“Happiness” and Sunshine………

Two of my favorite things. The second has been a rare occurrence of late(!) but together, well, it’s an opportunity to get out and take some photos!!! “Happiness” is the name I decided to give this quilt that I quilted for a client/friend. The color combo and piecing just screams fun, summertime, picnics, outdoors and sunshiny “Happiness”—don’t you think?? So, this is what’s “on the line” today………

001 

003004005

007

The backing is a flannel from Maywood Studio’s ‘Shadow Play” line. I quilted it with Isacord thread in a color they call “Palomino”. Love that thread! The stitching pattern is a ‘loopy flower’. Definitely a “gypsy” flavor to this one! One more photo……

002

I think summer may have arrived! Til next time…….

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

41 Responses to “Happiness” and Sunshine………

  1. Karen says:

    love these colors

  2. Gypsy is precisely the right word for this fabric and quilt design. I just love it. Makes me want to join the caravan and park by the river and stoke the fire. Beautiful, beautiful, makes me happy quilt.

  3. Pat says:

    That quilt just reads pure joy! Love it!

  4. Michele says:

    Very nice. Summer has arrived in all but the actual weather.

    • treadlemusic says:

      Thank you! Today is summer: 80+ with 100% humidity and storms in the forecast! Might even have to give a though to checking the A/C!!!!!! Never though I would be saying that!! LOL! Hugs…….

  5. Beth Ann says:

    I absolutely LOVE this quilt!!! And your name is so accurate!!! What a beautiful piece of art this is!!! It is making me very anxious to see the quilt tops that my sister in law has ! 🙂

  6. candy says:

    You’re right….this is a very happy quilt! Love it! I hope you’re also right about summer. It’s been a long time coming!

  7. mtetar says:

    Oh wow as always you did it WELL. The prints are very nice making it soooo special. Be A Blessing because you’re Blessed. Mtetar

  8. This is so pretty and yes, very happy! Fingers crossed for days of sunshine…

  9. Malini says:

    This looks bright and happy. Awesome job! The flannel backing really shows off your beautiful quilting1

  10. Gloria Dotzler says:

    I would love to call it “State Fair” because it’s a WINNER!!

  11. It’s another beauty! Avis 🙂

  12. Fun quilt!! Love your blue, blue summer sky.

  13. ivoryspring says:

    Love love love this quilt – so summery and HAPPY!
    I haven’t forgotten about answering the email you sent – hope to get to it tonight. Been burning the midnight oil!
    Love to you, SSAB!

  14. I agree that the quilt just screams summer. How fun!

  15. Teje says:

    Hi Doreen! There they are – happiness and sunshine … and a little bit gypsy – all that one beautiful quilt needs! I love it! Happy and sunny day to you my friend! x Teje

  16. witchylin says:

    A true summer quilt. Takes you back to the days of real summers, funfairs and polka dot dresses. There my age is showing. Just love the choice of colours and the gorgeous quilting pattern that shows so well on the back. Another great job Doreen. 🙂

    • treadlemusic says:

      Ah, Lin! We are “on the wave length”! When I saw the quilt it brought back thoughts of “peasant dresses”, etc!!! I’ll settle for the term “Retro”!!! LOL! Blessings…….

  17. KrisR says:

    I do like working with Isacord thread. Quilt and quilting are great and just SING of summer.

  18. daniellajoe says:

    Summer is here!!!! And your quilt is perfect for summer 🙂

    • treadlemusic says:

      Summer is here and the recipient of this quilt will think it perfect. This was stitched for a friend who had made it as an anniversary gift. I really enjoy quilting on other’s quilts!

  19. Lovely and cheerful – it’s wonderful!

Leave a Reply

