2 of 3 Completed!

Quilting projects, that is! These are being done for a friend of mine who is a teacher during 9 months of the year and a “mega piecer” during her summer months off!! It’s not that there isn’t any sewing/piecing done during the school year it’s just that she switches into “hyper” gear and blasts through the summer months!!! A couple of weeks ago she brought me 2 smaller quilts and a table runner she wanted me to quilt and Monday was the day to get a move on for me! Now, you know me………there absolutely MUST be feathers somewhere in these….right??? OK, the runner was first and that’s where “they” landed! LOL! 028  The batiks were wonderful to stitch and the Aurifil Mako thread was so smooth. 021024025029022   The next little quilt was a strip pieced one made from a jelly roll. Both the top and backing were flannel (just the thing to be working on when it’s 93F outside…….I’m thankful for central A/C…for sure!!!). I used Isacord thread in the color “Barewood” and stitched fun/funky flowers and leaves which echoed the fabric prints.018014019016017 

The last 2 are not the best for color but you can get an idea of the stitching. The sun was beating in the window and, well, the pictures tell the story. Anyhow, one more quilt to go….hmmmm, what shall I stitch? Follow-up very soon!!

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

57 Responses to 2 of 3 Completed!

  1. mtetar says:

    I’m believing this is surely going to be another amazing finished project for a special friend. Looking great as is. Continue to Be A Blessing because you’re Blessed. Mtetar

  2. Karen says:

    Very pretty Doreen! Love the circle spines on the feathers too. You are so talented 🙂

  3. Beth Ann says:

    Oh wow—those are lovely! I am really loving the table runners…..think I could piece one together????? I may have to investigate……….

  4. Jackie says:

    I’m not a quilter but even I can see that this is a work of art….beatutiful!

    • treadlemusic says:

      I consider your comment with such appreciation! I so enjoy color and design in textiles and hope to convey its beauty….and fun….qualities to the viewer (kinda like a painting, I think). I am thrilled you stopped by and thank you so much for your eval! Have a marvelous day!!! Hugs……

  5. Always the artist’s eye in your work, Doreen. I still continue to be amazed by the volume of your quilting projects and the beauty, oh, the beauty.

  6. ivoryspring says:

    Awesome, awesome feathers!!!!!

  7. Your quilting is just beautiful! Both projects are lovely.

  8. ruthiequilts says:

    Your quilting is superb!!! They are both gorgeous! XOXO

  9. Aren’t air conditioners wonderful inventions?! Great quilting.

    • treadlemusic says:

      We went w/o for many years in this 100+ year old farm house…..how did we do it!!?? I know, we were young!! LOL! A/C is a gift and blessing from God…for sure! Being able to get a good nite’s sleep AND actually enjoy activities during the day….awesome!!! Thank you for the kind ‘kudos’….hugs…….

  10. Beautiful quilting! Your feathers are just awesome and love the feather & leaves design too.

  11. OMO, your feathers are just stunning. I love them. I adore feathers!

    • treadlemusic says:

      Aren’t they the absolute BEST!!!!???? My inspiration has been Wendy Sheppard at her Ivory Spring blog. Her technique just ‘clicks’ with my brain wiring!! LOL! I thank you for your encouraging words….they always mean so much to me!! Blessings…..

  12. JoAnn says:

    These are beautiful. Love your work.

  13. witchylin says:

    Really beautiful work, Doreen. I am just about to start quilting two tops and I quite fancy something on the lines of feathers. However as it will have to be FMQ it may just end up with the usual stipple. One is a gift so I could try to experiment on the one for me. Your work is always so well done and you give us all ideas.

    • treadlemusic says:

      Lin, Check out my “paisley” stitch motif. When complete it resembles feathers and it’s really quite easy/forgiving. Try sketching it first. It’s kinda like echoing teardrops repeated very closely. They can be large to give a more open feel or small and be quite dense. Any questions….let me know. Hugs, D

  14. Sharlene Klegstad says:

    Any idea where the tablerunner pattern is from? I love it & your quilting!

  15. carolyn montgomery says:

    i would love to know where the table runner pattern is from, i have a stash of batiks calling my name.

  16. Marcy says:

    I would love that pattern. I have so many batik scraps!

  17. Karen says:

    The runner is am amazing … color combos are great.

  18. Joanne Read says:

    I so hope you get the name of the pattern. Everyone seems to want it. It is beautifully done, and I love the colors, and the quilting!!

  19. Louise Chavis says:

    Those colors are surely a harbinger of cooler temps and colorful leaves of fall. This is absolutely my colors, batiks are great but in the hands of an artist such as yourself they absolutely sing out their color story in all their glory! Beautiful job!

  20. Debbie says:

    Beautiful, I would love to know where to get the pattern as well.

  21. Carol Fraley says:

    Have you gotten the name of the table runner pattern yet???? 🙂

  22. Rhonda says:

    Those feathers are looking awesome, Doreen!

  23. debby says:

    I LOVE your extra-curvy feathers!

  24. Love working in batiks. Loved the colors here.

    • treadlemusic says:

      I agree….batiks are so wonderfully rich in color and visual texture and interest. A sharp needle is a ‘must’, I’ve learned, though, as the thread density is so much tighter but the stability is awesome!!! Thanks so much for coming by for a visit and taking a moment to leave a few words. Please, stop by again!!! Hugs……………….

Leave a Reply

