Just a quick one……..

This is a lap quilt that a friend asked me to quilt for her. She loves paisleys as much as I do (or is it the reverse??) and had collected a beautiful assortment of fabrics featuring this motif. So, how should it be quilted???? Why, with paisleys….of course!!!!! The photos tell the story…….

012

013

And the backing…..so pretty!

014

Will get a complete photo at the quilt show, mid-May, when this beauty will have its binding finish! Til next time……..

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

37 Responses to Just a quick one……..

  1. daniellajoe says:

    The backing is as pretty as the front…it’s reversible in my opinion 🙂

    • treadlemusic says:

      I love those paisleys!!!!! She still has a stash full of them. When I delivered the quilt, I suggested a full size would be nice, too! I agree, the back is wonderful!!!

  2. Gloria Dotzler says:

    What a beautiful combination of fabrics! Bet you’re loving this snowy weather so you can keep on quilting. It sure messed up our annual trip on the 100 mile garage sale, though.

    • treadlemusic says:

      Ooops!! I forgot about that one! And the rain really is coming down. At least it’s rain and not more of the white stuff! Don’t ya just love those paisleys????

  3. mtetar says:

    It looks like one beautiful piece of print fabric. Well done, D! Be Blessed, Mtetar

  4. So pretty… love those rich colors and the quilting looks amazing!

    • treadlemusic says:

      Thank you so much! The fabrics are so beautiful and Barb has been collecting paisleys for a long time. It was beautifully put together and the stitching pattern was a ‘must do’ on this one. Stitching it was total joy as paisleys are my fave, too! Your kind words mean much! Hugs, Doreen

  5. I love the paisley pattern too 🙂 Have a wonderful weekend! Avis x

  6. Jeanne says:

    The perfect motif! Happy quilting in this ‘wonderful’ weather!

  7. Linda says:

    I don’t have much paisley now, but when I was a teenager, 5 or 6 years ago……….snort, snort…..I made myself a lot of shirtwaist dresses, and a lot of them were paisley, and green! Your quilting is lovely, as always!

    xo Linda

    • treadlemusic says:

      LOL! Good one!!!! When I was in college the popular color schemes were burgundy OR dark forest green. My BFF always wore the burgundy but, even way back then, I lived for the green and had a fave sweater that was the green paisley w/ touches of gold (not metallic!). I have been in love with paisleys ever since!! And that’s a ton of years!!! ROFL!!!!!
      Thank you for your sweet encouraging words! Blessings, Doreen

  8. Valerie says:

    Oooh that’s pretty!!

  9. Great job! Love the paisleys

  10. candy says:

    Pretty quilt! Pretty quilting! Can’t wait to see the whole quilt.

  11. witchylin says:

    I love paisley too. About a 100 years ago I had a full circle paisley skirt that I adored. I remember crying when it was finally destined for the rag bag. Didn’t make quilts in those days. 😦
    The quilting stitches are lovely and compliment the fabrics. It will be wonderful once the binding is in place. Well done to both of you.

  12. Wow! this quilt is stunning! Those paisleys are looking awesome. Of course the quilting really shows off in the back of the quilts.

    Hugs,
    Malini

  13. You did a wonderful job with this paisley quilt! The FMQ and the fabric go so well together!
    Esther

    • treadlemusic says:

      Thank you, Esther. When she asked me to do the quilting on her paisley quilt, she knew I had done such a motif and, also, knew it would the chosen one. When all the elements come together so well, it is such a fun/relaxing project! Hugs, Doreen

  14. ruthiequilts says:

    Perfect motif! I just love it! Gorgeous quilt!

  15. Great job on the quilting! Choosing the motif is always hard for me. Nice job!

    • treadlemusic says:

      Choosing is hard for me, too! I have more practice samples than I know what to do with!!! Have begun to make them in to mug rugs and mats by serging the edges to finish them and then tossing them when they get too mucked up! Thanks for stopping by!!! :-b

  16. ivoryspring says:

    How beautiful! You did a great job. And the fabrics are just gorgeous!

Leave a Reply

