It’s “Wedding Season”!!!!……

Yup, ‘tis that time of year. It used to be the month of June but many years ago September/October became the chosen months. Overall, the weather is a tad more predictable…..in a good way…..and outdoor weddings have, also, become quite popular. So, my quilting ‘studio’ has become (for a few days) “wedding alterations central”!! 007   As you can see in the above photo, I have not gotten around to taking down the sign I had for my sewing & alterations business of years ago. It was a time when I not only did formal-wear alterations but designed and created custom gowns for various occasions. (School prom-time was another busy time for me.) Over the years,  home sewing has disappeared (gals entering the workplace, etc) so, around here, I am called upon frequently to take care of such needs. Which brings me to today…….this is what is surrounding me this beautiful Friday morning……….002003005    One bridal gown and 2 bridesmaids’ dresses (all going to different weddings) …..awaiting their turn under the machine. Hems, bustles, “nip & tuck” and various “tweakings” so that it will be the perfect vision for the day (‘cuz we all know how these special days require perfect execution…..eeoo! Bad choice of words!!! Sorry!) So, this is what is going on in MY life……how ‘bout yours??????

Another weekend is upon us………I pray it’s a good one for all of you. ‘Til next time…………….

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to It’s “Wedding Season”!!!!……

  1. jennyklyon says:

    Better woman than i-doing alterations! What patience!

  2. Oh, Doreen, you know that if you lived nearer, I would have been phoning you last weekend to alter my daughter’s maid-of-honor dress. Luckily I have a friend in town who is semi-retired from doing such alterations and she has taken on what she terms “an easy alteration. I sewed a lot once upon a time, but was not about to work on this project, even if it was “easy.”

    Enjoy your engineering challenges.

  3. daniellajoe says:

    Happy Friday Doreen!!! I know who is going to be busy all weekend lol 🙂

  4. Jackie says:

    I envy your sewing talents Doreen, and I love that sign, it looks happy to be there!

    • treadlemusic says:

      It is happy. The neat thing is it’s transitioned to “machine quilting services” more than “alterations” and I love it!!!! My Sweet Sixteen is getting a work-out these days big time!!! Have a great weekend!!! Hugs……

  5. Karen says:

    I would never be able to do that kind of sewing – all that shiny sleek fabric!

    • treadlemusic says:

      It really isn’t too bad! Today’s satin and crepe fabrics are good quality and have good stability. I’m still not particularly fond of chiffon, though, and the bridal gown (next up) has a top layer of that that needs hemming. Will think about that on Monday when I tackle that project! Have a great weekend!!!!

  6. My mom used to do alterations for a men’s store years ago… she made bridesmaid dresses a few times too. I remember her going to the church to cut the fabrics. Your post made me think of this for the first time in years~!

    • treadlemusic says:

      I do hope it is pleasant memories!! I worked at a bridal shop for many years before starting my own business and did that for many years before going back to school. I still enjoy the alterations portion of it but my house isn’t set up for the massive yardages needed for creating such garments!! Quilting, though, does rival these yardages!!! LOL!

  7. ivoryspring says:

    My hats are off to you for making and designing those fancy clothes! My brain turns to mush and absolutely refuses to work when it comes to garment construction.

    • treadlemusic says:

      It’s just a matter of mathematics….if the necessary body measurements are correctly transferred to the pattern/construction….it fits! Unless there is a little thing called “pigging out” that occurs!!!!!!! That translates into their cost and more $$$$. Hugs, SSAB

  8. Jeanne says:

    As much as I love to sew, I don’t enjoy the alterations. Friends and others are so lucky to have you to do this for them. Hope they all realize what a gem you are!

  9. ruthiequilts says:

    You are so multi-talented!!! I don’t do clothes. In any form. Ever. LOL! A nurse I worked needed some repairs on her sons ski jacket, which I glued the heck out of…. (The nylon was shredding. There was no way around it!)

  10. Wow, that will be a big job! You must be very patient!
    Esther

  11. Thread crazy says:

    Hats off to you on those alterations! I used to make alot of my clothing…then quilting happened. I still piddle with clothing for granddaughters and everyonce in a while for myself. You confirmed what I had thought all along…started following you off the Sweet Sixteen blog. I do so enjoy your blog. Enjoy your “water” weekend!

    • treadlemusic says:

      You make me laugh! Quilting has “invaded” this household, also!! Passion/obsession(?) has even moved above my motorcycle love!!! Great weekend at the river and a bridesmaid fitting this afternoon. Since the wedding isn’t until Sept. 1st, I’m back to some custom quilting this week and a QOV that was made by one of our guild members (another gal, who has a frame-mounted longarm, and myself do the QOV quilting for the group). I am so thrilled you decided to come along and join this quilting adventure!!!! Uber hugs to you, dear friend……..

  12. Fiona says:

    How clever and brave to get into those…. I would find it terrifying…. lovely dresses to work with…
    Hugz

    • treadlemusic says:

      The dresses are lovely and, unfortunately, well made. It was a lot easier to alter such years ago when they were made quite cheaply!!!! Quilting this week and the dresses later!!! Hugs……

  13. I really admire people who can alter clothes. It’s too abstract for me! LOL.

  14. I woke up thinking about the dresses my mom used to sew for us. I can’t get rid of them…yet I’ll never wear them again. Still appreciate all her work on them, though!

Leave a Reply

