Questions……..

There have been several commenters asking about the ruler I used to create the grid pattern on the sampler quilt I’m currently working on. The ruler works with both DSM (domestic sewing machines) and mid/long arm machines. Rather than the machine following the edge of this special ruler, there is a slot that accommodates the FMQ (free motion quilting) foot allowing me to move both the fabric and the ruler in a straight path to create the pattern. The “Line Tamer” can be ordered (among other places) on-line at Four Paws Quilting. It does get some getting used to but the results are well worth the practice. It is, also, wonderful for those times when SID (stitch in the ditch) is needed.

When it came to doing the narrow green border on this quilt, I first measured the width of the border. 001   It measured 2”. I, then, went to the corner of one side and began to place marks 2” apart on both sides of the strip (dots opposite each other). The reason I did it this way is that the resulting grid would be in the correct proportion to the strip/border piece. 002   Starting at the corner, I began to diagonally connect alternating opposite dots. 003  The complete grid requires a second pass to finish the diamond.004  When stitching both my hands are gently pressing down on the ruler and (using 2 or 3 fingers) pressing on/moving the quilt. 005  In the above photo I show only my left hand (right hand is taking the photo!!!) but normally my right hand would have a similar position on the other side. Firm, but gentle, downward pressure is required as the fabric is moved. Pressing down too hard will result in wrinkles/puckers being stitched or total body fatigue after a while (ask me how I know this!!!).006  The dots in the photo are some sticky spots that help with traction while sewing. There are additional laser line markings on the ruler that help with alignment when needed (vertically, horizontally and diagonally). This purchase was definitely one of the better ones. I hope this answers some of the questions that have come up.

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Questions……..

  1. jennyklyon says:

    THANK YOU!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I’m ordering one NOW!

  2. That really looks cool!

  3. Thread crazy says:

    Thanks and was in the shop today getting myself one. Plus had shop order the half circles templates from HQ. Alot can be done with the set.

  4. Karen says:

    Thank you Doreen! The use of rulers on the DSM has intrigued me lately… Fog is starting to clear now with this post… Hugs, Karen

  5. I had no idea quilting involved rulers like this. So clueless I am. Now I’m even more impressed as to how you create these stunning quilts. I’m no quilter, only an appreciator of this gorgeous art you create.

  6. Jeanne says:

    Thanks! I didn’t know I could get any aids for my DSM. Yeah!

  7. daniellajoe says:

    I have a question for you: have you ever quilted granny squares or crochet???

    • treadlemusic says:

      I haven’t done granny squares/yarn-type stuff but I have done embroidered/cut-work pieces. It would be a fun experiment, though. Probably would require a spray baste product to lightly secure it to the background fabric. The actual “tacking”/sewing process wouldn’t be any more difficult than any other involving yarn or cording. I can tell your little “wheels” are turning!!!!! LOL!

Leave a Reply

