Some days………

I just want to “putz” with little projects. You know, those small items that would make the perfect hostess gift or “little something” as a ‘thank-you’ token. Usually, I try to think of those things (most often in my kitchen!) that get used all the time and I never seem to remember to replace/throw out. HOT PADS!!!! Why is it that we don’t throw the old ones out and put some pretty ones in their place?? Go ahead……..go look in your kitchen. I bet the potholders you will find are scorched, gummed up (remember that last apple pie that ran over??) and desperately in need of big help! OK, you get my point! I go through a ton of “Insul-Brite” in my little sewing abode! In fact, it’s on my list for the next shopping trip. Anyhow, to get to the point of all this……..I do quite a bit of cooking with pans that have metal handles and covers that have metal knobs. Example: cast iron pan/kettles. LOVE THEM!!! Nothing like a good cast iron grill pan, or fry pan, for getting that yummy brown crust on a piece of meat! (Hmmm, is it lunch time yet????) So, these are what I came up with……..001   The skinny rectangles are insulated handle covers for those heavy iron pans and the cute little pocket-y things are small grabbers for those lid knobs/handles that your fingers have been just begging for!!!!! (Ouch!!)002003  Isn’t that dinner roll fabric just the best???!!!! And I love the retro feel of the plaid/daisy combo. Once again, if you want the dimensions/patterns, let me know and a future posting will be put up!

Happy sewing to you all!!!

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Some days………

  1. Karen says:

    Near idea Doreen! Would love a tutorial! Cool….

  2. Jeanne says:

    What a great idea! I love little projects and this looks like a keeper. Thanks!

  3. Love the retro daisy print also. Your energy amazes me. You are like the Energizer Bunny.

    • treadlemusic says:

      Some days…….and then there are others. (I’m kinda “black & white” ’bout some things!!! ) Ha! Getting ready to head to the RV/river. I’ll be home tonight to prep for the piano/funeral tomorrow a.m., then back to the river. My world has a tendency to have a bit of ‘white water rapids’!!!! Hugs…….

  4. diane wingo says:

    Not only do I need some of these, but I think everyone in my family could use some, except niece in law, she doesn’t cook or turn on a stove. Great teachers gifts at Christmas, since my son has 6 teachers to buy for. Yes please post how you made these.

  5. Teje says:

    Hi Doreen! Great idea! There should always be few to give a present and to change our owns. Fun fabrics!

    • treadlemusic says:

      Sometimes it’s such fun to finish these little items (mug rugs,too!) for a “gift stash”. I find that my very old stash fabrics can be used and have that retro feel that we all so love!!! Thanks so much for stopping by and I hope your weather is a bit more temperate these days. Hugs…….

  6. I love these . . . and yes, that dinner roll fabric is amazing!!! 🙂

  7. Jackie says:

    You always amaze me with your great idea’s. I love those cute little handle covers and lid covers. Such a unique gift Idea!!! I think one reason we keep our yucky old oven mitt’s is because they are broken-in and seems to fit our hands perfectly. I’ve tried to replace mine, but the new ones are all so stiff and….just not the right fit 🙂

  8. ruthiequilts says:

    These are so cute! I love the way they came out! I don’t cook much (LOL! That would take away from my sewing time…) but once in awhile a hot pad would be of great help!!! 🙂

  9. daniellajoe says:

    Can you up cycle an old one that do not need to end up in the landfill???

  10. mtetar says:

    Lovely! Blessings, Mtetar

  11. Pat says:

    Fantastic, can use them for the microwave as well, save burning my hands there.

Leave a Reply

