A Ray of Sunshine & Flowers……..

Is what’s currently in progress. The fabrics are bright, sunny and just “what the doctor ordered” for these days of early snowfall! I am doing an edge to edge “Funky Feathered Flower” (don’tcha just love alliteration??!!! Ha!). So much fun and free flowing!!!Anita's quilt, #2 004

I don’t know the fabric(s) line but the backing is flannel (Shaddowplay by Maywood…pretty sure!). A peek at the back…….Anita's quilt, #2 002

The color photographed way off and is really a warm golden honey color. Gorgeous! The thread is a cone I purchased while out in Maine a few weeks ago. It is fabulous!!! Shiny, smooth and metallic-like poly. Slippery beyond words so a thread net is a must!!!!! I am ‘running’ it in the bobbin, also.Anita's quilt,#2 001Anita's quilt,#2 002

It is a 40 wt poly made/carried(?) by Madeira called Rheingold. After visiting the site, I’m thinkin’ that the color (#638) is a discontinued one but there are ample substitutions.

So that’s what’s happenin’ here. Hope your day is awesome!!!! Til next time………

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to A Ray of Sunshine & Flowers……..

  1. Karen says:

    Beautiful work Doreen! Thanks for sharing!

  2. mtetar says:

    Words can’t express the beauty of this project. Blessings, Mtetar

  3. Beautiful quilting. The back is gorgeous and shows off your quilting really well. I tried Superiors rainbow thread once, both on the top and bobbin(longarm). And had a terrible time with the bobbin. How is your bobbin holding up? Any special tricks?

    Hugs,
    Malini

  4. You are right. This fabric choice is ideal for this cold day here in southern Minnesota, a welcome respite from the snowy landscape, too. Yes, I love alliterations.

  5. Esther says:

    Wow that is just some fabulous FMQ, girl! I must try that pattern out, it just delicious!

    • treadlemusic says:

      Esther……the basic idea came from Wendy @ Ivory Spring but I wanted it to be a bit “looser” cuz the batting is a 100% needled cotton and my experience is that that type of batting gets a bit stiff if the quilting is too dense. It is one fun project!!!!! Will definitely repeat that motif. Will try to post a sketch of it tomorrow (I didn’t do that before I began to stitch it, though. Probably should have!). Hugs always………

  6. Fiona says:

    Beautiful… I can see why these must be fun to do…
    Hugz

  7. Jackie says:

    Beautiful colors, Love the back too, I still like the color in the photo even though it didnt “turn out right”

  8. witchylin says:

    Lovely happy cheerful colours. Your quilting, as always, is fabulous. I love the feathers and shapes you make. No wonder folk want you to finish their quilts. 🙂

    • treadlemusic says:

      Big smiles to you!! I hope it continues for I so love the stitching part and really couldn’t satisfy that all on my own!! Although, I am ready to cut out a top for myself today!!! I’ll be using the same pattern, too!

  9. Michele says:

    It is looking great so far.

  10. ivoryspring says:

    Love your feather heart!

Leave a Reply

