This past weekend………

Was a planned “at the river” time. Leave (on the bikes)  Friday, overnight there that night, ride back to Houston (MN)….only 20+ miles…..and go on an annual ride with several other bikes and, then, back to the river til Sunday afternoon. Sounds busy but not really unusual…right?? The forecast was pretty definite that Saturday night was going to be rain continuing through Sunday, so the plan became: after the ride, we would come home, shower and head back to the river—-in the car. Let’s chronicle how this proceeded………First, some pretty nice (if I do say so myself!) bike photos at the campground Saturday morning………001004   Those two ‘shots’ were my faves. Next, came the ride to Money Creek Campground (MN) and the starting point for the “Pearl Fun Run” memorial motorcycle ride. Pearl (hubby, Don) used to live just down the ridge road from us and rode with our weekly informal Saturday evening “ice cream run” bunch. She passed away some years ago and hubby, along with their children, began this annual ride in her honor. A photo of Don and Pearl ………. 014

013  The group consisted of 35 bikes this year…..nice sized group!007   The ‘run’ is a 125 mile casual ride through some of the most beautiful scenery the Lord ever created! (And a photo, or two, to prove it!!)025 024  And one overlooking the Mississippi River from a stop along Apple Blossom Drive just outside LaCrescent, MN.026  Following the ride there is a potluck supper and band on in to the evening. We chose to bypass this and head for home,  shower and grab the car…..and I needed to water a few of my plants (we’re back to a “no rain” situation!!!Sad smile). The first check was the hydrangea (that I posted about here). This is where our weekend became an ‘adventure’! When I bent over to check on the soil moisture/mulch surrounding the plant, I was greeted by this……..028    And, yes, folks, that is a rattlesnake…..a Timber rattler, to be exact!!! It took me a moment to react and determine that it wasn’t a bull snake (they’re really ‘good guys’).  I, then, headed off to alert DH, as the reptile was slowly heading toward the area under our front porch…….not a good thing!! Since I really wasn’t sure which gun was loaded, DH took care of the situation right nicely……..029  The second photo shows the critter minus an important body part……his head!! TMI (Too Much Info)???? Sorry, for the graphic nature of the photos. Our locale is very much the home of these creatures……rugged, rock outcroppings, South facing and in proximity to water/rivers….perfect. When the dryer days of summer come along we have always been aware of the possibility of encountering these guys in their search for coolness and water. When the boys were young, the last thing you wanted to do was to put out a backyard wading pool in July/August……that was just the best invitation one could issue for our scaly ‘friends’!!!! Having taken care of the remains (they now reside in the “back 40” for the coyotes, etc), we headed back to the camper and a quiet remainder to our weekend!!!

I hope yours was great, restful, rewarding, productive,  ‘breather’ from the week’s routine, or as you had hoped.  Ours definitely was another of life’s opportunities to “make a memory”!!! Til next time………

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to This past weekend………

  1. jennyklyon says:

    Great photos and what beautiful scenery! Makes me miss the center of the country!

  2. Linda says:

    That sounds like such a wonderful weekend (except for the friend)! Those two pics of the two of you are terrific. How DO you stay so slim? I loved Hydrangeas. Every time I see them, I think of my mother. We had them right outside our kitchen door when I was a little girl. She had such a wonderful green thumb, she could make a stick grow…..lol.

    Glad your weekend was so full of fun!

    xo Linda

    • treadlemusic says:

      I am still somewhat in awe of the fact the hydrangeas even survived last year’s dreadful drought and neglect and then to bloom to beautifully!!!! I so love them! When we moved here (some 38+ yrs ago), those “visitors” were so common it was unreal! Our (then) gravel road always had the evidence of their existence/demise! Our boys grew up with me taking the carcass, cutting the skin off (using my scissors!! LOL!) and taking the filet(s), cutting them into bite sized pieces, batter frying them for a ‘treat’. The taste is reminiscent of turtle or scallops (not ‘chicken’!!! LOL!). We have always viewed our life here on our hobby farm as an adventure…for sure!!!! Hugs…….

  3. Jeanne says:

    Sounds like you’ve had a great weekend! The bike shots and the scenery shots are fantastic! I really didn’t know you had rattlesnakes! What a shock to see one in the hydrangeas! Rattlers are not common around here, thank goodness!

    • treadlemusic says:

      When first moving to this area, that info was one of the first things that was shared with us. Our neighbor, and a couple of other fellas, would hunt them and get burlap sacks full……the bounty on them made it very worth while! They were hunted to the point that they were labeled “endangered” and remain pretty much so to this day. We know that they are, truly, ‘in danger’ if they wander in to our proximity!!!!!! We are on the narrow end of the ridge with the South exposed rock face not far from us!
      P.S. Congrats on your “win” in this morning’s drawing!!!!! Hugs………

  4. Beth Ann says:

    I can’t get past the snake……ughhhhh! I am NOT a fan. At all. Although I used to get rid of them for a neighbor who didn’t want them around with her little girls playing in the yard. We had a neighbor in NC who was deathly afraid of them and would call our oldest son to come take care of them if her husband was gone. One time there was one in the house that he had to go get. It ended up being a ribbon that her daughter had cut out of a dress (you know those that hold the clothing on the hanger?) . We all got a good laugh over that one. Glad you got a little bike ride in—the pictures of you and DH and the bikes AND the scenery are fabulous!

    • treadlemusic says:

      It was such a perfect day on Saturday……a very welcome break from the heat/humidity!! Years ago, when the snakes were more prevalent, DH was long-haul trucking so the boys and I learned to “take care of business” quite well on our own!! Truly ‘life’s adventures’…..LOL!

  5. witchylin says:

    I like snakes, however I don’t think I would like to come across a rattler so close to my home. Here in the UK there is only the adder that can cause any harm and they tend to keep away from humans. In Australia we had a few deadly snakes in the Blue Mountains where I lived. I only ever had to kill one of them, a yellow belly black. He was a beautifully marked reptile but they are killers.
    Love the pictures of the bike trip and the memorial to Pearl, She was younger than me. It is sad she died so young.
    I’ve quilted all weekend trying to complete a quilt as a gift for Friday. It will be done as there is only the binding to go on it now.
    Take care and and keep on riding. 🙂

    • treadlemusic says:

      Lin, I have the utmost respect for AU snakes/critters!!! Rattlers really prefer to back away from people, but this one appeared to be headed for the cool area under the front porch……wrong!!!!
      The ride was awesome and Pearl was a good friend!!!!! Hugs….

  6. KrisR says:

    Great pictures of you and the hub!

  7. Pat says:

    Thankful to have never seen a rattler around here. The ones we see are for the most part harmless, and we wish there were more gopher snakes since we have those (the gophers) in abundance. Great pics.

    • treadlemusic says:

      Gophers are a ‘royal pain’ around here, too, and seem to be a fun target for our cat……..love it!!!! It was a great weekend…just went so quickly!!!!!!! Hugs…..

  8. Karen says:

    I don’t know why but I have never thought of rattlesnakes as being in your area – I wonder why – it makes perfect sense for your location – I put rattlesnakes more in the west for some reason.

  9. I would have been freaking out. I’ve heard of rattlesnakes in se MN, but never really believed this until now.

    Great bike shots and I agree about that beautiful scenery in your region of our state.

    • treadlemusic says:

      I don’t think I really “get used” to seeing such creatures but the “startle factor” is a bit less! It felt great to get out on the bikes. Much less of it these days with the deer pop. so high and so many friends/acquaintances getting hit/”broad-sided” by the animals!!!! Ugh!

  10. Linda Broere says:

    Lovely bikes! You two look great in the sunshine.

  11. daniellajoe says:

    These are the fun post I love the best 🙂
    But little rattler is nicer in the second pic, sorry but true I don’t like snakes either 🙂

    • treadlemusic says:

      I so agree! The upcoming weeks (until Sept) are particularly bad for this as they are molting, in need of water/moisture and wandering. Must keep a sharp look-out (especially in the berry bushes, as snakes like those to get the birds that get the berries!!!!! Nature’s cycle!!!).

  12. You do lead an exciting life!!

  13. Sartenada says:

    Great photos – all, but I love most of all those motorbike photos.

    • treadlemusic says:

      Thank you so much. Those are my favorites, also. We haven’t gotten much riding in, again, this year. The deer and wildlife have made such pastimes quite dangerous. There have been many episodes of a deer jumping out of the ditches and hitting the bike and rider. It used to be that the biker would be in danger of hitting the animal….now it’s reversed….weird!

  14. You sure look hot on that bike! I’m thinking of getting an actual motorcycle sometime soon. I like the new Indians…. Love your bike!

    • treadlemusic says:

      Thank you…..it truly is my ‘dream’ bike and one I never thought I would own. A gal friend developed arthritis in her hands and was unable to continue riding so she allowed me to “adopt” the bike!! Handles so nicely. I haven’t tried out any of the new Indians. Thanks, again, for the kind words! Hugs….

Leave a Reply

