Sometimes, there are no words……..

To adequately describe the view(s) from our home. So, I’m getting right to the photos………001002003005

I will head to my sewing/quilting studio for the day…..perfect! A “Pollyanna” I am most definitely not but the “up” side is…….I don’t have to leave the house (retirement has its perks). Now, I fully realize that my dear North Dakota friends are still suffering losses resulting from a devastating snow event a month ago, but winter really isn’t high on my ‘fave’ list. I think it’s the cold, rather than the snow, that results in such feelings, though. The white blanket certainly does a magnificent job of white-washing the farm-scape….don’t ya think??? Now, where is my coffee……………..

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to Sometimes, there are no words……..

  1. Gloria says:

    Here in Winona, too, but think you have a little more. Happy quilting!!

  2. Karen says:

    pretty – but yes winter is here I guess – you never mention – do you have a working farm or a “hobby” farm?

    • treadlemusic says:

      Our farm is “worked” by a fella that does the fields. The buildings are filled with accumulated stuff, wood and equipment/tractor, etc. Used to have dairy cows, sheep, beef cattle, chickens, pigs, etc., but have let all that go. Renting the land for crops is a ton easier!!!! LOL!

  3. fiammisday says:

    I adore this pic!!!! I’d like to be there!!!! Thanks for this. Love. Simona

  4. mtetar says:

    Beautiful and great for Post Cards and those are some goodness of Winter. It is cold but not as cold and definitely no snow here on the East Coast. My heart and prayers are with them all. Blessings to all, Mtetar

  5. Sheila says:

    Thanks so much for dropping by to visit and how wonderful that you have met Wendy in person! Isn’t it wonderful getting to meet blogging friends?

    Are you in SD? My cousin I mentioned on my blog has relatives from there. His mom grew up in SD. I have never been there, it it is on my bucket list of places to visit.

    I can’t believe it is SNOWING. I have the AC running here in. St. Augustine. We are pretending it’s fall,

    xoxoxox

    Sheila

    • treadlemusic says:

      You mean St Augustine, FLORIDA???? I love that town!!! I live outside a very small (995 pop) in S.E. MN, 30 miles straight West of La Crosse, WI. We have a small bit of acreage surrounded by 2000 acres of state forest land. Love it!!! DH and I go to SD 2x each year and would move there in a “heartbeat” if not for the family (grands/g.grands). We go to the Northern Hills/Belle Fourche. I have a friend (Annie) who owns The Bakery Fabrics in Belle and have done a trunk show/demo there. We used to go to the Sturgis bike rally.
      Probably won’t be doing a Florida visit til 2015. I’m so glad to “meet” you!!!!! Hugs……….

  6. Is that your beautiful old barn?

    I’m with you on winter. I don’t much like it anymore.

    • treadlemusic says:

      Yes, that’s our view from the livingroom bay window. That barn has served us well during our brief stint at dairying and now seems to be a “catch-all” (no surprise there!!). It adds so much to the “Currier and Ives” appeal of our place, don’t you think??? After all this time, we are just as in love with this place as ever!!! Hugs…….

  7. Jackie says:

    I love love love the photo’s (winter lover) but I think I’m with you it’s the beauty of the snow that I love not so much the cold, but I’d still rather be a little cold than hot. One of my sayings…. “if it’s gonna be cold, it might as well be snowing”! Enjoy your day at home.

  8. Wow! Snow already?
    Coffee and sewing sounds just perfect for the weather.

  9. Teje says:

    Oh Doreen, snow! Perhpas it was time. I don’t like cold or winter but because we don’t have snow here, I love to see it.Weather has been so strange – till now almost like summer but better (not too hot). But now the winter starts and in the mainland it’s already raining and storms are expected, too. Then we just hope to be able to stay at home and sew! x Teje

    • treadlemusic says:

      Sewing/quilting it is!!! Finished stitching a quilt today. It was a very good day for it……I had no desire to leave my warm spot!! I hope your weather doesn’t become too rainy/stormy!! Happy sewing!!!!!! Hugs…….

  10. Snow?? Already??!! Wow!! Me thinks it might be a long winter for you. Hope you get looooots of stitching done.

    • treadlemusic says:

      That is definitely the “up-side” of this next season (and the only one I can think of!!!). Snow=cold and I don’t do cold (well). Today was a lovey quilting day…..yay!!!

  11. Carla says:

    Nothing like quilting in a warm house while it snows outside! Love your pics!

  12. witchylin says:

    Snow pictures are lovely but when you are out in it not so lovely. The right time to get quilting that’s for sure. Here we have cold, damp weather but no snow yet. There is some in Scotland and on the high hills but none for us yet. You are right about retirement, there is no need to go anywhere except to the sewing room with that coffee. Your farm looks wonderful in the snow especially from the windows when you are cosy inside.

  13. Thread crazy says:

    By now the snow is well gone I’m sure…love these days too, especially going out and just listening to the snow fall. All is quiet as the snow just encases the buildings and grasses. Love your old barn – Hoping we will get a snow here this winter and when we do get snow, it’s gone the next day.

Leave a Reply

