What appears to be…..really isn’t!!!!

I have been meaning to share the incredible artistry of this gentleman for a long time and his recent ‘finish’ prompted me to get to it!!! Fraser Smith is his name and his art is sculpture. He works in wood. So simple, or so one would think……..until actually viewing his final works, that is! Now, as you view this, keep in mind that this is a chunk of wood…..it is not fabric!

1016178_10151512511243691_295301170_n

A close-up……….

32604_10151428958118691_1553965730_n

Pretty amazing, yes?? To find more of this ‘eye candy’, go here (his Fb page) and here (his web site). The amazement will continue and you will find that you will have to remind yourself what medium is actually the foundation for all his pieces. Now, on to the day………..Blessings……..

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to What appears to be…..really isn’t!!!!

  1. Wow. I would not have believed these to be made of wood if you had not told me so. I wonder how he came to create quilts from wood rather than fabric?

    • treadlemusic says:

      If you have the time to check out his site and go to some of his other projects (the Wilson basketball) you will see he isn’t limited to reproducing fabric items. I think he sees it as a challenge to take wood and transform it into something that’s viewed as an “opposite”.

  2. Linda says:

    I follow him on Facebook. If there ever was a God-given gift, he has one! His work is so amazing.

  3. mtetar says:

    Oh wow Wood? The uniqueness, craftsmanship, his patience, and most definitely his love for his talent is truly an amazing gift from above. Thank you for sharing. Be A Blessing because you’re Blessed. Mtetar

  4. Teje says:

    What??? I have to see the links before I believe! x Teje

  5. Teje says:

    Have to believe – just amazing! I would love to see those quilts! Leather jackets I understand and saw the video but those quilts – wow! I guess his wife is a quilter! x Teje

  6. How can that possibly be wood?? It has to be fabric!!

  7. ruthiequilts says:

    I just love his work!!! I’ve seen it on FB, and it’s amazing!!!

  8. Jeanne says:

    Wow is an understatement! I’m on my way to his web page. Thanks!

  9. Wow! That is amazing! I am showing this to my husband. Does he paint the wood or stain it? I have to check this out.

  10. Absolutely amazing. I poured over his website too. Thanks for sharing!

    I always admire master crafters of any sort. Personally I will never have the patience to BE one, but I sure am a master of admiring them.

    • treadlemusic says:

      I believe we each are given different talents and achievable skill levels, if we work at it and practice. The mistake that is made is that we use others as “yardsticks” rather than celebrating our own progress. Goals are wonderful and needed but not to overwhelm us but serve as motivation to reach higher/beyond the current level. I don’t have the patience for many things (and won’t become super proficient because of that) but, for those things I have a passion for, I will repeat the process many many times!!! Hugs………

  11. Pingback: October PSQ Charm 2013 Swap Closed, Next Swap March 2014! | The Curious Quilter

Leave a Reply

