Wow! Poof!……..

This past week has totally evaporated! Judging from other posts I have read, I am not alone in this situation. Last Monday was a meeting of the larger quilt group I belong to. We have the building open in the mornings for sewing time or workshops. This time it was my turn and the workshop was the pattern I dub “Disappearing 4 Patch with a Twist”. When I found this on the ‘net last year I knew it was a pattern I would want to try, after all, who doesn’t like pinwheels??? The first few blocks did not go well but I finally got the ‘hang’ of it. So, naturally when I was asked to do the workshop this pattern was the logical candidate. The original instructions for this can be found here. I will say, the gals seemed to enjoy the project!

002003004

001005

And here are some of the results……………

007

The red/white quilt in the background is a QOV I made from this pattern and blogged about here. Although the directions seem to be simple and straight forward, it is quite easy to inadvertently put the cut pieces in the wrong spot which led to moments here and there of confusion, slight frustration(?) and questionable mental stability! It was a good, productive time. Til next time…………

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Wow! Poof!……..

  1. mtetar says:

    You’re great with your craft, and this is why the workshop was an enjoyable one by all. Also it’s the reason for the fantastic results. Thank you for sharing. Be Blessed, Mtetar

  2. witchylin says:

    I must try that design. It looks fabulous and so very different. The picture of the final pieces that were made at the group are lovely. They look brilliant in whatever colours they chose. I do wish we had quilting groups like yours in our area. Yup! I did think of trying to start one but there wasn’t enough interest. 😦 I just have three friends over once a fortnight to quilt at my home. They have had to stop while I had my new kitchen put in but hope to start up again in a couple of weeks when all is finished. 🙂

    • treadlemusic says:

      Lin, That’s great that there are others (even a few) who share your interest. I think smaller is sometimes better! My smaller/local group meets tomorrow (Monday) eve. Each group has its own “personality” and ‘feel’. The smaller group is more close knit, even though most of us don’t keep in contact in between meetings. Just a more “hometown” feel. Hope the kitchen project is coming along nicely! Hugs, Doreen

  3. I love pinwheels and this block looks great. I really enjoy your “show and tell” because it gives views of the same projects in different colourways which is often difficult to imagine. They are all lovely….and I see you have a gentleman quilter in your group too! Have fun! Avis x

    • treadlemusic says:

      My love of all things pinwheels is what drew me to this block. Following the directions carefully is a must. Pressing is also very important in order for the stitching to be accurate and the final product flat. So glad you dropped in! Blessings, D

  4. Sartenada says:

    Beautiful results!

  5. So then this would be a project reserved for those who prefer a challenge? The results are lovely. I would say you succeeded as a teacher.

    • treadlemusic says:

      Let’s just say it might not be the best “starter” project for a novice quilter/piecer/sewer but for those who enjoy manipulating fabric pieces and doing “slice and dice” with fabric…it’s perfect!-b

  6. That’s awesome! Great pattern, I would love to try that sometime.

  7. ruthiequilts says:

    Fun pattern! It looks like you all had a blast! My time has been flying by too… I feel your pain! LOL!

  8. Oh, posts like this are gonna be the ruin of me!! I love this block and sitting here looking at it, over and over, has the creativity flowing as I picture any of my fabrics being perfect for this. I already have an overflowing file of blocks/techniques to try and this will be put there as well. Although, I will have to live to be 200+ to make them all. 😛 Thanks for sharing this, such a stunning block.

    • treadlemusic says:

      I so know what you mean!!! The gals in the workshop (and others in the group) were somewhat mesmerized by the whole process and said it would be one pattern that they would definitely repeat! I take that as a sign of a successful session. So glad you stopped by and thrilled for your recent progresses on LA quilting…..Yes!!! you are a LAer!!! Yippee!!!! Hugs, Doreen

  9. Renee says:

    How fun! I love big blocks!

    • treadlemusic says:

      The neat thing about this pattern is the starting squares of fabric (that become the beginning 4-patch blocks) can be any size you want! Most of the gals did 10″ squares of fabric and in the second cutting step, cut 2″ either side of the middle seam instead of 1&1/2″. It’s all up to the individual! The bigger blocks are really stunning. My quilt (hanging in the background…red/white….was done using 8″ fabric squares). Hugs, Doreen

  10. That block is really interesting! I must try it soon!
    Esther

    • treadlemusic says:

      It is a very interesting set of blocks ( I say “set” because the total pattern must come from the 2 4-patch blocks). So very glad you enjoyed the post. I know I have enjoyed putting together the 2 quilts I have made from the pattern. Hugs, Doreen

  11. stipplequilt says:

    That is a fun pattern, I bet you had a great workshop! Thanks for sharing.
    Freemotion by the River Linky Party Tuesday

    • treadlemusic says:

      I am not one to do such a workshop. I love attending them, though! The gals had very sweet comments so will entertain a possible future project. That is one fun pattern and very versatile (size-wise). Thanks for stopping by!! Hugs, Doreen

Leave a Reply

