Who thinks this stuff up?

Note added by me/Treadlemusic: A quilter’s creativity definitely challenges that of Borglum’s!!! I will have to say, I prefer textiles to rock (or wood)…….a lot more forgiving!!

buriedinscraps

How do you go from this

beforeto this?

rushmoreWho looks at a mountain and says, “I think I’d like to see George Washington’s face on that mountain.  And as long as I’m carving, why don’t I just add Tom and Teddy and Abe so George won’t be lonely.”  When I look at a mountain, I see rocks and not faces.  But Gutzon Borglum saw faces and went to work to be sure that we saw them also.  Some well placed explosives, drills, lots of time , blood, sweat and tears and there are four president’s faces looking back at you from the side of a mountain.

I get the thought process…the creative vision.  What I don’t get  is the actual process.  I don’t get how you look at this huge expanse of rock and say if I put X pounds of dynamite in this little, drilled hole and press the…

View original post 211 more words

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Who thinks this stuff up?

  1. witchylin says:

    It is scary to think that buriedinscraps has enough in her stash to make a Mt Rushmore head and still have some over. :-0
    You are right Doreen, Quilters use a more forgiving medium but still create a different and personal fabric sculpture. I have just made two tops, supposedly the same, however they are turning out to look very different with the quilting as it is all FMQ.
    That was an interesting post on a subject we all know but have never thought about the logistics of creating it.

    • treadlemusic says:

      I am so ‘with ya’ on that thought! I just had to share it when it came up in my ‘Reader’. Candy did a great job of expressing a thought provoking scenario!!!

    • Candy says:

      I’m buriedinscraps…and although it might be a SLIGHT exaggeration 🙂 …. just a slight one…but after over 30 years of quilting I have plenty of stash! 🙂

  2. That’s the beauty of creativity. Individual creativity.

    But I’m with you. I’d choose fabric over rock to create from anyday.

    • treadlemusic says:

      For sure. I think it was Micharlangelo (at least he gets the credit) for saying that he just releases the figure that is confined in the block of marble/granite! Well, I have a very vivid imagination and I can’t wrap my mind around that, when viewing the Rushmore ‘before’ photo!!!! LOL!

  3. ivoryspring says:

    I so totally agree with your sentiment – at least when you mess up with the fabrics, you can either buy some more or use a substitute… not so with a designated piece of rock! :o)

Leave a Reply

