Inquiring minds…….

Have been asking about the QOV that I posted about here. I haven’t had opportunity to put one together personally but have quilted that one for a quilt group member and will be quilting another one this week. This pattern is definitely on my “need to do” list. Anyhow, I have searched the ‘net for the pattern and have come up with none. The pattern is one I got from a quilt shop when I purchased a bundle of fabric that would have been appropriate to complete this project. I have gone to the “American Quilt Retailer” site to see if I can locate the pattern source but have not received a reply, so here goes. I am posting the pattern, with the credit to Susan Fuquay (designer) and editor of “American Quilt Retailer” magazine.

FIREWORKS...STARBURST QUILT PATTERN

And here is the photo from my previous post…….

007

The photo above has been rotated to reflect the pattern’s diagram. The gals who have made this do comment that they probably would not make another!! No reason given. This is one of the most stunning ‘star’ patterns I have come across!! And a fab stash buster!!!!!

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Inquiring minds…….

  1. Very small triangles and easy to rearrange them incorrectly as you sew them together I think! It’s a stunning example. I love those rich colours 🙂 Avis x

    • treadlemusic says:

      You have assessed this pattern correctly. The richness of the color usage is wonderful but it is like the “color wash” style/technique of piecing small squares together for a stunning effect!! Easter Blessings……..

  2. Does “would not make another” mean it is extremely difficult? But, oh, so gorgeous.

  3. mtetar says:

    I would guess not difficult for The Pros. It is amazingly made, and the colors are perfect for its name (FireWorks). Enjoy the making! Mtetar

    • treadlemusic says:

      It is similar to doing a “filet crochet” pattern or a “colorwash” quilt where the little fabric squares are placed using a “graph paper” approach. The hardest part is making sure (in this case) there is a large selection of “blues”, “reds” and “golds/yellows”. Like a mosaic! It takes patience, though, so we’ll see how it goes!!! LOL!

  4. I think this is such a striking quilt! I normally am not drawn to quilts that aren’t symmetrical… but I love this one.

    • treadlemusic says:

      I am drawn to asymmetrical quilts but not of the “color wash” variety (many little squares of varying shades of a color to produce a mosaic effect…..for those who are unsure of that term). This pattern has shown up on Pinterest (put “Fireworks quilt” in search box) in various versions (even a queen sized quilt variation). So glad you stopped by!!! Hugs, Doreen

  5. Jeanne says:

    Thank you! I think I’d like to try this with my scraps. Maybe a little bigger though. It is going on my list which is a little lengthy right now! I appreciate the pattern – it gives me a great place to start. ~Jeanne

    • treadlemusic says:

      The neat thing about this pattern is the size can be determined by the size scrap piece you use. The next one I am quilting used 3& 1/2″ (unfinished) squares instead of the 2& 1/2″ (unfinished) and added different border treatment! Hugs, D

  6. witchylin says:

    I did think I would put this quilt on my ‘to do list’ however having read that each little half triangle square is only 2 inches my enthusiasm waned a little. I could see myself getting in a real muddle with the different colours. I will just look at this one and admire it from afar. Having said that, I want to say, I think it is an amazing design and does look wonderful. I’m sure yours will be fantastic Doreen. Thank you for posting the pattern, when my stash grows and there are many small pieces I may just have a go. 🙂 It surely is a once only quilt for many.

    • treadlemusic says:

      The size of the individual scrap square can be any size you choose!!! The resulting quilt will be just larger (a good thing??). I am thinking of a bit larger than what’s called for, too!!!! Hugs, D

  7. Astrid says:

    It’s gorgeous! Love how the stars are placed and I love the outside border!
    Have a wonderful day!

    • treadlemusic says:

      Astid, Thank you so much for the kind words and the visit! That pattern has caught the eye of so many and it is a stunning pattern. Anyone who likes to do/has done smaller squares/postage stamp/color wash type quilts will find this pattern a bit easier than the gals in my group who have each made 1. It was very different for them and they probably won’t do another. For myself, I am fascinated with how the color shading works together! Please, come again! Hugs,Doreen

  8. Teje says:

    Hi Doreen! This is fantastic pattern! I would love to make as you know I love scraps and quilts with lots of colours! Mixed prints and colours make them so alive! x Teje

    • treadlemusic says:

      Although this pattern has been used by my quilt group gals for Quilts of Valor (red, white & blue colors), I thought I would like to do a pastel version with the sky in sunset colors: azure, lavender, soft gray blues, etc. I’m glad you like this pattern! Hugs, Doreen

      • Teje says:

        That sounds great, Doreen! For some reason I have also in my quilt with natural colours: lots of white, beige, light grey etc. Happy weekend! x Teje

        • treadlemusic says:

          Yes, as beautifully stunning/striking as the deep blues/reds/white are, they really aren’t my colors, either. Yours are the types I am drawn to plus gray/sage greens, etc. But must finish grandson’s quilt, first. Hugs, D

  9. ivoryspring says:

    I agree – that’s one of the most spectacular star quilts I have seen. Beautiful!!!!

    Love you, SSAB! 🙂

Leave a Reply

