When E.F. Hutton speaks……….

We were told we should listen (or so the old TV ad said!). Well, when deciding what stitch patterns should be used on a quilt, the same advice should be heeded. I’ve been working on some quilts for a bloggy friend…..3 quilts to be exact (the first was posted here). The second is ready for binding. It’s made from “shirting” fabrics and will be going to a young teen gal. “Listening” to that quilt, I could only do my “funky flowers” stitching!! I mean, really, it just screamed out for it!!!! And so, I acquiesced……. 012  That little peak of yellow will be the binding……soon.014  And a little glimpse at the backing……perfect, don’t you think??011  The next, and last of the quilts,  truly presented a “blank canvas” to be pondered. Actually, I was going to do the last one first BUT it was silent…….yup, nothing, nada, no “speaking to me” at all! And, so it waited. Maybe pulling together it’s thoughts? I don’t know, but today…..ahhh, yes! This is what was before me……..015  Lots and lots of big white blocks with…..with……(wait for it) that now have THIS………(sorry about that weird color! It’s truly very white and very red!!!!)009  And this……..010  And this………016  It just had to speak and I just had to listen!! The blocks are set on point, so there are numerous half-square white triangles at the edges which will have the same motif (only halved, of course) but that is for another day. Definitely getting there! Stay tuned………….

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to When E.F. Hutton speaks……….

  1. Beth Ann says:

    Number one–how did I miss the post with the first one???? I was on vacation and it must have been then! It looks FABULOUS! But these two–oh Doreen!!! Perfect perfect perfect in every way! I am way beyond excited and so very grateful to you for being willing to let them “speak” to you! I am so blessed to have found you!!!! I am beyond excited –there are not enough exclamation marks in the world to tell you HOW EXCITED I AM!!!!!!!!!!! Thank you from the bottom of my heart. 🙂

  2. You listened very well!! They look fab!!

  3. Thread crazy says:

    Love the design on all but especially the red and white. Yes, I too say you listened very well to each of the quilts. May I ask, do you freehand the designs or use a “panto”? I’ve been following you for several months (mostly reading and watching) and I must say I am very impressed with your quilting. Always anxious to open my email and see your post!

    • treadlemusic says:

      Usually it is totally FMQ (I am using a HQ Sweet Sixteen sit-down machine……love it!!!) but for the red/white I am marking the circles (2) and the grid for the center. I will do a post showing the markings with air erasable marker (it disappears very quickly ‘cuz I have a fan blowing my direction while I’m quilting! LOL!). The feathers, etc, are done w/o marking, though. Again, I really need to do a post on this. Thanks for the suggestion! So glad you stopped by each time……hugs………

  4. Jeanne says:

    The funky flowers are perfect! And I love the feathers – aren’t feathers always perfect?! You are really a nice person to be doing these three great quilts!

  5. JoAnn says:

    They look amazing. I love how the red and white quilt spoke to you. Perfect design for the quilt..

  6. ruthiequilts says:

    Gorgeous quilting my friend!!! I love your work!!! XOXO

  7. Michele says:

    So wonderful. They both look great.

    • treadlemusic says:

      There were/are challenges with both (the tops were made years ago by the Grandmother-in-law and the fabrics are so different from today’s in overall quality) but they are turning out very well and will be very special keepsakes for the recipients.

  8. Candy says:

    Love the funky flowers! Your work is awesome!

    Deciding how to quilt a top is the hardest thing for me. I must have “potatoes in my ears” (as my mom used to say) because they rarely speak to me. Or if they do, I don’t hear them! 🙂

    • treadlemusic says:

      I know the feeling! The red/white quilt even was the ‘subject’ of a few night’s dreams!! LOL! I looked through quilt mags and blogs for quilts with flying geese and how they were quilted….that helped. The hardest (for me) is defining the space that will take the motif. Getting beyond seeing the white blocks and the red/white blocks as separate entities. When I finally did, it all came together fast. I was going to use red thread on the red but when the feathers lapped into the red areas, I knew the white thread would work throughout. So fascinating and it does get easier the more I do it (“thinking outside the box”/pieced design). The funky flowers has joined the ranks of my fun, ‘go-to’ motifs!!! Hugs to you and have a great weekend!!!

  9. I loved reading this because it gave me an insight into how your mind thinks when you’re working on a quilt. Definitely a creative process.

  10. Sartenada says:

    Seems so lovely! I love it.

Leave a Reply

