Finishing up……..

Projects these days. It really goes with the time of year, dontcha think?? Summer is done and yard and garden work is slowing. Summer activities are drawing to a close, also. Yesterday was spent making 2 treks to the camper site. The 2nd brought our little cozy RV home for its winter storage.012013  The grounds have to be cleared by Nov. 1st and we have much going on in the next few weeks, so we seized the day to take care of this. The quiet, emptier park always makes me sad but I know that there are many quilting days ahead!!!!! Now to get the unit cleared for those sub-freezing temps that are inevitably coming!

Another task that was completed was mending DS’s cover for his boat. Apparently, interstate speeds didn’t “mix” with a UV weakened cover and the result was this…….014015Nasty. So I searched in my overcrowded sewing space (anybody out there understandin’ this???) and came up with some super heavy twill…….like outdoor canvas stuff. Perfect!! The fact that it’s off-white shouldn’t make a lot of difference, should it??? Besides, it’ll be on the underside!  I think a real replacement is in the future anyhow! So the cutting and taping began.018 Yup….taping! I used double-sided carpet tape to hold the tears closed AND hold the canvas piece in place for sewing…….brilliant, eh? No pinning, which is a good thing since this stuff is heavy!017The blue is a denim patch from a previous mend job. Now, I got out my authentic, genuine Levi Jeans thread and a good heavy jeans’ needle…..019020and, “wha-la”…….this became one easy-peasy(?) task!!!022Well, it’s done and #2 son will be pleased that his boat will have some level of protection in the coming months!

The next finish………well, I guess, will have to wait til next week. Supper beckons and so does DH! Have a great weekend!!!

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Finishing up……..

  1. jennyklyon says:

    Simply brilliant!

    • treadlemusic says:

      I have to admit, I use carpet tape a quite a bit. In this project I did quite a bit of stitching through the “stickiness” w/o any problems. It works great when working with leather and vinyls, too. I do buy the wider width but cutting it narrower isn’t a big deal! Great to have you visit!!!! Hugs……

  2. mtetar says:

    Tailoring Expert you’re! It looks like it was meant to be like that. Thanks for sharing and you need to enter the The Craftsy Award for 2013. Blessings, Mtetar

  3. Linda Cornwell says:

    You know, I grew saying “breakfast, dinner, and supper!” Lunch was an odd term for me until I started going to school full days. My folks were both from farm families in Arkansas, and that’s just what it was called. I don’t think people anymore know the difference between dinner and supper…lol

    xo Linda

    • treadlemusic says:

      You are so right!!! LOL! Whatever it is….I don’t want to miss it!!! Around here (S.E. MN), the funny saying is “a little lunch”. It’s served in conjunction with various activities and seems to be food served in between other meals (like “a little lunch” after an evening prayer meeting which is more food than I had on the table for the evening meal!!!!). It is so “Minnesotan”…..I even made “bars” today!! ROFL!!!!!!

      • Linda says:

        Ah, yes, I hear “bars” is the 5th food group in MN. And “hot dish” is one I learned from an R.N. that worked at our clinic for awhile. I think she was from one of the Dakotas. It is so fascinating the words and phrases that originate in different parts of the country. I’m always saying things at work that make people go “huh?”…..lol.

        • treadlemusic says:

          LOL! You are so right! When we attended the stage play “How to Speak Minnesotan” some years back “bars” (from 9″x 13″ pans!!!) were served at intermission!!! It was great!!!

  4. Karen says:

    nice repair job! we have more time that you to get the RV ready for winter, we plan on taking one or more short camping trips to local parks before it gets parked for the winter – we mainly just need it winterized for Dec to mid March.

    • treadlemusic says:

      I hear ya! We are leaving for an extended trek to the East Coast next week and the weather is changing fast, so thought we may as well get “on the ball”!!!! Enjoy the wonderful Fall weather!!! Hugs….

  5. witchylin says:

    Great repair, Doreen. Who cares if you used double sided tape!
    It is sad when you are packing up for the winter. it doesn’t seem so long ago you were moving things around because of the floods, then sitting outside the RV in the sun and now……..:-( However as you say “more time for quilting.” Many hugs to an online quilting friend.

    • treadlemusic says:

      Hello, dear Friend!!!! How are you????? Has the summer been good for you??? I’ve missed our conversations!!! This morning I’m doing a bit better about the end of the RV-ing. Have ‘jumped’ to thinking about our upcoming East Coast trek (leaving this coming Mon.) and I already have 2+ quilts waiting to be quilted when I get back!!!!! E-mail me and tell me what you’ve been up to!!!! Hugs and blessings……..

  6. Beth Ann says:

    Kind of bittersweet to end the camping time but all good things have to come to an end, right? I am sure you find plenty to keep you busy with over the winter months. You are so clever to figure out how to fix that cover. But that does not surprise me as you are one of the most creative folks I have ever met. Have a fabulous weekend, dear friend!

  7. You are always thinking, aren’t you?

  8. Thread crazy says:

    Very smart idea…I’ve made a few repairs but none that large! I’d think next year it’s time for a new cover!! So happy for you getting to go to the east coast; looks like we’re maybe not getting motorhome out for couple more weeks due to dr. appts! Ugh. Enjoy your trip!

Leave a Reply

