block of the Month) and will be gifted to this gal’s daughter when completed. Lovely.

013014

015016

This gal has done more “Stack and Whack” quilts than any person I know!!! A fascinating method of using a fabric print that might just be considered truly “ugly” but the outcome is amazing!!! Some QOV were completed (1 whole quilt and a couple of tops for me to quilt)………..

018012

020Does that last one look familiar?? Yup, I have another, what I call, “Starburst” to quilt. It was done a bit differently and with larger squares. Stay tuned for how that one is stitched!!!

021These squares were won by Kathy in January’s drawing for the “Exchange Block”. Such a simple block but so stunning when she put them all together….and that green border is perfect, don’t you think??  Once again, it amazes me how much is achieved each month by this group! I hope you are able to keep your machines whirring along happily…….Spring (weather) is coming!!!! (Isn’t it??????)………

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to While the blizzard raged………

  1. Pat says:

    I sure hope so! Your group has indeed been busy, and such gorgeous results. The quilts of valor are my favorites, each beautiful and lovingly made. We’re having our regular afternoon hailstorms again today. But a wet day equals a quilting day so it isn’t all bad! Have a great weekend!

  2. mtetar says:

    All the quilts are a work of art. No matter how many times or what colors, and fabrics are used the Starburst are amazing to see every time. Great Job Doreen! Great Job to all the participants as well. Thanks for sharing. Be Blessed, http://projectsbyMtetar.wordpress.com

  3. A very productive group. The quilts are very nice. I especially like the Pinwheel Quilt. We haven’t had anymore frost so I think Spring is here for us.

  4. Karen says:

    your group is braver than I am – if it snows I stay home – I have little experience driving on snow in the last 30 years 🙂 — thanks for the show!

    • treadlemusic says:

      You bet! For me, it depends on the purpose for the drive. I am a bit foolish when it comes to traveling in our hills and do quite well with the 4-wheel drive type vehicles that I had in the past. This past summer I got a Suburu with AWD and am still learning what it will do. Our hills are formidable and this car seems to perform admirably! Hugs, Droeen

  5. Jeanne says:

    So productive and such wonderful quilts! Thank you for sharing and inspiration! I too went quilting in the bad weather on Monday and then knitting in the bad weather on Tuesday! I commuted in the bad weather for years so now I only drive in it for important things! 😉

  6. Linda says:

    What great quilts, and I bet you all had a great time sewing and chatting. I’m envious. I don’t have a guild or group to belong to. One day, maybe…8-)

    xo Linda

  7. Wonderful collection of quilts! Show & tell is the best part of my guild too! 🙂

  8. Wow! They really are a productive group 🙂 I love to see their “show and tell”. Very inspirational. Thanks also for the patterns Doreen. I’ll definitely get around to using them one day 😉 Avis x

    • treadlemusic says:

      You are very welcome! This meeting was really so few because of the weather and I didn’t even post all that was shared……I don’t think these gals do anything else but sew/quilt!! LOL!

  9. witchylin says:

    Those quilts are wonderful, Doreen. Well worth the snowy trip so you could join in and photograph them. Thank you for sharing them. There are a few colour combinations that have given me a some ideas. 🙂

    • treadlemusic says:

      Hey! So great to ‘hear’ from you!!!! A sharing time such as this really gets a person thinking, doesn’t it?? Sometimes these are just the new directions we need to inspire the next creation!!!

  10. What a productive group! All those stack and wack quilts are amazing!!

    • treadlemusic says:

      That gal is one who did a goodly number of “stained glass” and paper-pieced quilts some years ago. She is totally intrigued with the outcome from some of the fabrics she finds and she does beautiful piecing and quilting, too!

  11. You quilters are incredible. Are you sure you weren’t snowed in overnight together because I cannot possibly imagine that you could accomplish so much in such a short time. I can’t even pick a fav because I’d take any.

  12. Now I would not have even thought that quilters would be like writers in that respect. I wake up with sentences on my brain. Must be our creative brains working OT.

Leave a Reply

