Lovely sewing room addition……

I had been keeping the spools/cones of quilting thread, that have been steadily increasing in numbers(!) in a lovely, functional tote. Not totally bad or really inconvenient (unless I observe it as a “flat surface” begging for some ‘coverage’ of some kind…..read: piles of stuff!!!!) and certainly a dust free environment, which is most appropriate! Anyhow, DH suggested, and took it upon himself, to upgrade me mightily! Working with wood is 100% “his thing”!!! I find wood to be, shall I say, a tad “unforgiving”? I mean, fabric can be “eased” in………can wood?????? That’s a negative! I find that to be a huge hurdle and one that I simply can’t overcome!! So here is his beautiful solution to my colorful thread supply storage dilemma………

002

003

Is that not the neatest??? Right now I have several duplicate threads that are almost finished and it really isn’t totally full…yet! Yup! That’s one talented DH! And definitely a “keeper”!!!

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

37 Responses to Lovely sewing room addition……

  1. JoAnn says:

    Wow. He did a beautiful job. Glass door and everything. New business calling.

  2. Pat says:

    Wow Doreen! Love that new addition to your sewing room. I suspect your hubby will be inundated with requests for thread cabinets, his work is gorgeous! Now, I have a small addition for your sewing room too – you won my giveaway on Monday, but I have no other way to contact you since you’re a ‘no-reply’ blogger! Please send me an email with your snail mail address and I’ll get your package right out. This is your lucky week!

  3. Oh, wow, DH does beautiful work. What craftsmanship. Is he a carpenter by trade?

    • treadlemusic says:

      He was a long haul truck driver (business major in college). Woodworking is something he, both sons and grandsons seem to do very well w/o special training. Never ceases to amaze me, either!! I always tell them that I prefer fabric to wood, as the latter is so unforgiving when cut wrong!!!! LOL!

  4. Beth Ann says:

    That is beautiful!!! ANd just perfect for what you need!! Good for the DH!!!

  5. mtetar says:

    Great craftsmanship, display, and presentation! It is very inspiring, and encouraging for more great projects. Be Blessed, D!

  6. Karen says:

    nice job! it would be nice to have a cabinet (or 2 or 3) to keep fabric in behind glass doors 🙂

  7. Jeanne says:

    Awesome! This is so neat! Are you sure he doesn’t want to hire out? If this was your birthday present, it was perfect!

    • treadlemusic says:

      Yes, it was and it is…perfect! Along with a DVD of “Les Miserables” (which he watched with me, since he hadn’t gone to the movie w/ me, and commented that any future watching would have to be w/o him…..way too depressing!!!!).

  8. Michele says:

    Just awesome. I may have to use some sort of modified version of that once my new toy gets here. Tell hubby “Nicely done!”

  9. Wow Doreen, I mean WOW! DH is definitely a keeper. What a talented man. Does he take orders??!! Your threads look so pretty in their new home, and so easy to find.

  10. You are one lucky girl! 😉

  11. ruthiequilts says:

    Wow D! He’s a keeper alright… I love this cabinet!!! It’s perfect! Awesome!!!!

  12. Gloria Dotzler says:

    Hi Doreen, Fleet Farm had the 1.5 qt. crock pots on sale today for $9.99 so we bought one. Would you share your recipe for overnight steel cut oats?Your hubby sure did a nice job on your thread cabinet! What a lovely surprise.Take care, Gloria Date: Thu, 11 Apr 2013 11:34:23 +0000 To: gjongilmore@hotmail.com

  13. Teje says:

    Hi Doreen! I was admiring your cabinet earlier but forgot the comment because I had you with ‘something else’ in my mind! This is fantastic place to keep your threads! Wow, lucky we to have a handy man (mine just doesn’t have much time). Have a great week! x Teje

    • treadlemusic says:

      Thank you, dear Mediterranean Friend! I am so enjoying my little cabinet!! It is such a blessing to have a spot easily accessible and such a beautiful rainbow of color!! Hugs, Doreen

  14. ivoryspring says:

    You are so spoiled, and what a great and sweet husband…. now, I am a tad envious! 😉

  15. Wow! That is so wonderful! You’re one lucky lady :-).
    Love it! You you suggest that he open an Etsy shop and sell this one 🙂

  16. Valerie says:

    Beautiful! I love how this is stored – I need a good way to store my thread. Right now they are just tossed in a plastic bin! Needless to say it’s a real mess whenever I go to find thread. 😉

    • treadlemusic says:

      I ‘hear’ ya!! I think that is what DH spotted and decided he really needed to help my out! No matter how hard I tried, the thread tote turned into a jumbled pile! This is so very nice, indeed! I have repeatedly let him know how much I (and all my readers!) love it!!! Hugs, Doreen

Leave a Reply

