Very thought provoking! Why do we undervalue ourselves???

Hunter's Design Studio

This morning I caught a post on a quilting Facebook feed… a member posted a picture of a delightful baby quilt and asked what she should charge the neighbor that just asked to buy it from her. She mentioned that the quilt was made from a panel with pieced borders, and that the quilting was done in threads to match the fabric colors (oh, the thread changes!). She mentioned she was thinking $85. A fellow poster thought $100 was better. Another said it depends on the closeness of the friendship.

First of all… I’m not naming names here because I don’t want this person to feel pilloried – far from it, I absolutely appreciate her question and have one heck of an opinion about how it should be answered… a rather, ahem, shall we say passionate opinion – you are warned! Her question, which I hear dozens of times a…

View original post 1,169 more words

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to

  1. ruthiequilts says:

    I re-blogged this one too! I think as quilt artists, we undervalue ourselves! 🙂 Awesome information!

  2. Pat says:

    That was a totally amazing post. So, using those calculations to estimate the worth of the queen size batik quilt currently being FMQ’d as a wedding gift for a couple who I’m almost sure will allow the pet rottweiler to lay on it … I’m going with priceless. Happy Easter my friend.

    • treadlemusic says:

      And Easter Blessings to you;-b It is really so difficult to gift a quilt knowing there will be such things allowed (our son/DIL allow their pooches on their bed, too;-(. “Priceless” is about the most accurate assessment in my estimation, also!!!! Hugs……

  3. Excellent post, which can apply to writers also.

    • treadlemusic says:

      I was going to add that and several other thoughts but “reblogging” is super friendly to such additions!! Easter blessings to you and your family…….It’s Friday but Sunday’s coming!!!!!

  4. I agree 100%. That’s why I tell people I don’t sell my quilts.

    • treadlemusic says:

      It’s hard enough to ‘gift’ a quilted creation (knowing, in most cases, that the recipient has no clue about what went in to creating it!). I even hesitate to donate for a charity auction…..would rather bake a pie……they go for so much more $$$$!!! Easter Blessings……….

  5. Thank you for this. I agree 100%. We have to stand strong or this or our art will always be considered a “crafty” project, not serious art. I recently had someone ask to buy a quilted jacket I had shown at a quilt show. I gave her a price based on all those things you said, explained why the price was what it was, and she still seemed interested. She was going to call back with a date she could come try the jacket on but never did. Am I disappointed? No! I didn’t try to sell it and I am happy to still own it and know that I didn’t sell myself, or my fellow quilters, short!

    • treadlemusic says:

      Way to go!!! It isn’t merely fabric, thread, etc but our very heart/soul/spirit…..a part of ourselves!!! I’ve had people look at me like I am crazy when I quote a price that isn’t even what it’s worth!!! I don’t feel at all badly if they just go away! Resurrection Blessings to you!!!!

  6. witchylin says:

    Thank you so much for re-blogging this. Quilting really is an art form and I would expect to pay an artist a good price for a painting so why not a quilter. The only quilt I have ever sold was to a friend who fell in love with the colours as I was making it. I was not too happy with the colour scheme when it was finished she offered me $250 Australian Dollars for it so I said yes thank you. On the calculation in the post I should have charged her about $800. I was happy to let it go for less as I would never have used it. Now my quilts are all for me or for gifts to special people. I too will print out the post and take it along to places where I meet up with with quilters and people who would like to own one. Thanks again it is really an eye opener.

Leave a Reply

