Where have I been!!!!????…..

I’m still here….really! I’ve missed you all!! This “end of summer” time is a bit hectic—yes??? Even for us retirees, whose daily schedules should be fluid/lacking in ‘etched in stone’ commitments—right?? Hmmmmm. We are just a few days out from leaving for the Black Hills. I posted about that here and hinted at a possible ‘little something’ I would be offering as a give-away at my trunk show……..AND, since I never was any good at keeping a secret, this is the cutie I came up with………..001   One can never have too many tote bags, can one??? The plaid is a denim (in my stash forever!!!) and the pocket & lining is a glazed finish cotton (that was meant, oh so long ago, for outdoor swing cushions—but it’s wa-a-ay too pretty for that!). Batting and a bit of thread sketching & outlining was added to the floral pocket for interest/texture. It’s a pattern I devised years ago and, if anyone is interested in making one, I could share it in a future post. The lining is the floral with an additional pocket of the plaid. Very functional for all those shop hop treasures, fat quarters and little packages that could get misplaced in transit!! 003002005   Another weekend is upon us. Any special plans?? Or is it a time to recover from those first few days of school routine?? Until next time, wishing you hours of balanced tension and full bobbins……….

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Where have I been!!!!????…..

  1. Beth Ann says:

    Adorable! I am sure your “winner” will love it!!! Happy and safe travels to you and DH! 🙂 Enjoyed the chat yesterday–thanks for the call!

  2. jennyklyon says:

    Love the Black Hills!! And your tote is so pretty-love your fabric choices. How come I never find cool denim like that??

    • treadlemusic says:

      It was on the flat fold (read: cheap!) table at Hancock Fabrics/Crafts eons ago. I never really knew what to do with it…..it’s so stiff and heavy. Almost like a coverall twill (Carhartt?) material. Wouldn’t be very good for clothing/wearable!!!!!

  3. You are going to make some winner very very happy. This is super cute. I bet, with my past sewing skills, I could even create this tote, minus the quilting, of course. Maybe it’s time to return to sewing. This would be a really cute gift idea for my family’s Christmas gift exchange. In a few weeks, after the wedding, perhaps I can tackle this. Yes? No?

    Have a great time and a safe trip to the Black Hills.

  4. mtetar says:

    Truly of beauty, and did I hear I’m the winner? Lol. As you know I like tote bags and my post on sewing confirms it. Blessings and continue enjoying your trip with hubby. Kind regards to all. Always Be a Blessing because you’re Blessed. Always, Mtetar

  5. Beautiful quilting around the flowers! Avis x

  6. Jackie says:

    Love the tote, someone is going to be a very happy winner!!! Safe Travels, have fun, be safe!

  7. ruthiequilts says:

    I just love the way you put your bag together! The quilting on the pocket is awesome! It sounds like you are busy busy!!! Hugs!

  8. Michele says:

    We are still going through the school adjustment, Sunshine doesn’t start until Monday. I am so looking forward to getting it all smoothed out.

  9. Karen says:

    Love the bag Doreen! We’ll never pass up a bag tutorial… Cheers! Karen on Keuka

Leave a Reply

