It’s only a number!……But mine?????……

There are those moments when “time” takes on a bit of an odd meaning. I mean, like when I have to attach a number to my recent birthday…….like, well…….such numbers are for people like……well, surely, not me! OK……..are you ready……the number is………67….what? You say you didn’t hear me? I said it’s 67…….You ….you still didn’t? 67!!!!! I canNOT believe it!! Alright, enough already!!! DH and I met #1 son and wife on Wed, the 3rd, for dinner in LaCrosse. Such a good time! They gifted me with 3 bottles of their homemade wine!!! Yum! The next day (April 4th), DH and I went to St. Paul and picked up Mom and headed to lunch in Stillwater, MN, at the historic Lowell Inn. I have been lunching there, at least 1 time a year, for 45+ years!!. So gorgeous and the food is 5 star!!!!old lowell innThis photo is obviously an old one but the building has remained the same all these years!! Friday, the 5th and THE day!, began with this card…..004 005and was spent quilting and with family in the evening for a mini-party. The thoughtful gifts are an ever reminder of what is of true value………….

013

This beautiful “Faith”  plaque (and wonderful “Lily of the Valley” soy candle) is from my granddaughter, hubby and great grand-daughter. Love it!!!! The next gift is from #2 son and wife (who reside just up the driveway from our home)…….

014

A closer look at those sweet words……….

015

As Spring is at my doorstep, these words certainly will be in the forefront of my mind as the world around me renews itself in the freshness of new growth and new life……..and is that not what is the heart of the Easter story!?! And so I begin my 67th year of life in this beautiful corner of the world and I say “thank you”, dear Bloggy Friends, for being such an important part of my life. You are truly numbered among the many blessings I have been given! Hugs……….

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

39 Responses to It’s only a number!……But mine?????……

  1. Pat says:

    Well, a very happy birthday to you my dear friend! Yeah, I hear those numbers, they’ll be calling my name in another month – seems we’re in good company!

  2. mtetar says:

    Happy Blessed Birthday! I say this your Best Post because of your numbers (Gift of Life) of Blessings which GOD has allowed you. Beautiful Card with the right choice of words.Oh Wow the plague is beautiful and again the right choice of words. What a closeknit family! Wishing you many more Blessed ones. May GOD continues to share more Blessings, and strengthens you. Be Blessed, Mtetar

  3. A belated wonderful happy birthday to you, dearest Doreen. I totally understand the question of “how can I already be?” The years pass with speed the more we age. It sounds like you had a wonderful celebration with family. And the gifts seem perfect and meaningful. I so treasure your friendship and wish you many more blessed years of life. You are the best!

  4. JoAnn says:

    Happy Belated Birthday. Look at the year, as another year of God’s glory. Celebrate everyday.

  5. Karen says:

    numbers are just numbers – happy birthday – I’m always grateful for another year and try to not let the numbers affect me although I must admit that when the numbers was 60 last September it bothered me just a little bit – I don’t think of myself as 60
    That is a gorgeous building!

    • treadlemusic says:

      It is a gorgeous building and it sets amidst so many that the whole town could be designated as a “historic district”. It has been a pleasant part of my summer over the past 50+ years, actually.
      I think the “number thing” is only jolting because all of us viewed these numbers as something assigned to “old folks” who did not do the things our current generation does. We have truly grown younger!!!!! (as we live longer!) And I am really lovin’ that right now! It IS a great excuse to do some special things, though;-D

  6. Jeanne says:

    Happy Birthday! I am so grateful we have had so many years and hope we both have many more! We have a “moments that take our breath away” plaque in our home. It is so true. Bless you, friend! ~Jeanne

  7. Rose says:

    Happy Birthday! Any number is a good number, as long as you get to celebrate another birthday. 🙂

  8. candy says:

    Happy birthday! Looks like you had a great day. It’s funny how the years creep up on us. Yesterday, I read an article about John Lennon’s son Julian. I was stunned to read that he was fifty. So, if he’s fifty, then I’m ….. never mind! It made me feel older than looking at my own sons! What’s more amazing is that I don’t feel a bit like I’m ….. never mind! 🙂

  9. Happy birthday, dear friend! Your creativity and encouraging words do SO much toward making the world a better place for all of us! Looking forward to *sharing* MANY more bds with you! 🙂 P.S. I LOVE seeing photos of your home . . . it’s SUPER cozy and inviting!

    • treadlemusic says:

      Thank you so much for the kind words!! When we purchased this home/farm my goal was to make it cozy, comfy, kick-your-shoes-off, sit a spell kind of place…..it’s worked (partially ‘cuz I canNOT bear to throw anything away so I just keep adding to the momentos on the walls, on the floors, on the tables (or any flat surface!!) on the……..well, you get the drift! Thank you for the best wishes and may we all have many bd’s more!!

  10. Beth Ann says:

    Happy Belated Birthday, Doreen! I know exactly what you mean about “how did I get to this number?” I have a birthday looming in a few weeks and I am wondering how I got there!!! Lovely presents and sentiments behind those gifts!! You are loved!!! Hugs!

  11. Happy Birthday dear Doreen! It looks like you had a great time and have some lovely gifts too. I always remember my Gran used to call people in their sixties “youngsters” 🙂 Stay young at heart Doreen 😉 Avis x

  12. Happy Birthday Quilty Friend! We aren’t getting older… we are getting better! That Moments & Breath saying is one of my favorites.

  13. Many, many happy returns Doreen! Looks like you’ve had a wonderful birthday. And so young too!! xx

  14. ruthiequilts says:

    Well happy birthday my friend!!! And that number isn’t too bad… LOL! You’re as young as you feel! (Which I’m sure is much younger than the number!) Eat some cake for me!

  15. witchylin says:

    Happy Belated Birthday Doreen. Even though I am a little late the wish is the same. 67 that is nothing these days. I am running pretty quickly behind you and don’t even think of myself as middle aged never mind old!!!! We are as young as we feel and I am sure you are somewhere in your early 20s. Just because there is a 6 at the start of my number and the second one turns to another 6 this May I don’t really care. All I would like to know is where did those years go?
    Love reading your blog and seeing the wonderful quilt pictures you post. Not to mention the happy pictures you post of your life and home. Look forward to many more years of bloggy friendship with you.
    Brightest Blessings. 🙂

  16. Belated many happy returns and wish you a great year ahead, Doreen! What intention do you hold going forward?

    Shakti

    • treadlemusic says:

      I haven’t really given much thought to it (now that you ask!). I guess I’m one to focus on the task at hand and, right now, that would be finishing the quilting on a graduation quilt for my/our eldest grandson. Post to follow soon! So glad you could visit! Blessings, Doreen

  17. Debbierose says:

    Happy Birthday Doreen, being young at heart you are a youngster. Looks like you had a wonderful celebration with family, friends and quilting – yeah !!! For me this year is the Big Five 0 – and with grandchild number five just born – keeps you young at heart. Enjoy the moments and live life to the fullest xx Debbierose 🙂

    • treadlemusic says:

      A huge “Congrats” to you, my Dear!!! I do remember turning 50 (just barely, though!). It was the year I got my motorcycle license and first bike! Exciting times, these!!! Many blessings to you and uber hugs, D

  18. KrisR says:

    Sounds like a wonderful birthday, Doreen! Best wishes for the year.

  19. Teje says:

    Happy belated Birthday, Doreen! Sorry I’m late, but I have a present for you, just check your e-mail! I can’t believe your numbers! But I can’t believe mine, either – often I have to count is it really true. I’m happy to hear you had a great celebration! Hugs! x Teje

  20. ivoryspring says:

    Happy Belated, Birthday, SSAB!! Email me your mailing address – I want to drop off a little something for you in the mail!

    Blessings for another wonderful year!! May God richly bless you as you have me.

Leave a Reply

