I’m not there……….

I am here or, rather, DH and I are “on the road again” in South Dakota for the week. We have “headquartered” ourselves at our friends’ place on the edge of Belle Fourche, S.D., after a somewhat indirect ‘touristy’ route that took us from S.E. MN, West (through Sioux Falls, S.D.), to Wall Drug (had to have one of their wonderful cake doughnuts and 5 cent coffee (honor system!!!) and then on to Hot Springs, S.D. for a night. Details of our brief stay in another post. Anyhow, today was Spearfish Canyon day. The winds were howling (30 mph sustained w/ gusts 40+ mph!) but the sun finally was kind enough to greet us! A few “windshield shots” will give you a feel of the gorgeous Black Hills’ scenery…..

001009

010

Halfway up the canyon is a settlement named Savoy with a lovely place called Spearfish Canyon Lodge…………

013

So appropriate for the setting, don’t you think??? Continuing up the canyon to Cheyenne Crossing and breakfast!!!!! This little restaurant/lodge is a very quaint “stage stop” of years ago and sees much tourist traffic during the summer months especially (in the winter/snowy months the snowmobiles and ATVs keep them busy, also). Their link is here.

016

This little spot is known for their “Indian Tacos” (layering of spicy Mexican taco ground beef, tomatoes, lettuce and cheese on a deep fried “fry bread” instead of in a crisp tortilla shell or soft tortilla roll/wrap). But….wait, this is breakfast! No problem. You see, we had their fab eggs, pancakes, hash browns and bacon……..wait for it………with an order of the fry bread and the smoothest cream cheese frosting ever!!!!!!!

017

At this point I must add…..the above photo is only a small fraction of the beautiful fried “pillow” that was presented! Unfortunately….my focus was not on my camera and taking that impressive presentation photo but on how exactly I was going to “attack” this mouth watering gorgeousness! Sorry…….well, not really…(contented ‘sigh’ inserted here). Yup, our travels definitely reflect our culinary ‘bents’!! ‘Til next time…………

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to I’m not there……….

  1. Karen says:

    Do you go to Custer State Park also when you are in South Dakota? We love that park. I too have been to the big Wall Drug! can browse for sometime can’t you. Have a fun trip

  2. mtetar says:

    God is Good, and all look well. Thanks for sharing such a Blessed trip. Enjoy! Mtetar

  3. I think it’s time for a trip to the Black Hills again. We were last there 31 years ago, on our honeymoon. I’d forgotten just how beautiful it is out there. Looks like you’re having a great time.

    • treadlemusic says:

      We love it here! If you plan a future foray, let me know…..I could give you a huge list of places to add to your itinerary (historic, eateries, just plain interesting!!).

      • With the price of gas, the daughter getting married and the son moving to Boston in August, I think we won’t vacation anytime soon. Too many other places for our money to drift right now. But…I will keep you in mind as a source of info. I know that you know that area well.

  4. Jeanne says:

    Looks like you are having fun! We always enjoy the Black Hills and now I REALLY wish I had some of that fry bread – my mouth is watering!

  5. witchylin says:

    That was so breakfast Doreen. made my slice of toast and marmalade look a bit insignificant. 😀
    You are having a great trip hope the winds ease off for you. Lovely pictures, it looks a great place. The kind of countryside I like. Cities…Yuk! I can never get out of them fast enough.

  6. Oh Doreen! How do you keep in trim?? The scenery is gorgeous and the food looks irresistible. Must go and make coffee and raid the ginger nuts now!! Have a wonderful time 🙂 Avis x

    • treadlemusic says:

      I have told myself that I am on vacation and must enjoy that part of it…….but only for a time!!!!!! Such breakfasts really do make the “normal ones” less than desirable! Last eve’s supper was a black olive/roasted garlic/smoked chicken fettecini (sp?) alfredo. CanNOT have that very often!!!!! LOL!

  7. Great scenery. I hope you’re including a few miles of walking aft all that food!!! Enjoy your holiday!

    • treadlemusic says:

      I/we are doing a bit of walking but when the “dust settles” the scales will be tipping in favor(?) of the calories consumed!! BUT…..vacation calories are not the same as others….are they???? They disappear when the vacation is done…..right????…..right????? Puh–leeze!!!!!! LOL!

  8. daniellajoe says:

    WOW!! just like my type of scenery, enjoy every moment…breakfast looks and sounds delicioso 🙂

  9. ivoryspring says:

    The fried pillow is yummy-licious! Safe travels — looking forward to many travel pictures.

  10. I love Navajo Tacos. I used to work in the four corners area. A woman across the street from my school would be out there at lunch with Navajo tacos every day. So, I got one regularly for lunch (and I was skinny then!). But it was not taco meat. In theirs, it was usually mutton, as I recall. It was good, though. I love fry bread!

    • treadlemusic says:

      The fry bread is “to die for”! Usually we stop by for lunch and have the taco version but for breakfast a fry bread with cream cheese frosting is a must!!! Note……we were all skinny then!! LOL!

Leave a Reply

