A small step closer…….

To completing this beautiful quilt. After doing the swirly feathers in the setting triangles (see this post), I decided some type of ‘grid’ pattern was needed in the narrow green border to break up the feathers that will appear in the outer border. This afternoon that task was completed.001002004   The SID (stitch in the ditch) and ruler work was a bit time consuming but the only way to come out with a clean design that  nicely contrasts with all the feather curves.

Tomorrow is a fill-in day at the pharmacy and, in the evening, my (local) quilt group meets. Tuesday will be finish it up day. Such an awesome project!!! Great fun!!

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to A small step closer…….

  1. jennyklyon says:

    Doreen;

    I love this quilt. I forget-do you long arm? The work on this piece is just beautiful! Thanks for sharing it.

    Jenny

    • treadlemusic says:

      I have a HQ Sweet Sixteen…….a sit-down 16″ mid-arm machine. I love moving the fabric, rather than a machine on a frame (which I have no room for any way!!!). I really love this machine!!! I believe that this customer’s quilt is destined to be a wedding gift ( I think). Hugs………

  2. mtetar says:

    Doreen you’re just too crafty. Keep up your great skills in quilt making. Blessings, Mtetar

  3. JoAnn says:

    Are you bring the quilt to show tomorrow evening?

  4. Can’t wait to see the great reveal.

  5. Thread crazy says:

    I love the ruler work as it’s exactly just what you needed to break up the feaathers…simply fits. May I ask what type ruler you used – have you tried the lion tamer ruler? I have started to buy one but haven’t as of yet. Love my HQ Sweet Sizteen also; don’t have room for frame but love to sit and quilt anyways. Thanks for sharing.

    • treadlemusic says:

      Line Tamer it is!!!!! Awesome tool and am so glad that I got it!!!!! I did buy the overlay for my table and put different pads on the SS so it’s all level. Works beautifully. A very worthwhile purchase!!!! Love my Ms Sweetie!!!!!

  6. Oh wow, it is wonderful! Just drop-dead-gorgeous! I wish as was as good with the feathers as you are! Have to do some more practicing I guess!
    Esther

    • treadlemusic says:

      I try to keep at the practicing on a dry erase board or a sketch book. If I’m not doing quilting (but am cutting/piecing) I get a bit “rusty” and so the drawing helps. I always have a practice ‘sandwich’ that I work out the design stitches on first and I use a clear piece of acrylic (24″x 24″) set on the area to be quilted to sketch, with a dry erase marker, my ideas for the block/area. Kind of an “audition”. It helps with determining the stitch density, too. Loads of practice really helps…..I have placemat sized ‘sandwiches’ (muslin w/ batting) that I’ve done tons of feathers, paisleys, etc on. I then serged (finished) the edges and use them as large “mug rugs” or mats. Then when they get too spotted, etc, I just throw them away! I so appreciate your most sweet encouragement! I don’t know what I would do without my dear “bloggy” friends!!!! Big hugs and blessings……..

  7. There feathers look just awesome! I am curious on how you use the rulers(long arm ones?) for the cross hatch. Great work again!

    • treadlemusic says:

      I’ll try to post info later today. Thanks for the interest. It’s a great little ruler and will work with any DSM, since I have a Sweet Sixteen and handle the quilt the same way. Hugs……

  8. ivoryspring says:

    I love those feathers!

  9. Elaine says:

    Did you have any trouble with the Aurifil thread breaking. I tried to use it in my long arm (Avante) and it kept breaking. It didn’t seem strong enough. Any suggestions?

    • treadlemusic says:

      I haven’t had any breakage problems on this, or any other, quilts I’ve used it on. That is very interesting, though. Was the upper tension a bit tight? Needle need a change? A tiny bit of lint somewhere sneaky (upper tension or bobbin area)??? The only thing is….the thread is expensive, but the color was so perfect and the shine it has was so nice. I hope you can find the difficulty cuz I really like the thread. Hugs…..

Leave a Reply

