Quilting next, but first……..

These little cherry hand pies from the tart cherries we picked from one of our cherry trees. Yum!……..001Initially, I was going to make these cherry almond scones (recipe found here) but got a bit sidetracked! Well, there will be other opportunities for such treats…..maybe substituting raspberries, hmmmmm? We picked the first few quarts yesterday. Ahhhhh, summer’s bounty!

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Quilting next, but first……..

  1. Beth Ann says:

    Oh Doreen…they look so yummy!!!! Perfect with a cup of piping hot tea!!! Lovely!

  2. mtetar says:

    Looks yum, yum kindly send some right on over. Thanks for sharing Doreen. Be A Blessing because you’re Blessed. Mtetar

    • treadlemusic says:

      Oh, Mary, I think they would lose something in the traveling that would take place!!! It would be fun, though!! Hugs to you, dear Friend!!!!!

      • mtetar says:

        The box will enjoy the filling in the pie/tarts. I’m having fun with those fabrics posted a couple of projects, and working on Four Floor Quilts for My Ministry Projects. I’ll give them to Childcare Providers. Thanks again for being a Blessing. Mtetar

  3. Jeanne says:

    Oh, they look delicious! It is a more mild day here – in the 70s! I could do some baking but I don’t have anything from a garden or fruit trees calling me so I’ll just get straight to the quilting! Probably a good thing because I don’t have much will power with great looking treats!

    • treadlemusic says:

      I do know what you mean….for lunch, well–1 little pie and a banana. And 1 for dessert tonight. Gave several to grand daughter and hubby (thankfully, cuz all those beauties are definitely dangerous!!).

  4. Why do I still think that cherries cannot be grown in Minnesota? These look yummy. Would these work with wild black raspberries. We have a whole lot ripening now in our backyard. The challenge is to pick them b/n the mosquitoes and thorns.

    • treadlemusic says:

      These little pies would work with any fruit (as long as enough thickening is used. I really thickened the cherries more than for a pie!). I think I’ll try the red raspberries next. This was a super quick/impulsive idea so I used Pillsbury pie crusts (refrigerated). Easy peasy!

  5. ivoryspring says:

    I am at your doorstep right now — if you look out the window! May I come in? I hope you have leftovers!

  6. Yum! Just starting my brekky and these look so delicious. And raspberries……swoon!

  7. Michele says:

    Yum! I hope there was vanilla ice cream to go with them.

  8. daniellajoe says:

    I can’t find the like button ….

Leave a Reply

