Priorities……..

A couple of weeks ago, when in South Dakota and going through a few(!) quilt shops, I came up with an idea for a quilt to send to OKC for the “Moore Love” quilt collection. (You can read more about that need here.) I wanted to do something that would be special, a bit lighthearted and, practically, could be achieved by the deadline. Something that could be worked in to a whole cloth quilt would be the answer. So, the hunt was on. We were in and out of several antique shops,  when I had the thought that a vintage tablecloth would provide an excellent starting point. Maybe, just add some borders, fun quilting and done! This is what resulted:

002

The tablecloth center needed only one border to make it a nice size (approx. 58”x76”). It’s a pleasant print that will adapt very nicely to some fill stitches in the white area and I’m not sure what in the flowered areas. The backing is a fun polka dot (it’s cotton not Minky) that will go nicely:

004006

Sandwich and pin baste tomorrow and then on to the real fun!  

Seems that quilting has taken a bit of a back-seat  to life of late. The RV campground is finally getting useable. The rain continues but we will be able to spend some time there later this week.

Birthdays are special and are definitely worth celebrating (for as long as one can stretch them out,eh, Carol??!!!!). Tuesday was lunch at a cute restaurant in nearby Caledonia, MN, called The Farmhouse Eatery. They are known for their raspberry vinaigrette which is served on a salad of baby greens and spinach  with strawberries or raspberries and walnuts. Yum! And here is the photo to go along with the above review…….

001

From left to right: Kathy, Carol (birthday girl) and myself. And today we repeated the lunch celebration with the addition of 3 more “quilty” friends! You’re “on a roll”, Carol!!

Until next time, when I hope to show some progress on the above quilt………..

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

35 Responses to Priorities……..

  1. ruthiequilts says:

    It looks like you had a blast! That salad sounds like my fave at Wendy’s (of all places!) LOL! I love the quilt! Perfect!

  2. Beth Ann says:

    Oh that quilt is going to be fabulous!!!! What a great idea to use a tablecloth!!! The salad sounds divine. Why is it that when I try to recreate something like that salad at home it just never quite comes close to the real thing???? The time with friends must have been wonderful. Priorities should include time with friends—-hope the campsite dries up—-we still have very soggy weather. The sun came out a bit later today but I am afraid the rain is coming back. Boo.

    • treadlemusic says:

      We are all going to sprout gills!!!!! You are so right about trying to duplicate restaurant fare! I just know they use the same ingredients I have!!! They sell the dressing for $5 for a full pint!!! That’s just reasonable enough to make the investment!!! Definitely will post progress on the quilt. The deadline is the end of the month and I have a client’s quilt to do next week. No time to sit around! Hugs……

      • Beth Ann says:

        Oh yea—it is reasonable !!! I would be snatching that up!!! So you do quilts for other people?????? The wheels are turning….I have a couple quilt tops from my husband’s grandmother that need done……my sister in law has them and has thought she would find someone to do them but never has. Interested in some work?????

        • treadlemusic says:

          I would consider it a privilege to do those for you! I started doing quilts for others a while back. I so love it!! We could even arrange to meet up half-way!!???? I am definitely excited about the prospect!!!!! Hugs……..

          • Beth Ann says:

            Oh my goodness!!! You have MADE MY DAY! Heck—my year!!! My life!!! 🙂 My sister in law has them and I will be seeing her in a couple of weeks so I will give her the notice to dig them out and once I have them in my grubby little paws I will get back with you. Of course I am willing to pay the going rate and would consider it such a privilege to have you work on them!!!! THank you thank you thank you!!!!

  3. Gloria Dotzler says:

    Love, love your use of the tablecloth, someone is going to be very lucky to get that one. You have an awesome creative way of thinking when putting quilts together.
    And yes, girlfriends are very important in our lives.The Farmhouse Eatery looks like fun.

    • treadlemusic says:

      It is a super place and the daily specials appeal to gals and guys (there’s usually a sandwich/panini that they would like. That day it was a wonderful roast beef panini with horseradish sourcream…yum!). The tablecloth is in pristine condition, too.Hope to show some progress next week! Glad you stopped by……..

  4. mtetar says:

    Great mix and blend for the salad. I love your quilt idea, and it is going to be another beauty. Great pic of you all. It is great to have you back with more great wonderful ideas. Happy Quilting! Be Blessed, Mtetar

    • treadlemusic says:

      You are so sweet to say that! I’m not sure why I feel like I’m juggling so many balls in the air at the moment!! My “to do” list for tomorrow is packed. After this weekend (Grandson’s graduation party/open house) things should(?) slow a bit…..except for my quilting!! LOl!

      • mtetar says:

        I know that’s a fact your quilting is #1 on your To Do List. Enjoy and celebrate all. I look forward to some leftovers, lol. Be Blessed, Mtetar

  5. Karen says:

    you have been busy – hope the campground dries out for you soon.

  6. Jeanne says:

    Using the vintage tablecloth is a great idea! I need to remember that! Hope your life soon slows down a bit so you can take some time for you.

    • treadlemusic says:

      It’s funny, ‘cuz I find myself saying “When (insert next season) comes, then I will……”. Hmmmmm. Maybe one of these days I’ll figure it out: it really doesn’t “slow down” when I’m having this much ‘fun’! LOL!

  7. Great quilt idea! Happy birthday to Carol – lovely celebrations.

  8. First off, happy birthday to your friend Carol. The Farmhouse Eatery sounds like my kind of place. I noticed the dinnerware, so lovely, and the salad sounds delish.

    You are always just the most thoughtful with your quilt creations and gifting. You have such a giving heart; that we should all emulate your giving spirit and passion.

    Enjoy the outdoors this weekend.

    • treadlemusic says:

      I am looking forward to tomorrow’s break in this soupy weather! Your kind words are very touching to me, dear Friend. There are so many with “good hearts” around (I am thinking of your gentle spirit!!) and are finding the blog world a great way to network needs to be filled. Love it!!!!

  9. candy says:

    Lucky Carol! she get s to just keep on cilebrating! My brother celebrates his wife’s birthday for a week. A present every day and out for dinner….what a life!!

    Love the quilt1 Can’t wait to see it finished.

  10. KrisR says:

    Great idea and great donation. Restaurant looks good too……hmmmm…..about 2 hours from the 35 turn-off to MSP…..maybe a detour will be in order this fall!

  11. Valerie says:

    Happy birthday to Carol and this quilt is going to be great! What a thoughtful idea, I’m sure it will be treasured. 😉

    • treadlemusic says:

      I hope so. I was trying to think of something that would be up-lifting/happy, possibly with a ‘hopeful’ theme. I tried to put myself in their place (not really possible)…..what would be meaningful to me in that situation. Hope to start it later this week.

  12. Great idea! I am interested to see what you do with that tablecloth!

  13. ivoryspring says:

    What a clever idea! And you beautiful ladies look so happy!!!

Leave a Reply

