2 Mug rugs & a reunion……..

This morning I was reunited with my Juki and FMQ (free motion quilting). I needed a couple of little gifts and had thought 2 mug rugs would fill the bill quite nicely. Since last November, when Ms Sweetie (HQ Sweet Sixteen) entered my life, any quilting needed had been done on the mid-arm. I was missing the fun of doing FMQ on my DSM (domestic sewing machine) and took this opportunity to “get back in the saddle” with these smaller projects. Well, dare I say, it was like I hadn’t ever been away!! Such fun!! Miss J. performed as always…..flawlessly and without mishap (didn’t even need a tension “realignment”!! LOL!). This may not seem like too much of a big deal but I am doing a micro-stippling demo in mid-September and, again, the beginning of October and will be using the Juki so I was thrilled when the experience went so smoothly. And here is the proof………001002   Views of the ‘flip side’………..004005003006Yup, that’s more of the camping material from a couple years ago! I think it’s multiplying in its storage tote!!!! Mowing lawn is next on the agenda….. temps still in the mid 50s F!! Nice!

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to 2 Mug rugs & a reunion……..

  1. jennyklyon says:

    Pretty, pretty! Bet you miss the DSM ocassionally!

    • treadlemusic says:

      I use it (the Juki) all the time for piecing…..perfect seams every time……but the FMQ has slipped on over to the bigger machine. You are right and will be correcting the situation in the coming days. It felt so-o-o-o good to be back on it!!

  2. JoAnn says:

    Cute. Recognize the fabric from a few shop hop adventures.

  3. candy says:

    I’m happy your reunion went so well. I never know what kind of a reunion I’ll have when I turn on my little Juki. It’s my wayward child. 🙂

  4. Karen says:

    Woohoo! I understand that “back in the saddle” feeling! Great job my friend!

  5. Your enthusiasm for the craft of quilting just goes on and on. And I love that you love every aspect of quilting from the machines to the fabric to the process.

  6. Fiona says:

    They look great…. how fun to play with Ms J again…..
    Hugz

  7. Jackie says:

    YTAM (your talent amazes me) ha ha, so glad you clarified your acromyn’s so this non-quilter could follow along 🙂 I just love the front and the back, what a great project!

    • treadlemusic says:

      I try to translate for everyone (LOL!). It was a project that was quick and a lot of “self satisfaction” contained in it!! Started digging in my ‘stash’ and finished it before lunch….yay!!!! Instant gratification. So “today”!! LOL!

  8. Thread crazy says:

    Aww sweet mug rugs….made a few of those myself. I like using my DMS too for small projects as I feel lost on the mid-arm with them. Great work…oh and our temps here in hot Texas are still right at 100!

    • treadlemusic says:

      Oh Girl!!! Those temps are way too brutal!! I really ‘feel’ for you. Staying in the A/C (quilting?) is the answer…hope you can. Take care and thanks so much for your sweet visit! Hugs……..

  9. Gloria says:

    Well, if those aren’t just the cutest things!! And useful too.

  10. witchylin says:

    They are lovely Doreen. i have a friend with a camper van and she would just love a set. I must look out for the fabric. 🙂

  11. ruthiequilts says:

    These came out so cute! I love a fun little mugrug! Your quilting looks like it didn’t miss a step! (As usual!)

  12. Great job quilting! I really need to practice my free motion quilting!

Leave a Reply

