The weather is……..

Less than desirable but is absolutely perfect for quilting (but, then, any weather is really suitable, in my estimation!) so another QOV finish was accomplished. This top was done by one of the gals in my quilt group and given to me on workshop day. Very colorful and patriotic. Altogether, a very nice finish……..

008 

009010

The texture of the stitching really turned out neat! Easy to get carried away with the quilting……but never too much!!! The thread is Connecting Threads polyester and was a total joy to use! Absolutely lint free!! I’m a believer!!!

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to The weather is……..

  1. mtetar says:

    Yes D, your description is absolutely right! Great job by her. Be Blessed, Mtetar

  2. Every time I view your photos of QOV quilts, I think how you are all blessing those who receive them. Thank you for taking on this honorable project.

  3. Pat says:

    Another great quilt! Blessings to you and your friends who do such a wonderful job with these special gifts!

    • treadlemusic says:

      Thank you so much, Pat. There is so much that this group puts in to their QOV that I don’t see in other groups. Each one, truly, is suitable for the service person who sacrificed so much!

  4. Karen says:

    I heard a piece on the news last night that said warmer weather was coming your way soon – I will keep my fingers crossed for you. This is one of the longest winters I have heard of for you all in the north.

  5. Very pretty… and your description of our weather is much kinder and probably more politically correct than mine lately!

  6. ruthiequilts says:

    This came out great! I’m going to have to try that thread… 🙂

    • treadlemusic says:

      I’m not one to try a lot of different types/brands. My machine does so well with all threads so it’s more an appearance thing that would send me looking. I do a lot of “travel stitching” and thread build-up sometimes happens if the weight is around 40. It’s nice if it’s 60 or 70 wt. Give it a try and let me know how well it works. Hugs, Doreen

  7. Love that paisley quilting! Great job!

    • treadlemusic says:

      That stitch pattern is my favorite one lately. Not only is fun/easy to do, it gives a nice even appearance (especially once it’s washed/dried) AND, if there are some wavey spots/borders,it calms (takes care of) that excessive fullness quite well. I can change the stitching direction and ease in the extra fabric fairly easily. I have quite of bit of that to do on my recent QOV that I’ve done for the group. Thanks so much for stopping by! Hugs, Doreen

  8. Another beauty! I love polyester quilting thread too 🙂 but don’t tell the quilt police 😉 Avis x

    • treadlemusic says:

      I think the quilt police are turning a ‘blind eye’ to the poly. thing these days! I’ve noticed more and more being used with great results, especially in cases (like me) where there is so much “travel stitching” and thread build-up becomes an issue. I really appreciate the lack of lint build up (my machine runs beautifully with it!!) and its strength. There are so many choices out there these days it’s amazing! Love it! Hugs, D

  9. Wintery weather caused Faribault High School to cancel its opening performance of “The Wizard of Oz” musical, much to my dismay. I was looking forward to the temporary evening escape into a magical world far, far away from snowy Minnesota.

Leave a Reply

