For the Grad…….part 2

A while back, I posted about a quilt I had in the works for grandson #1 who will graduate from high school this Spring. You can read more about the beginnings of this idea here. I love how the “Shadow Box” pattern piecing shows off the various wildlife themed fabrics!  I may be at risk in posting so much info on this before the ‘day’ but I am fairly certain that GS follows me only on fb and hasn’t ventured to my blog, yet (I hope!). There were many suggestions on quilting motifs and my waking (and sleeping) moments were full of contemplated possibilities. I decided to keep with the “organic” natural woodsy theme that the fabric dictated. Various types of leaves (Maple and Oak), swirls and feathers (surprised???) were chosen. And I present the photo gallery………

019

023025027

024026

030031

028

The red border (above left) is my ‘quilty’ version of barbed wire. I think most every hunter comes across a bit of this at some point while “out in the wild”. The quilt is all washed and crinkly and just in need of the obligatory label, awaiting the happy day in June! Maybe we’ll have some warm weather by then!!!!??!!!!!………..

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to For the Grad…….part 2

  1. mtetar says:

    If GS isn’t a Natural, Nature, and, or a Wildlife Person he should now be for such an amazing and filled with LOVE Quilt. What an idea and skills you show in your work of crafts. Great Job D it’s at its BEST. Be Blessed, Mtetar

    • treadlemusic says:

      GS is totally a Nature lover/outdoorsman. He hunts with a black powder bun and a very expensive (he purchased with saved $$$) bow. And….he is such an excellent marksman. He really amazes me! I’m glad you liked this project….I am in love with it, too! Hugs, Doreen

  2. It’s gorgeous….the colours, the design, the quilting…..everything 🙂 Have a wonderful weekend! Avis x

  3. Gloria Dotzler says:

    A work of art and will surely wrap love around your grandson!

  4. Here’s what I love, besides your beautiful craftsmanship: the thought you put into each quilt. That detail of the “barbed wire” stitching shows me how much you care about personalizing a special quilt like this. Your grandson will be delighted.

    • treadlemusic says:

      I do have to say….that barbed wire addition was the very last thing quilted. I knew it had to be something very simple but with a big statement. Lightbulb moment!!!!! I have had interesting encounters with barbed wired in my hunting, so thought…..of course!! I knew you would appreciate such! Has the warmer weather blessed you with its presence, yet??? These next 3 days look awesome!!! Hugs……

  5. Pat says:

    This quilt is magnificent! You may need to borrow it back from your grandson to enter in the state fair – it is definitely worthy!

    • treadlemusic says:

      Never occurred to me, to tell you the truth!! It will be displayed during a Norwegian event in Spring Grove, MN, called Syttende Mai. I am counting on the fact that GS will not attend as this is before the gifting date!!!!! Life on the edge!!! LOL! Thank you for your very sweet words, Pat. Blessings, Doreen

  6. Beth Ann says:

    It is beautiful!!! All the colors and details are perfect! Lovely gift that will be treasured for a lifetime.

    • treadlemusic says:

      The gold/honey colored fabric that was used in so many borders/sashings, etc is the very last I have and have been on a hunt for more. It makes the whole quilt “glow” like afternoon sunlight and I just love it!! I think this finish is perfectly suited to the young man’s personality. It was such a pleasurable quilt to put together! Hugs, Doreen

  7. Teje says:

    Hi Doreen! This is fantastic quilt! Beautiful and I love your thoughts to make a quilt with his favourite themes! x Teje

    • treadlemusic says:

      Thank you, Teje! It was an easier project than I first thought. I’ve been on the ‘hunt’ for the right fabric for about a year and was so much fun! His brother graduates from high school next year….he doesn’t have such definite interests. Will have to do some detective work!!! Hugs, Doreen

  8. ivoryspring says:

    All I can say is perfect execution on the quilting, Doreen! You are GOOD!!!!

    • treadlemusic says:

      I have said it before but will repeat…..quilting is possibly the most relaxing pastime/art that I have ever experienced! Even the “piano thing” can work up a sweat!!!!! LOL! Your kind words are such an encouragement (I know I’ve said that before;-b )

Leave a Reply

