Knock, knock…..I’m ba-a-a-ck………

I know you all have heard that before but, really, I am back! The November weather has me wishing I was back in South Carolina but that’s a topic for another day. The last couple of days I managed to quilt a t-shirt quilt for the grandson of a dear friend and fellow quilter (Alice) who passed away last May. She had given it to me just 3 days before and I am so thankful she had everything together and prepped. It will be much cherished in the years to come. It may be a Christmas gift(?) but originally it was intended for his high school graduation several years down the road! Just a couple photos……….022023

They were Harley/Sturgis shirts with one airplane fabric block from a shirt that was Alice’s hubby’s (he had passed away several years previous). Although I felt the “heart” of this project, I was once more reminded of how difficult t-shirt quilts can be to quilt when the majority of the shirts used are so totally printed with a “rubberized” type logo that wreaks havoc with thread tension/balance…..ugh!! Loops and stars fmq worked out well.

While on our East Coast driving “holiday”, I was so touched by how the “bloggy friends” that I have ‘met’ on-line are such blessed friends in person!!! As DH has been heard to say on several occasions…..the gals we met are super sweet, easy to talk to (surprise???) and like we have always known them!!!!! A totally positive experience and memories we will keep with us for a long, long time!! A big “thanks” to you all who so faithfully stop by……some to just peek in, some to say ‘hi’ and some to stay a while for a chat. I look forward to  future opportunities to take our friendships from “virtual” to “real”. Hugs and blessings…..until next time………..

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Knock, knock…..I’m ba-a-a-ck………

  1. mtetar says:

    Hi Doreen!

    Glad to have you back with such a great project for a great reason. Alice’ s grandson will be doubled pleased with his grandma and for you completing such beautiful quilt for him to always think of his grandma.

    As for online friends I missed getting to meet you, but some days soon. Thank you for being a caring friend and keeping in touch with me via emails and phone. Blessings to hubby and all. Mtetar

  2. Beth Ann says:

    Glad to have you back! You were missed!!! Love the tshirt quilt. My sister sent her son’s tshirts away someplace to have them all put in a quilt but I am sure it was nothing compared to this one!!! I bet it is tough to stitch with all those different “feels” of fabric, etc. Looks positively wonderful!

    • treadlemusic says:

      You are so correct on the challenges with such a combo of thicknesses/fabric surfaces. I am thankful for the nice finish and know that the GS will cherish it. He is a super sweet young man.

  3. Karen says:

    one day we too well meet 🙂 glad you had a fun time on your trip – the quilt turned out great!

  4. Jackie says:

    Welcome back…If I were a quilter, and if I were to ever make a quilt, I would want to make a tee-shirt quilt, they are so personalized and cool looking!. So nice of you to quilt this project for your friend’s grandson, I would love to see his reaction 🙂

    • treadlemusic says:

      I am sure that GS will have some tears when he gets it. It may be Christmas or next Spring….am thinkin’ Christmas, though. With his grandpa’s shirt fabric included in the quilt, he will be very touched. I’m so glad you stopped by!!!!! 😉

  5. Teje says:

    Hi Doreen! Great you are back, we have missed you! That quilt is fantastic and will be so much appreciated! How sad that your friend has passed away. Have a great Sunday! x Teje

    • treadlemusic says:

      Our Sunday has/is awesome…..worship this morning was incredible and a perfect start! The quilt is most certainly a promise fulfilled. I hope you are enjoying your weekend….time passes way too quickly, hmmm? Hugs to you all…….

  6. witchylin says:

    Welcome back Doreen. The T-shirt quilt is fabulous. Such a lovely gift for Alice’s grandson. I am sure he will treasure it. You are right T-shirts are hard to quilt. I did try once but gave up, back then I didn’t have the patience.
    It is great to meet on-line friends for real. You do feel as if you have always known each other. I met a special on-line friend at one of the quilt shows and we have met up since for lunch. It is lovely to talk quilting, knitting and other crafts and of course general chit chat too.

    • treadlemusic says:

      It is so special to do a real meet-up. The fact that there hasn’t been “in person” visits, etc, really doesn’t matter! I think DH felt the same way. Thank you for your sweet words, dear Friend. Sending hugs and blessings to you and your family……

  7. Lovely to see you back again Doreen 🙂 I love the T-shirt quilt and I’m sure it will be treasured forever. I agree that meeting on-line friends is very special. There’s no need to go through all the “getting to know you” as it has already been done via email. it’s especially nice for crafters to meet up as we have so much in common already. Avis x

    • treadlemusic says:

      I think you summed it up so well…..the preliminaries have been taken care of and the common interests are established so conversation/relationship already has a basis and talk we did!!!!!!! Just ask DH (who contributed lots, too!!!! LOL!). Sending a cozy “squeeze” to you………..

  8. Michele says:

    I really enjoyed meeting you both in person and chatting though I wish we had more time, especially after I learned that your hubs like trains like mine does. Let me know the next time you head in my direction and we’ll make plan again.

    • treadlemusic says:

      Oh, Michelle…….there will be a next time…guaranteed!!! And we will let the guys chat, I think they will find much in common. Although it was a bit chaotic at the beginning, our time was super (agreed, not long enough!!). Blessings……….

  9. Welcome back, Doreen, welcome back. I missed you, but I know you had a great time on your travels. How wonderful that you met some of your bloggy friends.

    Alice’s grandson is going to appreciate that quilt so much. What a wonderful legacy you are gifting him with in that quilt his grandma would have stitched.

    • treadlemusic says:

      It was such a privilege to do so. I had stopped by her place on the Sat. before and she had just had her daughter (visiting from out of town) press the top and backing and get all together to give me. We spent a lovely day together and I was able to spend the next Monday morning with her, also. She died on Wednesday very suddenly and stunned us all. She was the first to greet us when we moved from the Twin Cities 39 yrs ago. Time truly flies by! I so appreciate your kind thoughts/words. Blessings to you and your family this beautiful Sunday……….

  10. ALBRIGHT, ANDAWNETTE N/A says:

    love this…hope you are doing well.  Scott is slowly making some progress.   Starting to get out of the house by himself for short walks which I am sure makes him feel like a human again.  May I pin your tshirt quilt to my pinterest.  I just love how you balance the designs.  Hugs, Annie

    • treadlemusic says:

      “Pin” away! Will pass along the good news of Scott’s progress. Prayers daily for you both. Sounds like the recent shopping event was a success!! Hugs and blessings back at ya………..

  11. Welcome back girl — we missed you! Hugs, Karen on Keuka

Leave a Reply

