The rest of the story………

I began this little story (and the project!) yesterday and now it’s done!! It went so smoothly…….well, there was a little glitch. The outer “cone”/petal shapes are not quite accurate. They need to be tapered a titch(?) more at the narrow end so it lays flat when put together. So, let’s get started with the photos (check yesterday’s post to get in on the very beginning)…………..today finds the ornaments fused to the “petals” and I’m at Miss Juki to finish this little item………………………………………………….Christmas Medallion,Carol Pexa 001   Before I layered the top on the batting, I did a stitching line around the ornaments to hold them securely (no, I don’t trust fusing!)

Christmas Medallion,Carol Pexa 002   I SID (stitch in the ditch) through the center layers, also. The directions suggested invisible thread but I’m not a fan…….I have a tendency to have my iron too hot when I do a finish press…..not a good thing with that thread. Then I layered the top and batting.

Christmas Medallion,Carol Pexa 003Christmas Medallion,Carol Pexa 004Christmas Medallion,Carol Pexa 005Christmas Medallion,Carol Pexa 007  Yes, I am doing all the FMQ (free motion quilting) using Miss Juki! I had totally forgotten how much fun it is and how beautifully she performs.Christmas Medallion,Carol Pexa 008  This is a photo of the back (batting with the completed stitching). I layered it with a simple muslin backing. It is finished by stitching right sides together, leaving a small opening, then ‘flipping’ right-side-out. I usually don’t care for this method but there was no way I was going to do a binding on these scallops!!!!!! LOL!Christmas Medallion,Carol Pexa 009Christmas Medallion,Carol Pexa 010Christmas Medallion,Carol Pexa 012  Before I turned it, I pressed the backing (only) over so that, when it was right side out, it would be easier to get a nice clean edge (without the backing wanting to come to the front). It’s not a perfect solution, but it helps a bit.Christmas Medallion,Carol Pexa 017   A very acceptable finish. This is going to be a “thank you” gift, so it will be leaving soon.

Now, for all of you who have read/hung in there to this point…….here is the pattern source………………………………….Christmas Medallion,Carol Pexa 014   Yup, it’s the current issue!!!!!!!Christmas Medallion,Carol Pexa 015

Have a great rest-of-the-weekend!!! I have a birthday party to finish preparing for tomorrow. DH is nearing a multi-decade landmark and it really mustn’t go unacknowledged!!!! Til next time…………….

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to The rest of the story………

  1. JoAnn says:

    Love this. So beautiful. Love the holiday fabric.

  2. makparris says:

    Great thank you gift, very nice!

  3. mtetar says:

    You’re GIFTED. What an awesome project thanks for sharing. Happy Birthday DH!! Please know I’m attending in Good Spirits. Blessings, Mtetar

  4. Karen says:

    it is very pretty! I don’t blame you for not wanting to bind those scallops – wonderful idea to flip it inside out

    • treadlemusic says:

      I think I have some totally different fabric that will work well…..paisleys I got a Sturbridge Village when we were out East a few weeks back. Hope to get to it very soon. Finishing it that way went very smoothly!! Hugs……..

  5. Well done you! And many happy returns to DH!

  6. Michele says:

    It really looks wonderful. Nicely done.

  7. Beth Ann says:

    What a beautiful piece!! That is one that will be treasured by the one who receives it. And Happy Happy to the DH!!!!

  8. So I’m reading through this and thinking, “this is just like putting together a puzzle.” And I don’t do puzzles. Hmmmm. Perhaps the reason I don’t quilt?

    Anyway, this is beautiful. And what a great amount of intricate work.

    Happy party planning. You’ll post about the birthday boy, right?

    • treadlemusic says:

      Camera at the ready!!!!!!! Cake….’check’. Candles….’check’. BBQs/buns/snacks……’check’. Ready!
      The little quilt project was a little like a puzzle (which I don’t do, either!).
      A b’day post, hopefully, soon! Hugs…….

  9. Well the rest of the story is stunning!~ Wow. What a beauty you have created.

  10. witchylin says:

    What a lovely gift Doreen. It looks fantastic. There really wasn’t a choice for the edging, if you had bound it the effect would not have been as nice.There is no reason why you couldn’t make these little table quilts for all the seasons. I can see one for Thanksgiving.
    Very best wishes to DH for his Birthday. Remember age is just a number he doesn’t have to ‘be’ it. We all get to those milestones. 😉

  11. ruthiequilts says:

    Oh my gosh!!! This is stunning!!! Wow! From start to finish… Awesome work my friend!

  12. Amy says:

    Absolutely fabulous!

Leave a Reply

