Time at the RV and special “eats”……..

This last weekend, #2 son (who is in the same RV campground as we are) continued/expanded his food smoking repertoire to include salmon, farm raised catfish (sorry, no photos….we were too hungry!!!!) AND oysters that he had flown in from the state of Washington. I am here to tell you……that guy (DS) has a phenomenal ‘knack’ for food prep and scored another ‘5 star meal’!! After removing the top half of the shell (on 3 dozen of the critters….no small feat for an “amateur”), he placed a bit of butter, garlic, cayenne, and a piece of bacon on each!!. Into the smoker they went. 180F (I think) and 1 & 1/4 hours later, we had this………..photo (2)  This is tray #2……tray #1 mysteriously emptied itself!!!!photo (4)                     My ever-so-willing quilt-holding DH!!!!photo (3)This definitely qualified as “Good Eats”!!!!!! It’s a very good thing that we don’t eat like this ALL the time!!!!!!

Til next time…………

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Time at the RV and special “eats”……..

  1. I am impressed. I’m not a big fan of oysters, but even I might try these.

  2. Jackie says:

    I do not eat any kind of sea food, but I will admit, it looks good,(I think) Isnt it great to see those kids we raised cooking up a storm, you must be a proud mama!

    • treadlemusic says:

      Those oysters were so-o-o good! Nothing like the ones eaten(?) raw….not for me!!! Growing up, one of the things that was “required” of the boys was knowing their way around a kitchen (and laundry room!!!). DH was a cook/baker in the Navy and so was #2 son (oyster smoker person). Both of them have taken the art of cooking to a higher level than I ever imagined….they just have a ‘sense’ for it. And, yup, I am very proud!!!!! Hugs……

      • You did better than me. I failed my kids in the kitchen, probably because I don’t particularly like to cook. But baking…love to bake. I seldom bake anymore, though, because I don’t need the sweets. And now that the kids are gone, I’m getting more creative in my cooking. Go figure.

        Lucky you to have a husband with that great cooking and baking background. What’s his specialty?

        • treadlemusic says:

          He, like the boys, seem to achieve success with whatever is attempted. In the Navy, he like baking bread/pastries the best (I think it’s cuz he likes eating them a lot….fresh from the oven with lots of butter!!! Yum!). I think I have made myself hungry!! LOL!

  3. Beth Ann says:

    Yum…those look delightful!!! I like mine cooked a bit, too, and these look great.

  4. YES!!!!! So glad you had photos!! They look absolutely FABULOUS!! And yes, I’d like them smoked better than straight raw, too. How fun for you! Yay for Washington oysters! Now if only I could be having them this weekend…bother.

  5. I love a man who cooks. Mine does too. 🙂

  6. Gayle Ledyard says:

    Looks wonderful and makes me ever so anxious to get in our motorhome and go!

Leave a Reply

