Plans & projects……..

Summertime is always busy. One reason is that it’s so much easier to travel…..and travel we do!! Every September I/we head back to the Black Hills (SD) for the quilt show in Hill City. Weather permitting, an outdoor display of quilts will line both sides of the main highway going through this lovely little town. The show, and many other events, occur Saturday/Sunday, September 14th and 15th. This year, in addition to that event, on Saturday, Sept. 14th, I will be doing a micro-stippling demo/small trunk show at my fave (and one of the best in the Black Hills) quilt shop: The Bakery Fabrics. It will be a relaxed, fun time of sharing and showing this quilting technique that favors the look of ‘trapunto’. Photos explain this a lot clearer than words……..1556  I, also, did posts on this style of quilting here, here, and here.  If any of you are in (or will be in) the Belle Fourche, SD, vicinity on Saturday morning (Sept. 14th), have a couple hours free (10 a.m. – 12 noon) and would like to share your quilting experience or just come to The Bakery Fabrics and listen!  I would love to meet you! As with most gatherings, it’s always fun to have a little give-away and this little event will provide for that, also. Let’s see……shall it be a surprise??? or……… not????? Hmmm……… I think I’ll ponder that one for a while and see what a little creativity (and my over-flowing stash) will come up with!!!! ‘Til next time………….

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Plans & projects……..

  1. mandymunroe says:

    This sounds like lovely weekend, I’ll be sorry to miss it. Have a great time!

    • treadlemusic says:

      I am really looking forward to it!! That type of tight/small quilting is so much fun. I haven’t done much of it since getting the Sweet Sixteen and have thoroughly enjoyed getting the samples ready!!

  2. You never cease to amaze me not only with your actual quilting, but your teaching. Sounds like a fun event in a beautiful locale.

  3. Karen says:

    Have fun! one day I need to head out that way again.

  4. Karen says:

    Doreen congratulations on your trip and class! I sure wish I was near SD to watch… But it’s a bit of a drive from upstate NY ! Can’t wait to hear all about it when you return ! So do you take your sweet sixteen with you for the demo ? Or so you use a shop machine… In quilting minds would love to know!

    • treadlemusic says:

      For this one, it’s the Juki that I use and promote the idea that anyone can FMQ on their DSM (with practice). In October I’ll be doing the micro-stippling on the Juki and demo-ing the SS (that a quilt shop owner/friend will bring and I will use…….clever…eh? So I don’t need to pack up mine!!!!!). Love my Juki for FMQ!!!!!! (TL2010Q)

  5. That sounds like fun!! Enjoy the day.

  6. Valerie says:

    This is beautiful – and I know what you mean, summer is so busy! Today my children started school so that gave me a bit of a rest. Seems there are activities all week planned so – wheew! Already worn out and the week has only just begun! 🙂

    • treadlemusic says:

      lol! Always sayin’……’when that next season comes…..’. It really doesn’t let up, does it? Kids in school/activities is very much a hectic time!!! I guess we need to just take a deep breath and go forward, eh? Hugs……..

  7. ivoryspring says:

    Oooooo… what a celebrity you are! I would come if I lived closer…. 😦

  8. I remember this piece and still love it. The quilt show sounds fantastic. Have a great time 🙂 Avis x

  9. Wow – what a lot of fun you have coming up! Be safe with all of your travels. 🙂

Leave a Reply

