For the “Grad”…….

This Spring our eldest Grandson is graduating from high school. He is an avid and, may I add, accomplished hunter. Primarily, he uses the bow or black powder. He fills out several deer tags each year (for which we all are grateful as the deer population poses a major road hazard, to say nothing of the gardens invaded!). I started collecting outdoor/hunting themed fabric prints last year and yesterday I finished the top and a couple of pillowcases to compliment. This will be the next top to be sandwiched and quilted. The dimensions are, approximately, 75”x75”. The center deer panel is flannel but all the other fabrics are quilting cottons. I knew I wanted to incorporate the “Shadowbox” quilt pattern somehow. These became the long side panels with star blocks and flying geese rounding out the “plan as you go” quilt top. Here are some progress photos……….

011010008

013001

Quilting stitches are floating in my head…….which ones to use……..the choices are endless (and may not even exist…yet! Moments of experimentation ahead;-D). To be continued…..

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

41 Responses to For the “Grad”…….

  1. Pat says:

    Your grandson is a lucky young man – what a fantastic top! It already looks soft and warm, and full of texture. This should be such fun to quilt.

    • treadlemusic says:

      Anxiously awaiting that opportunity. The backing will be ordered from Connecting Threads….perfect! Glad you were able to ‘pop’ by this Monday morning!! Hugs, Doreen

  2. mtetar says:

    Through God’s Grace Soooo much time, thoughts, creativity, experiments, fabric choices, colors blending, and displaying of the fabrics made this quilt very beautiful. Your grandson is Blessed to have you! Thanks for sharing as always. Mtetar

  3. Jen says:

    He is going to love it. Can’t wait to see it with all your quilting magic.

    • treadlemusic says:

      It was an interesting project. I had so much fun picking out the wildlife/hunting fabrics over the past months. It challenges one’s creativity when such is outside the “taste” of the one making it (although, I really like it, too!!!!!). Blessings, D

  4. Linda says:

    So lovely. I’ve been collecting camping and travel fabrics to make a quilt for my daughter and her boyfriend. I’m not sure how I’m going to piece it. I’m not good at improvisation…….

    • treadlemusic says:

      I wasn’t sure at first either. Then I acquired the center panel and picked up the “Shadowbox” pattern last fall. I’m in love with the “no waste flying geese” technique, too, so with all that it came together….kinda. There’s always some flexibility in block size (with a little math/recalculating). The biggest challenge I had was that the fabric pieces were of limited size and no chance of getting more……..ran short of the narrow gold sashing/border strips (needed 2 pieces 2″x WOF!!!) so substituted another (same color tone) print. A little imagination and ta-da!!! Keep me posted on your progress!!! Hugs, Doreen

  5. What a wonderful quilt. I’m sure your Grandson will feel your love everytime he wraps up in such a special quilt.

  6. Your grandson is going to LOVE this. So wonderful when you pair a quilt theme with a person’s interests because that makes it even more of a treasure to know the thought and love invested.

  7. fiammisday says:

    Fantastic my darling!!! A big kiss…

  8. Your Grandson is going to love this. The flying geese were an inspired inclusion! Looking forward to seeing the quilting, bows and arrows maybe 🙂 Avis x

  9. witchylin says:

    The quilt is just perfect for your Grandson. He will be so proud to sleep under it. Matching pillow cases too, what more could he wish for? I think the bow and arrow idea from Avis would be truly something! No one else will have that quilting design. Well done yet again Doreen. 🙂

    • treadlemusic says:

      Thanks so much, Lin! I have several quilts to do before getting to that one (and I have to order the backing fabric today which will take a week to get here) so will have time to figure out the stitching design! Have a wonderful rest of the day!! Hugs, D

  10. ivoryspring says:

    Oh my, Doreen – BEAUTIFUL colors! I love that your “manly” quilt for your manly grandson doesn’t look dull in colors! 🙂
    As for quilting motif — please don’t feel like I am patronizing you —- I actually think straight line quilting would be neat for the texture. Straight lines as in randomly placed, and angled — that would make it look like the woods…. just a thought.

  11. ivoryspring says:

    Oh… how about some leaves peeking out from some spots off those straight lines?

  12. ruthiequilts says:

    This is the perfect quilt for your grandson! I just love it! He’ll love it too I’m sure! I love the shadow box effect you used too… Awesome! Hugs!

  13. My mom always made quilts for all her children/nephews/nieces/grandchildren who were graduating – as well as the children of good friends. I still have mine – Amish Shadow – but it is falling apart after 25 years! I love that she did that though, it’s such a great gift.

  14. Plan as you go, design as you go… seems like we have similar methods. Love this quilt and I assume he does, too!

Leave a Reply

