Part 2……ANNUAL SHOP HOP……

As was promised, we continue are 4 shop “shop hop”. The next stop is “Eagle Creek Quilt Shop” in Shakopee (MN). This shop is located in a historic railroad depot and is totally charming! S.G. Shop Hop 7-15-13 015

S.G. Shop Hop 7-15-13 014S.G. Shop Hop 7-15-13 016S.G. Shop Hop 7-15-13 013

The floor displays, although presenting unique challenges due to the “footprint” of the structure, were many and inspiring. Entering their door put you in the midst of many opportunities for exciting new projects. Please, follow along as we explore………S.G. Shop Hop 7-15-13 018S.G. Shop Hop 7-15-13 021S.G. Shop Hop 7-15-13 024

S.G. Shop Hop 7-15-13 019S.G. Shop Hop 7-15-13 020S.G. Shop Hop 7-15-13 022S.G. Shop Hop 7-15-13 023S.G. Shop Hop 7-15-13 025S.G. Shop Hop 7-15-13 026

The last two photos are of a quilt draped over a door that had used feathers/pebbles in the negative spaces and really looked like an entry  in my “I must remember that” file, hence the picture! And this is evidence of purchases made at this location……..S.G. Shop Hop 7-15-13 043  These will find a future ‘home’ in the next grandson’s graduation quilt in the Spring (the designated project for after the first of the year!).

And finally, last but certainly not least, is the Calico Hutch Quilt Shop in Hayward (MN). This shop has been the ultimate fave of mine since first visiting many years ago. Not only is the fabric/notions selection incredible but the gals go out of their way to make you feel ‘at home’…..in this case, the afternoon break/refreshment was an ice cream sundae bar with all the toppings….THANK YOU!!!!!!!! The shop’s location is “in the middle of no where”(!!!) but the destination of shoppers, both individually and by the bus loads. Onward……….S.G. Shop Hop 7-15-13 037  Upon entering, you are greeted by this….. S.G. Shop Hop 7-15-13 027And this:S.G. Shop Hop 7-15-13 028

And this:S.G. Shop Hop 7-15-13 030And….S.G. Shop Hop 7-15-13 029 

Well, let’s just continue……….S.G. Shop Hop 7-15-13 033S.G. Shop Hop 7-15-13 035S.G. Shop Hop 7-15-13 031S.G. Shop Hop 7-15-13 032  And the little additions to my growing number of purchases were these:S.G. Shop Hop 7-15-13 041

These 2 fabric pieces complete (I think) what will be needed for the grad’s project.

It was a great day, and one that was very well planned resulting in relaxing travels and shop visits.

***Watch for an upcoming give-away to celebrate my recent 50th “Follower” level!!! Yippee!!! I am overwhelmed by the kindness of all who have chosen to join me in this fabulous quilty journey!!! Hugs and blessings to you all……..

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Part 2……ANNUAL SHOP HOP……

  1. Michele says:

    Oh they both look like great places to shop. I love the idea of a quilt shop in an old train depot. If I ever open another business I might have to hunt out a location like that.

    • treadlemusic says:

      The gals were set to open in a different location but a fire demolished the building and this depot had been purchased by someone (to preserve it) and became available. Perfect timing!!!

  2. Your photos certainly showcase the fun and the offerings. You know, I had no idea Minnesota had so many quilt shops, especially in small towns.

  3. Karen says:

    such fun! some of those shops will have to go on my list of “if I ever get in that area”

    • treadlemusic says:

      I know what you mean. It’s hard to ‘carve out’ quilt shop time when visiting with family is involved or other travel purposes. This annual bus trip is so looked forward to each year and is usually a “mystery” trip but this year we were told the names of the shops to help plan purchases.

  4. Jeanne says:

    I think we visited the Calico Hutch a number of years ago. At that time, I think it was in a building that used to be her husband’s Bobcat business. I fell in love with the shop and have always wanted to go back. Thanks for sharing your visit!

    • treadlemusic says:

      More rooms have been added (going toward the back) and the front porch area was added this spring. Until the facade was changed, it actually looked like part of the coop/elevator located behind their shop!!!!!

  5. Barb N says:

    Your Shop Hop sounds like a blast. If you managed to stay within your budget, I’ll give you a High Five! Me? I’d have to bring cash and leave my credit card back home . . . .

    • treadlemusic says:

      Your comment strikes a definitely familiar ‘chord’ with me!!! Usually I use a debit card on such treks and DH manages to “track” my progress by the bank debits that immediately appear on my account!! It is a running joke with us! But this time I had all cash (and, yes, some left over!!!!!) so he was “in the dark”! LOL! It’s all in good natured fun, of course. Thanks so much for stopping by and your great comment!! Hugs, Doreen

  6. jennyklyon says:

    This looks like so much fun!! I don’t know what happened-I thought you just weren’t posting but somehow I dropped off of your follow list. I think I’ve been “gone” for a few months. It’s great to hear from you this morning!

    • treadlemusic says:

      Hey, Jenny! I knew I hadn’t “heard” from you in way too long but figured you had ‘life stuff’ that came up!!! So thrilled that “you’re back” (even though you really weren’t gone!!). Hugs, Doreen

  7. Jackie says:

    I’m always in awe the the beautiful quilts (works of art) that ladies like you put together. I LOVE the fabrics you have picked for your grandsons quilt….lucky boy 🙂

  8. candy says:

    Looks like you had a great time! Love the green circular fabric.

  9. Beth Ann says:

    Wow—those are fabulous shops!!! I am so in love with all things fabric these days….and I think I know who is to blame for that!!! Time to get that new sewing machine out and get it going!!! 🙂

  10. Looks like 2 lovely quilt shops that I’ll need to add to my checkout someday list! I love it when old buildings find new life…

    • treadlemusic says:

      I do, also. And it’s so neat to see how the challenges of such a building are creatively overcome (interior shelving/display). Each of the shops visited were in re-purposed buildings and 2 (Fourth & Main and Eagle Creek)in buildings of historic note.

  11. ruthiequilts says:

    There’s nothing like a good shop hop! It looks like you had a great time!

  12. What great shops….and such a fun day!!

  13. Sartenada says:

    Very interesting post full loaded with lovely photos.

  14. Those look like great shops. I saw some very interesting quilt samples, too!

Leave a Reply

