Yes, it is……..

Tonight is the local high school’s Prom. Ordinarily, this is really  not super notable but this year is different. Why? Well, for starters, 2 days ago the whole region was buried under record snowfall after a weekend of 70F temps! No, there will be no photos of the “white stuff” in this post…there have been enough posted/plastered everywhere else. Today began with dense fog and a dismal landscape, but then…..the sun came out, melting began in earnest and the thermometer read 65F….yay! The following records #2 grandson and special friend’s obligatory formal send-off to dinner and on to the dance and overnight lock-in After Prom Party………..

020

017

That 2nd photo includes #1 grandson (who is actually a senior and the future recipient of the quilt posted here) and who is in no way the “dance” type. They are the greatest Grandsons and I/we love them dearly! Still, I pause to consider, how time has flown by and these cute toddlers are about to begin their adult lives. How is it that they are of that age when we are…………we are……… And that’s today’s post! Have a wonderful rest-of-the-weekend!

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Yes, it is……..

  1. My 2 youngest grandsons are graduating from High School in about one month. I feel your pain. LOL

  2. What a cute couple, all dressed up and ready for prom. Your grandson looks so handsome and his friend, well, love her dress. So glad there is no snow in sight. Still plenty here.

  3. Karen says:

    I find it funny that you guys are warmer than we are today – high off 44 and low tonight 38? but the warm up starts back for us tomorrow – weird way the weather was coming down so far and getting us so cold – record breaking snow fall in the northern part of the state – snow in May how strange, glad it missed us, didn’t even get the frost – just plain cold though.
    Kids look great! happy prom for them

  4. mtetar says:

    They look great, and thank GOD for the change of the weather. Be Blessed, Mtetar

  5. This brings back memories Doreen 🙂 About five minutes before the hired Rolls Royce was due to pick up my daughter for her prom, she decided she didn’t want to go!! It was all because she was soooo nervous. Needless to say, she did go, and enjoyed it very much. I hope your Grandson and his prom partner had a wonderful time too 🙂 Avis x

  6. This is great. Did they go on the motorcycle? I ponder almost daily as I watch my 8-year-old grow in front of my eyes how fast it all comes and wonder how I got here in my life. I’m an older mom…I didn’t have her until I was 39 years young, so I’m a late bloomer. Yes, feeling old lately. Her friends tease her that my husband and I look like grandparents. Poor girl.

    • treadlemusic says:

      DH’s folks were always “Gram/Gramps” to me….same reason! We went the other way and chose early (20/21) so we would have the energy to keep up!! Had 2 boys, too! And we’re all “gear-heads”LOL!!!!! Being retired for a few years has stepped up our pace even more…who’ld a thunk it!!!

Leave a Reply

