A Celebration!!!! Woohoo!!!!…..

As I promised, I am having a little give-away to celebrate my 50th blog ‘Follower’. While on the recent shop hop bus trip, I was at the “Calico Hutch Quilt Shop” in Hayward, MN. There is always something clever and new (to me/us) technique or pattern ready to be demonstrated and this time was no exception. A clever ‘pinwheel’ demo resulted in several sizes of 3-D pinwheel blocks. Those gals are amazing! My eyes spotted this little kit for a 6”x 14” runner or small hanging and I just have to share it with all of you!! Really, I must! Here is a photo of the variations that they had/have available: S.G. Shop Hop 7-15-13 036  The kit contains everything needed to complete the little project, except the 1/3 yd. backing (yes, the binding fabric is in there, too!!). Here’s a glimpse of what’s included……….

001003004

So, to be entered, just leave a comment sharing what plans you have (if any) for the rest of the summer (or, for my friends “Down-under”…. the winter season). If you are a “no-reply” commenter, please, include a way to contact you. This is open to all my bloggy friends wherever you reside on this globe. The drawing will be on this next Monday (July 22nd). Til next time…..My grateful thanks to all of you for making this quilty journey a very special and incredibly rewarding endeavor! Hugs and blessings to you all……..

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

38 Responses to A Celebration!!!! Woohoo!!!!…..

  1. Marsha Parris says:

    I am finishing up two baby quilts, two wedding quilts, a cancer quilt and moving…very over whelmed. Love summer, I am a teacher…

    • treadlemusic says:

      Oh, my!!!! And I thought I was busy!!!!! You definitely get the “Over achiever” award for today!!!!!! So glad you took the time to stop by AND leave a sweet comment…Hugs, Doreen

  2. Those pinwheel runners are stunningly creative. Oh, winning that runner would be wonderful. But does it come finished? Ha. You know I am not a quilter, but a great admirer. Congrats on acquiring your 50th follower.

    I, of course, have no quilting plans for the summer, only writing and photographer and a bridal shower and wedding prep (for my eldest) thrown in and family reunions and all that fun stuff which makes summer just a fantastic time here in Minnesota.

    • treadlemusic says:

      Summer is my fave season….for sure! I know yours is unusually busy this year….pleasantly so. The days are passing way too quickly, I’m afraid…….hugs….

  3. Jackie says:

    This would be a fun little winter project for me, In my lifetime I have only quilted once…a small table runner that I put together in a community ed class. As for me, we are currently on vacation with my kids and grands. the rest of the summer will be the normal, putzing around the house, upkeep and a few shorter roadtrips for fun. Congrats on your 50th follower…whoop whoop

    • treadlemusic says:

      The little kit is oh so easy and the pinwheel technique can be modified to make a much bigger block….so cute! Sounds like an awesome summer schedule to me!! Hugs…..

  4. Karen says:

    that looks cute – we are at home this summer – DH working on the house and me on my quilts – we will have our grandson with us off and on over the next two weeks (sharing with the other Grandparents)

  5. Dear Doreen,
    The past couple of months I have been really busy with “Quilts for Boston” and this past couple of weeks focusing on quilting my quilts for the Lowell quilt festival. So, I have been making many quilts tops and quilting lots of quilts lately.
    Planning to make 3 more quilts before the schools starts in September.

    Yes, its been really great knowing you too. Love this quilty world.
    Happy Quilting!
    Malini

    • treadlemusic says:

      Wow!!!! That is quite the schedule!! I think it beats mine by a long shot!!! Exciting, though! It is a wonderful ‘quitly’/bloggy world and such an opportunity for blessing others with warm quilty hugs. I’m so glad you stopped by………..

  6. Carolyn Montgomery says:

    i am finishing a baby quilt, then a quilt of valor for a veteren of iraq, then a wall hanging for my kitchen and then the table runner “autumn breeze you quilted and showed on your website. would love to add a pinwheel table runner to that list. thanks for sharing. cm

    • treadlemusic says:

      WOW!!! That’s quite the line-up! But so much fun, hmmm? I’m going to wait til fall to do the ‘autumn breeze’ runner for myself. I really fell in love with that one, too. Your name is “in the hat”, my dear!!!!!! Uber hugs……..

  7. Barb N says:

    No vacation for us this summer – we’re dogsitting our son’s dog, which is actually quite a hoot! Such a character. And with such hot weather, I’m getting lots of quilting done. Fun, fun!

  8. Linda says:

    What a lovely giveaway. Well, since I’m such a wuss, I’ll be looking to stay cool a lot of the time. It’s not temperature hot, but the humidity is miserable! It makes me look forward to going to work in my air conditioned office every day. I’m working on a variation of a Moda Bake Shop pattern using Pezzy Print charm pack and Kona solid charm packs. Not sure where it will be going, but I’m enjoying thinking about the possibilities. 😎

    • treadlemusic says:

      Maybe just smart…this heat is ugly, for sure! It’s always fun to dream about all the possible quilty projects ‘out there’, hmmm? So glad you stopped by!! Hugs…..

  9. Pat says:

    Congratulations on this milestone my friend! The rest of this summer? Well, we’re coming into the harvest season, so lots of canning of tomatoes, salsa – both red and green, applesauce, and lots of jams: blackberry, raspberry, strawberry, tomato-peach marmalade, and DH’s new favorite peach-amaretto-pecan marmalade! We have a daughter’s wedding in August and a new grandbaby due in September, so another baby quilt to make! Probably not much blogging for awhile but busy we are!

    • treadlemusic says:

      Wow! I feel lazy compared to that schedule!!! That marmalade sounds awesome!!!! Is there a share-able recipe????? Peach, almond flavor and pecans are a “match made in heaven”!!!! Yum!!!

  10. Mary C says:

    I am going to start a few small (baby) quilts and not work on anything big for awhile. I need to jump start my creative quilting juices and am hoping a few small projects will allow me to be somewhat creative without a huge time committment. Congratulations on your 50th follower; I just love reading your posts!

    • treadlemusic says:

      Oh, your kind words just warm my heart!!! Thank you so much. It’s been more fun than I ever dreamed or imagined. Small projects are so nice……the ‘finish’ comes so quickly!!! Positive reinforcement….always a ‘good thing’!!!! Hugs……

  11. Linda Broere says:

    After I return from this visit with my sister in British Columbia,(to Ontario), I NEED to catch up on my daily rides (motorcycle). I have a full-size landscape to finish, and two new pieces in my head, and sketchbook…can’t wait. I like catching up on Treadlemusic, too.

    • treadlemusic says:

      Hey, thanks Linda! I’m afraid I haven’t done much on the bike so far this summer. I always need to be carrying so much ‘stuff’ that the car has been needed…ugh! Catching up seems to be an ongoing challenge for me (and I don’t have any real excuse!!). Blessings……..

  12. Well done on your 50 followers!! Looking forward to a weekend away with “the girls” and hoping to get some hand quilting done…..haven’t done any yet this Winter!! Must remedy that! Thanks for the give away chance. x

    • treadlemusic says:

      You are very welcome. Enjoy your weekend. We’re off to the RV at the river. Should be a lot cooler (mid 80’s F) instead of what it is right now (97F + high humidity!). Hugs…….

  13. Jeanne says:

    50 followers – way to go! I’m looking forward to a quilting retreat next week. Then we’ll be getting ready and heading to Colorado and Wyoming. Guess that about wraps up the rest of my summer. I’m making great progress on UFOs so I’ll be ready to find some new projects on our trip! Maybe we’ll stop at the Calico Hutch!

  14. Dian says:

    So happy I “happened” to find your blog. As a neighbor of sorts on the eastside of the big river, I find your information relevant and enjoyable.I certainly can relate to the struggles of the floods that have occurred too frequently since August 2007. Loved hearing about your shop hop; it is something I would love to do sometime. We too live on a farm and summer is busy with harvesting on the farm and in the garden. I do want to put in a fall garden too but the heat and dryness has prevented that from happening. We are busy getting our first granddaughter ready for school and spending each day playing and working with her and her two sisters, ages 1, 3, and 5. It is so beautiful along the river that our trips out of state are reserved for wintertime.

    • treadlemusic says:

      Hey, Dian!!! So glad you ‘happened’ upon my little bloggy home!! And I do hope you pop in again!!! I/we have less than a minimum garden this year for the first time ever. The Spring was such a challenge that we just had the perennials and garlic. Maybe next year..hmmm? Blessings, Doreen

  15. Karen says:

    Doreen you are sweet! Tomorrow we start a new phase of summer with the 7 of 8 grand kids coming to the lake! Swimming romping, boating, tubing and just sharing… We can’t wait. Somehow, before they arrive tomorrow, I need to finish 4 window curtain panels for our oldest grandson Lucas. I’ll have to make a blog post and show you the draw it yourself panels he made because we could not find Mario fabric. Thanks for the great giveaway!
    Hugs,
    Karen

    • treadlemusic says:

      Oh my! That certainly sounds like a lively and FUN time!! Look forward to seeing the curtain panels and the original artwork!! Have a great weekend and am so glad you’re “in the drawing”!!!! Hugs……..

  16. Jofrid says:

    I have been to the US for the first time in June. I loved it. We will probably stay at home or in our cabin for the rest of the vacation. Have a nice summer. By the way, your handquilted hearts looks lovely. Hugs

    • treadlemusic says:

      Thanks so much, Jofrid!! I’m so glad you stopped by and, now, you’re entered in Monday’s drawing!!!! Your plans sound super nice! Where in the US did you visit?? It truly is a grand land!! Hugs, Doreen

  17. Beth Ann says:

    What a fabulous giveaway! I love giveaways and even if I don’t quilt (yet) I know many who do!!! 🙂 I would share I promise. As for plans for the rest of the summer—-I hope to stay home a bit and relax from all my running around but i bet, I just bet, I will be on the go again. But plenty of reading and card making is planned for August!

  18. Thread crazy says:

    Wow; what a cute table runner. IAfter working for many years in quilt shop, one of my favorite fabrics quickly became Kansas Troubles! Oh, and did I say and I love making pinwheels. What a nice gesture by your for your 50th follower.!

    My plans for the remainder of this summer are many; at the top of my list is finishing a queen size quilt for my grandson’s wedding, finishing a Texas Star quilt, working on a special quilt for my cousin and at least one donantion quilt. In the middle of all this, we are looking forward to spending some quality time with grandchildren before school starts and keeping my garden alive till fall. Living here in Texas the summers can get very warm!

  19. So cute! I’m just hoping we have summer weather for the next 6 weeks at least… I feel like we missed most of June this year. I’d love to have ripe tomatoes from my pots!

    • treadlemusic says:

      It has truly been a challenging season for sure. We have just gone with the perennials in the garden and not even 1 tomato plant…….a first for us!!!!! The best to you……..

Leave a Reply

